We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Front Desk Manager EVER!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Times Square to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10% through June!
Ranked #82 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Florence, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Front Desk Manager EVER!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My business associates were in NY for a meeting. We arrived at hotel late and were exhausted. The Front Desk Manager, Mayerlin, was the best Front Desk Manager I've ever encountered. She was professional, courteous and just plain nice! The hotel was great, but I'd stay there again just for Mayerlin.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear MikeSouthCarolina182,
Thank you for choosing our hotel on your business trip to NYC. Our goal is to provide each and every guest with an experience which exceeds expectations, and I am delighted to learn that we accomplished this goal during your stay. It is great that Mayerlin was the person who made a great first impression and that thanks to her we will get a chance to welcome you back!
I will make sure to extend your compliments to her!
Sincerely
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,785
    1,622
    282
    74
    42
See reviews for
1,367
1,705
257
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (969)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great deal on this hotel. Less than £90 a night for a stunning newly decorated room with lovely modern bathroom. Admittedly the view was not brilliant but you don't take a room in New York for the view. Occasional cookies and coffees served in the foyer which were excellent. A good find and no hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: Most rooms will not have a good view but suggest you choose one facing street. Nat least you will se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear pedro3uk,
I am delighted reading your review, it is so heartwarming to learn that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and that you will recommend our hotel with no hesitation!
Thank you for giving us opportunity to call you our guest and we will be looking forward to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

It ain't fancy, but it's clean, great proximity to the shows, subway, Times Square. The beds were comfortable and the staff was friendly, especially the bell hops. They were great, telling me to turn right or left or getting a cab when there was a wickedly cold wind outside.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear HornfanDallas_Texas,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with travel community! It is great to know that your stay with us was a pleasant experience and you enjoyed hotel location and comfort of our rooms. I am very happy that our bellmen assisted you with directions, I will make sure to share your comments with my team!
I hope that on your next trip to NYC you will consider staying with us again!
Sincerely
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel has a good location and was clean. Aside from that, nothing totally stood out for me. The desk in my room abutted the end of the bed so you could not walk around the bed without totally removing the chair. Also, our ceiling had what looked like a recent water stain with paint separating. The room was slightly beat up with all those "lived in" marks and scratches. It was relatively quiet. In a long line of options I have paid the same price for better rooms elsewhere. I did ask if anything else was available but they said no, I likely attribute this to booking my room via third party and not them- so I was not a "priority" despite my husband being a Hilton member- not that they even tried to ask. Oh well!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear shopperhopper,
I would like to personally thank you for taking time to submit your review. First and foremost I am happy to learn that you found the hotel to be clean and conveniently located however it is disappointing hearing that this was the only good part of your stay. I am very sorry that we were not able to create a memorable experience and wow you with our services. I wish you would give us a chance to address all the challenges mentioned in your review directly during your stay.
I hope that in the future you will give us another chance to make up for this experience. if I can ever be of any assistance now or in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Hotel is in a great location, easy to access shops and restaurants, as well as a short walk into Times Square and other close by attractions. Clean room, comfy bed and nice bathroom. Fresh bed linen each day, great use of features in the room, ie. plenty of space, mirrors to get ready etc. Helpful staff at the desk, always happy to help. Would recommend, and definitely will visit again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Amy O,
Thank you so much for submitting such a wonderful review. Our goal is to provide each and every guest with an experience which exceeds expectations, and I am delighted to learn that we accomplished this goal during your stay. Thank you for your recommendation and we will be looking forward to your future reservations!

Sincerely
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Recently stayed as a couple from Australia, for 10 days. Cannot complain about anything really!
Pros:
- Great room size! Very large for NYC.
- Very clean
- Very helpful staff; we had two packages ordered to the hotel, and they were more than helpful
- Easy check-in/out
- Great location - within walking distance to pretty much everything we needed in NYC (Times Square and other touristy spots, shopping, deli for snacks, lots of restaurants around). We walked everywhere from the hotel!
- Safe in room.
- Restaurant next door - great for a quick and easy breakfast.

Cons:
- Regular sirens from Fire Station down the road, but this did not really bother us - it is NYC after all!
- Bathroom was quite small, but this wasn't an issue as having a large room with two mirrors meant we didn't need to be in the bathroom at the same time.
- Room service menu was limited, but easy to order.

Would happily recommend to all couples!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to ensure a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Stephanie2192,
Thank you for choosing our hotel on your 10 days trip to NYC. I am so happy to learn that you enjoyed the stay and for your recommendations. Thank you for giving us opportunity to call you our guest and I hope that we will get a chance to welcome you on your next travels to NYC!
Sincerely
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

A great location, just moments away from the manic bubble of Times Square, but set back a block so you do not feel overwhelmed by it. Close to the subway for easy access around the city. Lovely rooms, which are huge for a city hotel, with plush furnishings, large bed, good shower and widescreen TV. Helpful staff at lobby if required. Business centre was great to print of boarding passes for the flight home. A perfect base for a city break.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Good Day PimmsK,

Our central location is definitely one of the most attractive aspects of our property, along with our staff, cleanliness of the hotel and the size of our rooms. So thank you for your kind words and highlighting the benefits and amenities of our hotel.

We hope to have the honor of calling you our guest once again should your travels bring you back to NYC.

Warmest Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713 | Fax: 212-974-0291
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in New York City
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#79 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.