We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moderne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Moderne Hotel to your Saves list
Moderne Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   243 West 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Lincoln Park, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Location Friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

While the rooms were quite small even by NY standards it was clean and the bed was amazing. I would have liked to have seen more amenities.n The location can't be beat and at night it was quiet even when we opened the window a bit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear cthorpe3,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I wish you would have delved further into the additional amenities you would have liked since we think we have a lot going on for such a small building! We would be interested in hearing your comments, please feel free to email us at ModerneRes@AmsterdamHospitality.com so that we can find out more. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    300
    80
    36
    42
See reviews for
124
409
48
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at The Moderne for a long weekend at Valentines and we were very impressed!
It is a lovely boutique hotel, small by New York standards but everything you want in a hotel.
The staff are all friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to the Loft apartment which was massive! Decor is modern and chic, the bed was huge and our room was cleaned and supplied with fresh towels daily.
Location wise it is perfect; within walking distance to Central Park, Fifth Avenue, Times Square and Columbus Circle. As well as lots of yummy food places on your doorstep!! Would definitely return!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Froglet5,

Thank you so much for such kind words and for taking the time to post pictures as well! We are so happy you enjoyed your Valentine's weekend and hope you will return soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The staff is so helpful, from the minute they open the door & carry in your luggage, all the way through their great restaurant & subway trips. I highly recommend Moderne, we loved staying at this hotel during our 2 NYC trips & will go back next time. The location is within walking distance from Times Square, right next to the famous Soup Man station & the beds are so comfy. Such a great hotel, thank you!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Kerribw,

Thank you so much for such a positive review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to post! We think our staff is pretty great too and appreciate you taking the time to say so as well! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was a cool place to stay. Not a huge place, but nice for it's location. My friend and I stayed in one of the rooms with double beds, and we had enough room. The bathroom could've been bigger with better lighting, but overall very nice. Also, this hotel is affordable and incredibly convenient for places you want to walk to in the city. (Times Square, Central Park, ect...) I loved the funky/artsy look of the place too. I would stay here again. The parking situation could be better. Although the garage is right next door, I would say those rates are too high. All in all, a fun stay, and nice for a short trip!

Room Tip: No restaurant, but a cool common room. It's weird that the bathroom light goes off when using th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear allysemhauser,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to post a review! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Great experience and value, very smart rooms and love the mini lounge with coffee, water and snacks. I have stayed here twice in past few weeks and will definitely be staying here in the future and recommending it to others. Great if you are into self serve, nice rooms and good value.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear PWB9112,

Thanks so much for your kind words and for taking the time to post a review! We're very happy to hear that you've been enjoying our property and even happier to hear that you've been coming back so frequently! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The rooms are small. Let's be honest- it's Midtown Manhattan, unless you are paying $1,000 a night the rooms will not be large. I arrived early in the morning, the staff was very helpful at stowing my luggage and allowing me to freshen up in the bathroom (strangely it had no hand towels).
The room was very trendy and modern, comfortable, had all the amenities I needed, and very pleasant. The bathroom is- again small, it would be very hard for two people to get ready at the same time in the room, that being said I was staying alone for business and found it adequate.
The lounge is pleasant and well decorated but the breakfast offerings are a bit sad- coffee cake and fruit.
Overall for the value and price I paid, this was a great location, nice room, pleasant staff, and good price. I didn't spend much time in my room so it fit the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear melcalbear2000,

Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy the amenities of our complimentary lounge! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Manhattan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had soo much fun. The city is really nice. Def recommend this place. Teddy sent us to some fun local spots. The room was really clean and the service was impeccable! I will definitely be staying here on my next visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear david e,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moderne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne Hotel

Address: 243 West 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Family Hotel in New York City
#89 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#136 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moderne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient midtown location on 55th street and Broadway - Hotel is decorated in ultra contemporary style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moderne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel New York City
Moderne New York City
Moderne Hotel Nyc
Hotel Moderne New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moderne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.