We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mayfair Hotel to your Saves list
Mayfair Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #356 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No complaints”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed here for two nights. The room is small, but it was clean. The shower worked well, as did the air conditioning. Also, the location is fantastic. If you're like me and plan on spending most of your time exploring the city, this is more than adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    233
    152
    78
    75
See reviews for
67
189
146
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I was on the fence about this hotel after reading reviews complaining about faulty heating & air conditioning. Turn out the Mayfair wasn't that bad at all. Even though my room was small it was just fine for me. It was clean & comfortable & the air conditioner worked great. You can't beat the location (all the shows & anything you might want to eat is within short walking). Lodging in New York is $$$$$$ even for 2 & 3 star hotels. I was able to lock my room down for $160 per night which ain't bad at all for Times Square. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great Location. We had a room overlooking 49th St. It was NOISY and COLD - frigid air streams in the window and air conditioner. No heat control. No sleep.
Hotel is opposite a food kitchen - they load and unload all night. The streets are vacuumed at 3am and trash pickup is at 5am.
After 2 nights we were moved to a room at the back of the hotel - way better, should have been there from the start. Internet did not work for most of the time we were there and when it did it was soo slow! Minimal TV channels available. Great restaurant in the basement made up (almost) for the discomfort in the room.

Room Tip: Keep away from rooms overlooking the street. You have been warned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I knew this hotel was old and very dated from a previous stay. The cleanliness and the location outweighed the condition since we were there to sleep and bathe only. However, this time, the door would not lock, and eventually the entire door knob unit just fell out and was hanging by some wires. The desk clerk said they would move us within 30 min. Had the kind housekeeping workers not helped and pursued the front desk, I guess we probably would have remained in a room where the door would not lock during our entire stay instead of overnight. The heat was unbearable and was controlled by the desk. The loud window air conditioner had to run constantly for us to be able to stand being inside during the short time we were there. We finally got moved to another room. The tv didn't work at all in our new room, and I asked the front desk to allow us to have a late check out on the day we left, to compensate for everything that had gone wrong. He said he would if we paid and used the hotel car service to take us to the airport when we left...I almost laughed out loud!! He would arrange for us to have transportation to meet a flight, when he wouldn't even help us lock our door for a 24 hr period??? This young man lied to us and was never sympathetic to
our needs. I was appalled at his attitude and smugness every time we had to complain...Remember, I had stayed there before and chose to stay at the Mayfair again...previously knowing how small the rooms were and that the hotel had not been maintained...Never again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

kew
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Small but neat we found it on Orbitz and were very pleased with the location. Easy walking to Times Sq the M&M store ! the door guy was very helpful , would definitely recommend & stay again. It has everything you need.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The Mayfair is an old hotel, somewhat in the European fashion. If your desire is to have 4 Season luxury, ir if you plan on staying in your room a lot, it is probably not a good choice for you. However, if you are looking for adequate accommodations in Midtown at a reasonable price (NYC standards), The Mayfair may be for you. It is clean, the personnel are friendly and helpful, and it is convenient to all theaters and other attractions in Midtown. The rooms are quite small, and not all have a view. Our first room (on the second floor) had a window which overlooked a narrow roof between 2 buildings. It was also an emergency escape. We moved to room # 305 which overlooked 40th street. It was somewhat larger and quite comfortable. Even though we were on the third floor, the street noise was not bothersome because the windows provided sufficient noise insulation. We will probably choose it again if we want to stay in the Theater District.

Room Tip: Room 305 was reasonable size and overlooked 49th street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The Mayfair was exactly as I expected. The location was perfect, a few steps from everything. The rooms were small, beds not comfortable but overall I had a good stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, I would stay here again either solo or couple.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#329 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,016 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#336 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,290 reviews
Midtown
TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square
TRYP by Wyndham New York Times S...
#345 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#252 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Midtown
Hotel St. James
Hotel St. James
#289 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,924 reviews
Midtown
Americana Inn
Americana Inn
#364 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Address: 242 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #356 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mayfair Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small hotel offers small, but charming, accommodations in the theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair New York Hotel
Mayfair New York City
Mayfair Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.