We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location small functional rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mayfair Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #361 of 451 hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent location small functional rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for four nights at this hotel
As previous reviews the location is great for Times Square and most central attractions
Rooms were small but well maintained
Two minor complaints
We checked in to one room as we were early . A bit irritated by being asked to present passport twice when the second room was ready
The additional charge on departure -some kind of environmental levy was a surprise and unwellcome
That said a good few days

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    167
    109
    70
    67
See reviews for
45
128
107
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Mayfair as a solo traveller and found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. The hotel is clean & neat & ideally situated to time square and the theatre district. Your never more than a ten minute walk away from most places. Any one reading this review please don't take any notice of the negative reviews that have been given to this establishment. So a big thank you to all the staff a job well done:-)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed here for some nights end of October beginning of November. In summary there are a few good things - location is great close to Times Square, close to the Subway and line for JFK and LGA Airports, rooms are clean and the WIFI is working well. Things not so good are the outdated reception, stairs, and elevator. Only a few TV channels working, if you need to switch on the AC you can not sleep due to noise. Reception staff OK service, even if it looks like they prefer sitting and watching than give service to guests entering. I agree with another review saying that the hotel is probably a cash cow until renovation is urgently needed. With small investments in new carpets in the public areas and a facelift to the elevator the hotel had been higher rated by me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The room was very small but what I expected. Location was in the theater district, 3 blocks from Times Square and 5 blocks from Rockafeller Center....Perfect for seeing the sights in central Manhattan.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during our last holiday at it was the perfect choice for us since we were travelling on a tight budget. It wasn’t anything fancy but it had clean rooms, cheap rates and a great location, just a few blocks away from Time Square, walking distance to all the Broadway theatres and restaurants. Being close to everything saved us time and money. I loved the area and if I go back to New York (hopefully I will! I really fell in love with this magical city!) I will surely stay at this hotel again.

The rooms were tiny, but that didn’t affect us since we were hardly in the rooms at all – we prefer to use as much time as possible discovering the city and sightseeing.
Our room was not very nicely decorated and very old fashion - but it was clean which is the most important thing for us, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was fine.
I had read some comments about this hotel which mentioned bed bugs, therefore I looked at the mattress and revised the corners of the bed and the carpet when I arrived, but all was good and we didn’t have any issues with this.

Our room was on a high floor which helped cut down on the noise, the only bad thing about being on a high floor was having to take the elevator, the elevator was very old and made lots of noise wich was kind of creepy.

Over all we liked the hotel, great value for money! I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a low floor if you are claustrophobic or scared of noisy elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

kleenex box rooms. i get that, it's new york. reserved room months ago at one price.showed up only to find friday & saturday nights had nearly doubled and a half in price. not my fault that the new york marathon was that weekend, and some burro booked us at a lower rate. no advanced notice of the price change. throw in pipes that rattle like thunder, an elevator that was old 50 years ago, and a staff that could care less about anything, and you're all set for a hell of a great time. not!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Location is perfect. My room was extremely small. I was told this in the confirmation but never though it would be this small. Front desk was OK. Concierge helped taking my luggage till my flight. Only 4 TV channels were working. No noise can be heard in the 6th floor.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a bigger room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Address: 242 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mayfair Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small hotel offers small, but charming, accommodations in the theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair New York Hotel
Mayfair New York City
Mayfair Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.