We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mayfair Hotel to your Saves list
Mayfair Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #358 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ideal Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is in an amazing location, right in the middle of time square, you literally walk out of the door and its on your doorstep! The room was small but was fine for what we needed it for as we didnt spend a lot of time at the hotel as we were out so much! The staff are very friendly and helpful at the hotel and will try their best to help you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    192
    135
    72
    70
See reviews for
54
163
120
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Do not stay here. Although the hotel is in a prime location just blocks away from times square, they have bed bugs. I was up up at night, always have trouble the first night in a hotel, so got up to turn on AC, turned on light, and saw black spots on my pillow, alarmed at I got closer and realized they were bugs. I thought at first was maybe just a random bug not a bed bug, but after moving my sheets I realized the whole comforter and sheets were moving. Where the seams were there were bugs. Now, I am paranoid as it is, I like things clean, and looking at room when I first arrived, I did check the bed, and everything passed my information inspection.

I only spent about 2 hrs in the bed, and luckily i had woken up because my arms/chest/back were covered with bites.

I spent from 2am -6am in the lobby downstairs waiting to get a hold of my company and someone who would further assist me in checking out of my room.

I spent over $300 getting my clothes dry cleaned and had to move to a different hotel

This experience really has ruined traveling for me, and I often have to travel for work. Additionally, I was going on vacation a week after I returned from my NY business trip, and had to go to a dermatologist for antibiotics as I received an infection from bites as the swelled up and get inflamed.

I will be reporting this to the bed bug registry, which I now know exists and sharing on additional websites as this was a horrible experience and still bothers me. I felt violated and was put out having to deal with this. I was unable to attend a business dinner as all of my clothes were at the cleaners for rush service..Just completely unacceptable and I hope the hotel has fixed this situation, however, to be safe, please avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is close to Time Square, excellent location, clean, very small, and unfriendly.
If you are using online booking you might not have the room you expect, in fact we had a queen in place of a king, charged for a king and asked to speak to bookings.com for refund. Finally we had a king with a backstairs window with no glass !! but a cardboard.
We left the luggage for 1/2 hour in the lobby and we were asked to pay 2$ per luggage, even for the very small one.
We finally had the next day a king room,courtesy of the hotel :-) even if we have paid for exactly this kind of room.

Room Tip: Call if you are using online booking, expect surprises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The Mayfair is nice hotel around the corner from Times Square. It is more like a bed and breakfast without the breakfast. The staff is very professional and helpful rooms are VERY small but well appointed I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Front desk staff Joseph is excellent, people person, very accomadating, and funny!
True to the other reviews rooms and elevator are very small, elevator can fit up to 2 people at a time, with maybe a small piece of luggage, but no biggie.
The stay started out terrific, got into my room right away, BUT unforunately there were a few issues that came up, one with the bathroom faucet, which ultimately NEVER got fixed!
But after speaking to the hotel manager who was also very accomadating for the things that went south, I can't complain to much! Any place you go there are good people and not good people, that's just how it goes, especially if you travel alot like I do!
Hotel is minutes from Times Square, and the theatres!
There is a refrig in the basement for anything you may want to put in it, and a small bar connected to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great location. Boutique hotel.
Very small room. Walls, chair, headboard, pillow shams. curtains in blue/white pattern (better to me than other room colors). I thought it was called chintz but they call it toile. Room clean. Bed comfortable but really tight space. Itty bitty night table on one side. Nice shower but the smallest sink ever seen. Nice TV. Hallways very shabby. I even had to pick up the rug one day to pull out bumps.
Lobby very small. Sometimes someone opens the front door and sometimes the front desk people speak to you as you go by. The guy at our check in was great but never saw him again.
Location! Location! But would only stay again if price were much less.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Disappointed. The rooms have only one little chair, there's not even a desk, but a shelf; not nearly enough closet space and one tiny glass shelf in the bathroom. And they're tiny even by New York standards.

What's great is that the staff is terrific: helpful, accommodating and friendly. There's also free wifi and they do not charge for use of the desktop computer - or printing - located in the lobby.

If you want to be in the theatre district, perfect location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Address: 242 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #358 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mayfair Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small hotel offers small, but charming, accommodations in the theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair New York Hotel
Mayfair New York City
Mayfair Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.