We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in NY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Times Square to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10% through June!
Ranked #81 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in NY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My mum & I had 9 nights stay here & we loved staying here!! The staff were very friendly & our room was very spacious & clean! The housekeeping staff were very pleasant & friendly too. It's in a fantastic location, just minutes walk to Times Square & subways are just around the corner. We have been to NY many times before (we are from Australia!) & we have now found the perfect hotel to stay!!! I would now not stay anywhere else if I was reassured of one thing prior to my arrival........

So why have I rated it a 4 out of 5?? I requested in my booking a room on a higher floor as I read in some reviews the noise experienced in the lower levels from the subway that obviously runs straight underneath the hotel. We were given a room on the 5th floor & we were at first overwhelmed with the regular noise of the subway. We were out all day & not getting in until late at night so the noise/rumbling only affected us during the night. We got use to it after a while so we didn't let it ruin our very enjoyable stay here!!

We would absolutely stay here again as we loved it, (& I would definitely recommend it to all my family & friends), but only if we were guaranteed a room on a much higher level than 5!!!!!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest of Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Good Day Lillabet75,

We honored that you have made us your premier choice hotel when traveling to NY and would be elated to welcome you back time and time again. I am sorry to hear that you were affected by the noise from the subway and we were not able to accommodate your request for a higher floor. Please be advised that the rooms in certain room categories are only located on floors 2-5, for instance our Standard Double Queen so we you very well may have been placed on the highest in the category booked.
While room assignments can never be guaranteed, I encourage you to contact me when you are planning to return and I will do my very best to place you in a room on a high floor.

Thank you and I hope to see you in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291 tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,784
    1,621
    282
    74
    42
See reviews for
1,367
1,704
257
561
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (968)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square after reading some good reviews on here. We were very happy with the hotel; great location, clean and modern rooms, nice toiletries. The staff were friendly and we were just 5 minutes away from Times Square and right in the theatre district. Great base for exploring New York, and the fridges in the rooms were great for storing leftovers from the huge American meals. Nice big comfy bed and a decent sized room and free luggage storage on the day of departure...great value for NYC too. Can't fault this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi There Claire B,

I am very pleased that you found our hotel to be just as pleasant and enjoyable as so many travelers before you. We look forward to welcoming back should your travels bring you to NYC once again.

If I can be of any assistance to you now or in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warmest Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291 tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadera, Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I booked two rooms on my name and there was an unexpected problem and I couldn't arrived to NY . I called the hotel to arrange the room for my friends that were waiting for us in Manhattan and to cancel part of my booking, I spoke with Emelia and she helped me with all the room issue to my friends and the second room for me , while i didn't know if could arrive at all . And with some packages that was waited for me at the hotel. Emelia was just so nice and so helpful .(It is so important that if you in some problem there is someone on the other side that help you.) My friends told me that I chose a great hotel .They enjoyed the room and the wonderful location of the hotel . Close to all the theaters to the Time square not far away from Central park .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi Noga A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the travel community. I am sorry that you were not able to make it to NYC but I'm glad Estela was able to assist you and all turned out well.

I hope all is well and whatever caused you to cancel part of your booking has been resolved. We hope to welcome you back on your next venture, please feel free to contact either Estela or myself if we can offer any assistance.

All the best,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291 tennile.boyd@hilton.com |
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The location, the helpfulness of the staff as well as the value for money was quite good. The cookies at check in, the security lobby and the interaction of the staff with the guest was quite encouraging. The room décor and comfort was good. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Good Day Olu S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the travel community. I am thrilled and very appreciative of your high recommendation.

Should your travels bring you back to NYC, I hope we'll once again have the pleasure of calling you our guest.

Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291 tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Wife and I just spent 3 nights. Incredibly easy to get to via the E subway line. Great location, within blocks of Times Square and the Theaters. Good breakfast. Clean room. Attentive staff. A bargain given the location and amenities. Only downside is some traffic noise at night. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Good Day FnD_K,

Thanks for your 5 star recommendation!! I am pleased that you had a good time while with us despite the street noise. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and call you our guest once again. I encourage you to reach out to me prior to your next arrival and I will be sure to assign you a nice, quiet room.

Until next time,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291 tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

What a fab location, clean, comfortable, and convenient, close to theatre district, drugstore and food places nearby...walking distance to almost everything.

The only thing I did not enjoy was the breakfast in the hotel downstairs....but loved that the hotel room had a microwave so I could just heat up foods that I wanted.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Kathleen6868,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on your recent stay. I am very happy hearing that you enjoyed the hotel and its location. It’s sad that the breakfast served in the restaurant was not to your like but I’m glad that you took advantage of room amenities.
I hope we will get a chance to welcome you back in the future and if so I will be happy to provide you with some great breakfast dining suggestions.
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Spent a week here this summer (August) while we were in town for my wife's surgery at the Hospital for Special Surgery. It's the second time we've stayed here, and we've found the location to be convenient for getting around and with food/services close by. Staff got to know us while we were there, and the doorman even arranged for a limo ride back to the airport on our last day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Brian G,
It is a great pleasure reading your comments. I hope that your wife is feeling better; I am happy that we were able to create a memorable stay for you and her. We will be looking forward to your next trip and I encourage you to contact me next time when you will be staying with us!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#79 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.