We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and stylish rooms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moderne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moderne Hotel to your Saves list
Moderne Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   243 West 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great value and stylish rooms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I've stayed at probably over a dozen hotels in New York, and this was one of the better ones I've stayed in recently. It's not luxurious, but it's stylish and a great value, especially for business travelers given the hotel's excellent rates and free and fast wifi!

LOCATION: If you need to be in Midtown/Upper West Side, it's conveniently located right off Broadway and a few blocks from Central Park. It's easy to get around the neighborhood and a safe area for solo female travelers if you're walking alone at night.

ROOM: My room seemed very recently redone, and quite nice. It was a standard (small) size for New York City, but the layout felt spacious for one and would have been comfortable enough for two. The bed was huge and quite comfortable and the furniture/decor was stylish and lived up to the hotel's name! My only complaint was that the air conditioning was FREEZING and kept turning back on after I had turned it off. Luckily, the hotel provides a fluffy robe!

BATHROOM: The bathroom was sparkling clean and modern, though just enough space for one. The water pressure was excellent. The storage space was minimal; I had nowhere to put my toiletry bags, but this is typical in New York.

STAFF: The staff was friendly and helpful with giving directions. I only stayed for one night and checked out early in the morning, so I did not encounter housekeeping, but the room was very clean.

AMENITIES: The best amenity was the wifi, which was not only free, but also quite fast.

OVERALL: I have no major complaints, and I'd happily stay again! It's not part of a major chain, so you won't earn rewards, but if you're looking for a good deal in this part of town, you can't go wrong with the Moderne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear samanthaonstyle,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely and informative review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    357
    91
    36
    43
See reviews for
149
476
57
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hutchinson, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Chose this off of others reviews and it was just as they said. Great place and location. The staff was VERY
helpful - stayed 5 nights and knew all their faces by the time we left. Loved the little lobby on 2 for ice water, coffee, hot chocolate and fresh fruit. Only 2nd time to NYC but coming again in Aug. and will book again.

Room Tip: Had a room with double beds on the back side and was very quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Julie K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we think our staff is pretty great as well! We can't wait to see you again in August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
1) excellent location
2) cute and modern hotel
3) good professional service
4) very well-cleaned
5) everything new and in tip top shape
6) our room was spacious
Cons:
1) small bathroom
2) our room did not have any windows
** note that the cons for us were no biggies since we were rarely there - it's not a beach resort, after all.
Conclusion: considering the average rates in NYC, this is a gem!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Ylean,

Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with others! All of our guest rooms do in fact have windows - just not the greatest view! As the vast majority of your guests can attest to, however, the quietness more than makes up for the lack of scenery! We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Neck, Delaware
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

First stay at The Moderne Hotel in NYC.....must agree with the other reviews. Very nice, clean hotel. I had a huge room...probably would have been considered a suite elsewhere in NYC. King bed, couch, mini fridge, flat screen and beautiful bathroom. I was on the 4th floor, room overlooked 55th Street which was very noisy. Select another "view" if you want quiet. Didn't use the lounge area , except to get some water.
Hotel lobby is very small and unimpressive and elevator is old and small and slow.....but the room was very modern and comforting.

Only complaint is that when I checked in there was no offer of help with luggage and no bellman...also big no no for a hotel...my wake up call NEVER came in the morning!! Upon check out, there was baggage help and he even walked me to the corner to hail me a cab. I would definitely stay here again if the price is right.

Room Tip: Choose room wisely and mention to them if you want a quiet location. Rooms facing 55th street are NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear eliedoll,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we were so sorry to hear that you did not receive your wake up call! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Great location, helpful staff & good value for money considering its a 5minute walk from time square & the best 99c pizza shop around the corner! Would definitely stay here again as they also offer discounts if U return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Joyce C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and agree that we are situated in a fantastic area! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Creek, GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our 1st trip to New York; had no idea where to stay...The Moderne Hotel was very clean, staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathroom did not have a rail to hold to which I would have liked and didn't have any room to lay anything down much in the bathroom; but overall, was a great hotel.

Room Tip: Very good location; room was small but was only there to sleep so was fine; clean; friendly; would d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear JoAnn W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind words! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Well, the bed and pillows were awesome too...
Great location, very cozy and a wonderful staff.
Artsy decor that is easy on the eyes and sets the mood for exploring 'big city' life.
I can just imagine how many people went home and changed their color schemes after staying here, not realizing how subliminally thay had been affected.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear sppcpastor,

Thank you so much for such kind words and for taking the time to post such a lovely review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here and hope you enjoy the rest of your trek along the east coast! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moderne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne Hotel

Address: 243 West 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in New York City
#83 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moderne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient midtown location on 55th street and Broadway - Hotel is decorated in ultra contemporary style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Moderne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel New York City
Moderne New York City
Moderne Hotel Nyc
Hotel Moderne New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moderne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.