We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moderne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Moderne Hotel to your Saves list
Moderne Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   243 West 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Hawthorne, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I went to NYC to see a broadway show and we stayed at the Moderne Hotel. The decor of our room and the hotel itself was cool. However, I expected a little more for the price....perhaps a mini-bar?! There were a few snacks and drinks in the room sitting on a desk with prices on them. The room was small, but okay for us because we were there for only one night. We had a window, but it looked out to a brick wall! We also had a ticking noise during the night - sounded like air bubbles in the heating pipes. Also, the elevator is really slow! I probably won't go back, but it wasn't horrible. Just didn't meet my expectations and of course the ticking noise didn't help either.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear DeniseF1008,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We're sorry to hear that your experience did not live up to your expectations and hope that you will visit us again soon so that we can rectify the inconveniences you encountered!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    304
    81
    36
    42
See reviews for
126
415
49
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My title sums the moderne up. Great if you are just looking for a clean comfortable bed in a great area. Rooms are small but nicely decorated and clean new feeling . Hotel offers no services, elevator is very slow. It was good for my purposes, nice touch is the lounge on second floor with 24 hr access to tea coffee. The front desk woman Vicotria should be given a promotion, seems like she is running the hotel. Great attitude, great worker, the rest of the staff was almost invisible except for one very friendly bellman. One big issue is the slow elevator....need to use the stairs most of the time. All non suite rooms are facing a brick wall so no natural light, which wasnt an issue for me but might be for others.

Room Tip: For windows with light you need to get a suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear swa,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property! I'm curious as to your comment that we do not have any services as we offer 24-hour room service, complimentary wifi, and complimentary coffee, tea, fruit, water, hot chocolate 24-hours a day in our guest lounge. Our guest rooms are average for NYC standards and though they do not offer views, they offer the quietness that rooms without views cannot offer. We appreciate all of your kind words and hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I try and support the boutique hotels and found this gem. The front desk staff was amazing. When I said my bed was a bit firm, Victoria had additional pillow tops added and sent me cupcakes. Now that is above and beyond the call of duty.

The location is perfect and 75 feet away is the Soup Nazi from Seinfeld.

Great hotel for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear NCFreddy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appreciate your feedback! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The good: great staff, great location, very clean room, comfy bed
The not-as-good: the room was really, really small - imagine staying in a small RV & that is your room
The not good at all: Though we had a window, it was 3" from the brick wall next door, so we had zero natural light

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Konalronmate,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! While our rooms do seem to be on the smaller side for the rest of the country- they are very average sized for NYC. And while we are in the middle of the street so we do not have views out of our standard rooms, the quiet cannot be beat! Most people do not realize just how loud NYC can be all night long and our guests never have to worry about this! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Manhattan. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I really hate to share info on my favorite small hotels - only because it makes it that much harder for me to get a room :-) However, I'll make an exception in the case of the Moderne. It is a really lovely small hotel, perfectly located in a great neighborhood close to Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Lincoln Center and more. Decor is interesting and trendy, rooms are nicely appointed with comfy beds and a very nice bathroom. If you're looking for a "full-service" hotel, this is not the place. But they focus their efforts on the surroundings and decor, and the prices can't be beat. Also, if you're driving, there's a nice discount at the garage next door.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear nodice,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you for taking the time to post a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

JUst stayed at the Moderne in Feb.Location great...staff great...$20 a nite parking next door. And...with two full beds and rate of $ 220 a night including tax...doesn't get better than this in NYC. Very convenient if going to Times Square or Lincoln Center. Bad weather?..great restaurants/bars within a block, Didn't personally try the lobster rolls at the standup soup place next door...but the folks eating them said they were "great".!

Room Tip: Rooms with two full beds are a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Phantomtwo,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for posting such a nice review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here while having a night out in the city. It was one of the most memorable nights of our lives and a large part of that was The Moderne. I was so impressed with the hotel. I will definitely be staying again. I love the decor...very funky. It's not the Ritz Carlton...no grand lobby or anything like that, but this little boutique hotel has such a cool vibe. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. But most of all, the room was amazing! I felt like a VIP. It was so comfortable and clean with top notch amenities. The bathrobe was a great touch. This hotel is a rare gem in a great neighborhood. I'm so glad I found it.

Room Tip: The Loft Suite is amazing...especially for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Tmitty,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appreciate all of your kind words. We are so happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moderne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne Hotel

Address: 243 West 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#91 Family Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moderne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient midtown location on 55th street and Broadway - Hotel is decorated in ultra contemporary style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moderne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel New York City
Moderne New York City
Moderne Hotel Nyc
Hotel Moderne New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moderne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.