We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moderne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Moderne Hotel to your Saves list
Moderne Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   243 West 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 457 Hotels in New York City
A TripAdvisor Member
“A mixed review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a bday celebration. The location is great. I had 2 rooms. We weren't able to be on the same floor. My brothers room seemed fine. My room had some water leakage from the radiator and when I got my towels down in the shower they were mildew. There clearly was some water problems. Also some drunk residents near us but that was take care of. The staff is most helpful and parking is the best overnite price in ny. Not sure why there is still an old sign on the door from 2000 something about the building being condemned! They compensated me for my room. Robbie is most helpful

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us including the service you received. However, we regret to hear that there were some aspects of your stay that were not ideal. We greatly appreciate your feedback and your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Please reach out to me whenever you wish to return so that I may personally arrange your accommodations and ensure that your next stay is perfect. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    300
    80
    36
    42
See reviews for
124
410
48
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel is awesome! The customer service is like nothing i have ever experienced at a hotel before. The rooms are very nice and the bed was sooo comfortable. The location is excellent and is close to central park, time square and the empire state building. Parking next to the hotel is also discounted which was a huge bonus. The cake and coffee in the am was delicious. We will be back for sure!!! I highly recommend this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Brandi B,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us and that the service we provided had such a positive impact on your trip. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Please reach out to me whenever you wish to return so that I may personally arrange your accommodations. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motala, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This a perfect hotel at a very good location where you have calm surroundings but still in the middle of many of NYC highlights. Perfect service, nice rooms and free wifi leads to an efficient stay, sutable both for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Leo_Th2014,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the serivice you received to be perfect. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Please reach out to me whenever you wish to return so that I may personally arrange your accommodations. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at The Moderne for four days. It was very clean and close to all of the spots. The staff was very helpful on more than one occasion. The rooms were well prepared and comfortable. If we visit New York City again we will go to the same hotel. There are many food options close by. A subway entrance was only one block away. We were very impressed with the accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Alan E,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you felt your stay with us was perfect! It also warms us to hear that you wish to continue staying with us for your NYC visits. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Please reach out to me whenever you wish to return so that I may personally arrange your accommodations. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

i have stayed for almost a week at the moderne hotel. for the deal that I got it was ok.
the room was small but clean, however we had some problems that they could not solve.
I ask three times to fix the toilet flush and they couldn't and at the 1st floor was kind of noisy.
its available on 2nd floor a room with complementary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, fresh fruit water and cake every morning. a really nice touch. the staff was very nice however some of them just stands out. Reinaldo the doorman was amazing, very friendly and helpful. so the moderne hotel is well located and is a secure choice but don't expect a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear ratopersa,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's location, cleanliness, and complimentary items in the Guest Lounge. Reinaldo will also be delighted to hear your compliments on his service. However, we regret that you had an inconvenience during your stay and your feedback has been forwarded to the appropriate departments. Please reach out to me if you wish to return in the future so that I may ensure that all aspects of your next stay are perfect. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is a great small hotel. And they make each guest feel honored. The front desk staff of Penny, Angel, and Robin are extraordinary. They handled each of our concerns or inquiries with a sincere desire to satisfy us....and they succeeded. We will gladly return here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear BarryTravels,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the serivice you received to be top notch. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Please reach out to me whenever you wish to return so that I may personally arrange your accommodations. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Room very clean the staff could not be more helpful Robbi and samir would do anything to make your stay perfect I would recommend it to everyone true value for your Money great location central to everywhere also free coffee and tea

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear johnjohn4242,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you had such a great stay with us! We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary refreshments in our Guest Lounge and the service that you received from Robbi and Samir. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Please reach out to me whenever you wish to return so that I may personally arrange your accommodations. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moderne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne Hotel

Address: 243 West 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#91 Family Hotel in New York City
#136 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moderne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient midtown location on 55th street and Broadway - Hotel is decorated in ultra contemporary style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moderne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel New York City
Moderne New York City
Moderne Hotel Nyc
Hotel Moderne New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moderne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.