We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Helpful staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Times Square to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, Helpful staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I were in New York City for a vacation, I have stayed at Hilton Hotels around the world including Seattle, Tokyo, and Paris. We are used to great service. This hotel met our expectations. Also, the room was well maintained and had a great view of the west side, the Hudson River and the New Jersey cliffs. And the hotel was only a block from a subway stop. Our only problem was that they did not feature TBS on their cable TV lineup. We could not watch the STL Cardinals win the NLCS. Great hotel worth considering for your next trip to New York.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Daniel D,
Thank you for sharing experience on your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square. It’s good to hear that as a frequent Hilton guest our hotel was to your satisfaction and I am happy that you enjoyed room and view. I am sorry that our TV channels did not included TBS station. If you decide to stay with us again we will be happy to provide you with a list of sports bar in the neighborhood where you could enjoy a game and good dining.
We will be looking forward to your future stay with us!

Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,630
    1,492
    246
    66
    30
See reviews for
1,258
1,599
236
516
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (886)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel was great! Great location too with it being pretty much right around the Times Square area making getting around to different areas easy & convenient. Service was great. We also visited the roof top bar. That was fun - wish it would have been warmer outside so we could have really enjoyed sitting outside.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear cjp54,
I am so happy reading your comments and knowing that you had a great stay and you enjoyed your time in NYC thanks to convenient location and great service. We will be looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Big Apple!

Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed four nights here. The location was great- near Times Square, next to a subway station and plenty of 24 shops around. Rooms were decent size, comfy beds, quiet and clean. Breakfast was a good diner type breakfast. This isn't top notch luxury New York, but if you are in town to experience New York rather than spending time in the hotel, then this is all you need and fantastic value for that location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Good Day Peter S,

Thank you for your comments and your high recommendation. As you mentioned we are not a luxury property but we do aim to provide our guests with exceptional service and clean and comfortable accommodations so I am very pleased that we were able to accomplish this during your stay.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back and call you our guest once again.

Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a night so we could see The Book of Mormon at the Eugene O'neill Theater (right around the corner.) The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were quite spacious for a Manhattan hotel and very clean. We really enjoyed the location and the hotel itself. We'd definitely stay here again. It was priced very competitively with other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Good Day Karen W,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests and I am glad that we were able to meet this goal. I hope you enjoyed Book of Mormon; it is one of my favorite musicals of all time. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future as there is still much for you to see and do in our area.

Best Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I will Stay here agin! Great service and attention to detail!! I stayed for three nights to celebrate my nieces birthday! I put in the comments this detail and asked for a view.. Wow! They delivered!! We had a great room with the best view!! They also set out mini cupcakes , waters, and a birthday card for her!! What!! The best location you can ask for!! 1000 shops and bars, restaurants, two blocks from the heart of Time Square! Im ready to back Now!! It was a 4 minute walk to our theater (WICKED rocks)!! So yeah , just great! :) Thank you Estela L.!!

Room Tip: They start cleaning early so if you are by the service room it gets loud with the opening and closin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Good Day Miriam O,

I am so glad to hear that we were able to provide you and your niece with such a memorable experience and a little tasty treat as well to commemorate to occasion. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of all of our guests by providing world class customer service so thank you for your kind words and I will be sure to share your comments with the team especially Estela.

Warm Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had planned a week there, but the weekend before our daughter got sick and doctors insisted we cancel our trip. We gave 5 days notice but no refund. No extenuating circumstances accepted! It didn't matter that we gave thematic copy of the doctors letter. They were mercy less , and intransigent.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Good Day gbully,

I am truly sorry that your daughter has taken ill and I do hope that she is now in better spirits. I am not sure what of the details of your booking but if you wish to discuss this matter further please feel free to contact the hotel directly.

Sincerest Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great location, close to Times Square but one block away so not troubled by all the noise, lights and tourists. Comfortable rooms, larger than many equivalent rooms in New York hotels, and smooth service from the front desk. My booking did not include breakfast but I had the hotel breakfast once during my 5-day stay: very good buffet through quite expensive. Instead most morning, collected a excellent bagel from Pick-a-bagel a couple of blocks north of the hotel and had that with the hotel's complimentary coffeee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear stephen h,
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. It is always good to know that loation of our hotel was to your like as well as a size of the room. We want to create a memorable stay for our guests and it is good to know that we reached this goal during your stay with us. We will be looking forward to your future stays.

Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
#43 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.