We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, central hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off for Special Rate
Ranked #35 of 451 hotels in New York City
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good, central hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Really good location with friendly staff and well-equipped rooms. I had no gripes at all with the hotel as its location was perfect (5 minute walk from Times Square and theatres). People have said it is noisy but I feel that is to be expected from New York. I didn't think it was noisy (at least not bad enough to affect sleep) however someone from a more rural location my disagree. Faint rumbling from the subway trains can be heard very intermittantly but again, nothing too bad.

I had a very enjoyable time here and would definitely visit again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hello Neil B,
Thank you for sharing you feedback with travel community! It’s great to know that your stay with us was an enjoyable experience and that you found the hotel location convenient to your needs.
We will be looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to NYC!
All the best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,521
    1,406
    217
    58
    29
See reviews for
1120
1429
217
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kusadasi, Turkey
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Very central. staff is very friendful, rooms are clean and very good price. Highly recommended.......
They have computer room and free access. You can freely print. Easy access to Internet from your room. If you ask them where to eat they will arrange you a good restorant.

Nilay Anil demiroglu

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear gardenkitchen,
Thank you for sharing your experience with travel community. It’s great to know that you enjoyed the hotel and its location and that our staff was there for you when you needed dining suggestions.
I hope that one day we will get a chance to welcome you back!
All the best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Me and my friend recently stayed here a couple of days ago for a week. The hotel is situated on 8th ave, 48th street and just a couple minutes walk away from times square and the subway stations on 49th and 50th street. This is our first visit to NYC and wanted to stay as close to times square as possible. Hotel did not disappointment, we were staying on the 3rd floor and it was relatively quiet slept perfectly fine. The room was a king room a very comfy bed. Staff are very friendly and helpful, point of call when needed any help and they never hesitated.
I would definitely recommend if you are looking for something decently priced and close to everything! I definitely would stay here again if i ever visit in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Hello Christine W,
Thank you for choosing our hotel on your first trip to NYC! It’s great to know that we were able to create a memorable experience and that the hotel was conveniently situated to all your points of interest.
We will be looking forward to welcome you back again!
All the best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Great location on 8th Ave in relation to Theater District and restaurants. Also, just a block off of Times Square. Subway station (50th St - A, C & E) located almost directly across the street. All this made it easy to get around to wherever you needed to go in the City.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Driector of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi Chris A,

With so many choices in NYC, we are honored that you chose us as your home away from home while in NYC, and was able to use our convenient location as a base while you toured our wonderful city.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

All the best,

Tennile Boyd
Director of Guest Experience
646.710.5713
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baildon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

As a group of 40-60 something years young girls on our first visit to New York we chose our accommodation so carefully and the effort paid off. We were not disappointed with this hotel. It is one block from Times Square, a 5 minute walk from Hell's Kitchen and a 15 minute walk from the south of Central Park.
The hop on/hop off tour buses stop 1 minute up the street from the front door and there are reps all over so you can purchase tickets easily.
Checking in was faultless and the lovely chap on reception was so welcoming and very patient with 5 tired, giddy ladies!!!
Our rooms both had 2 double beds and were spotless. A lot of the reviews on here mention the street noise. Yes, it is noisy, but it's NEW YORK!!! It's vibrant, its busy and its loud. We were so shattered after being out and about all day that we did not have any trouble sleeping (we were on the 3rd floor).
The concierge desk in the lobby is open regularly and the staff manning the desk were knowledgeable. The hotel has a business centre where we were able to check in for our return flights and print off boarding cards easily.
Jules and Charles who worked in the lobby answered 101 questions from us and with plenty of patience. They are an asset to the hotel.
Each morning the hotel provides complimentary Starbucks coffee and tea for residents - perfect for us to sit each morning and arrange our day. There is a fabulous deli over the road that sells the most amazing wraps and sandwiches. We bought breakfast from there and ate at the large table in the lobby with our free hot drinks.
We saw Jersey Boys at the August Wilson Theatre, a 3 minute walk from the hotel - go to the box office mid afternoon to get bargain tickets for the same night's performance. Excellent show.
Should we be lucky enough to find ourselves in New York again, the Hilton Garden Inn would be top of our accommodation list. It's affordable, clean, welcoming and in the most superb location. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi There,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with the travel community. As you know, our goal is to ensure complete satisfaction and I am very happy that we accomplished this during your time with us.

I will be sure to share your high praise with Jules and Charles and please be sure to visit again.

Warm Regards,

Tennile Boyd
Director of Guest Experience
646.710.5713
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here from April 10Th for 7 nights that is myself my Wife and my Daughter (13) we are from the UK this was our first trip to New York. This hotel lives up to expectation as per previous reviews, the rooms are large we had two double beds with good facilities ie large TV,coffee machine, fridge, microwave, clock radio nice touch, reasonable size bathroom fresh towels etc all you could want for a pleasant hotel stay and very clean. We were on the fifth floor at the back but with a partial view of 48Th street. Some noise from the subway below could be heard but it did not bother us. We did not eat in the restaurant next door as it was not part of our package but used the excellent supermarket (Food Emporium) to buy breakfast things to have our room. AC a bit noisy so turned it off at night.
The location of this hotel is fantastic you can walk to almost everything, Times Square is just one block away if you want it but not far from Hells Kitchen or Central Park. We chose not to use the subway as we preferred to walk or to use a taxi which are not that expensive and convenient for short journeys.
The staff who work here are very friendly checking in was really quick and easy the doorman very helpful stored our luggage on our last day and arranged a fixed fee town car to the airport (although we thought we might have left some thing behind in the hotel which was a AMNH guidebook and some post cards still yet to find this since returning and unpacking)
This hotel I would thoroughly recommend great location with great facilities.
If I was returning to New York this would be my first choice hotel.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quiet .get a high floor to avoid subway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi BournemouthBear64,

Thank you for your high recommendation and favorable review. I am delighted that the staff was able to exceed your expectations and provide you with a memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back and if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Warm Regards,
Tennile Boyd
Director of Guest Experience
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
646.710.5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was a trip to NYC with my six year old granddaughter to see a Broadway play, just the two of us. The location of the hotel is great, the rooms are lovely, the view is wonderful from the upper floors. The staff knew that it was my granddaughters first trip to NYC and were wonderful and very accommodating. The hotel was quite and very clean. They have Town Cars to hire which is also very nice. Defiantly will stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi tlkTx,

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to call you our guest. We understand that you have countless choices, and we appreciate that you chose to make us your home away from home.

I am very happy that we were able to creat such a memorable experience for you and your granddaughter's first trip to NYC together. We look forward to welcoming you back and it I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards,
Tennile Boyd
Director of Guest Experience
646.710.5713
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in New York City
#28 Business Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.