We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off for Special Rate
Ranked #35 of 451 hotels in New York City
Independence, Missouri
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel is nice. It's clean and the room and the bathroom were both nice sized. The refrigerator was a nice surprise. Having free internet was also very nice. It is very close to the subway and getting a taxi is also easy. I only had two problems with this hotel: 1) we had to hail our own cabs, the only time the doorman was of any assistance was when we were leaving and 2) the attached restaurant/bar was not very good. We wanted to have a drink there the first night of our stay and had real communication problems with the host. We finally just left and found a liquor store and took a bottle back to our room. I was also trying to find out if the bar served food after 9 PM because we were going to a 7 PM show the next night and wanted to get something to eat afterwards. Again, we didn't seem to be communicating and I never really got an answer. We ate elsewhere after the show. We did eat breakfast in the restaurant the next morning and the food was okay but the service was awful. My coffee was not refilled, my plate was not removed when I was done etc. My husband had to finally find our server to get a check. If they had been busy I could understand it but they weren't. The staff for the rest of the hotel was always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Linda E,
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and amenities provided. I would like to truly apologize that our bellmen were not there when you needed them and assure you that I will alert my team to be more attentive to our guests. I would also like to inform you that I have spoken to the restaurant management about your experience there and they want to extend sincere apology and assure you that your comments will be addressed with the staff. It’s good to know that the hotel staff was helpful and friendly - great customer service is what we strive for here at the hotel and I am happy that we were able to reach this goal during your stay.
I hope to get a chance to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,526
    1,416
    217
    58
    29
See reviews for
1124
1435
218
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nortampton
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Nice, pleasant, clean hotel. Room was a decent size, good sized fridge was very useful, there is a microwave and coffee maker. Staff were friendly, but not in your face. There was a complimentary coffee service in the lobby each day, which was easy to grab a quick cup on the way out.

The location is ideal, few minute walk through to Time Square, lots of theatres very close by. Well worth heading down to 46 St, Restaurant Alley, where there is a huge variety of food choices. There is a restaurant next door, although we didn't use it as the reviews on here put us off a bit, but there are so many places to go close by, the lack of an in-house breakfast facility wasn't an issue. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk up to Central Park.

We really enjoyed our 5 night stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear johnru,
Thank you for sharing your experience from your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square. It’s a great pleasure reading your comments and knowing that you enjoyed the hotel and staff made a good impression on you. I am happy that you found the location being convenient to your needs and that you have found few good places to eat in the neighborhood.
I hope that in the future we will get a chance to welcome you back!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had a wonderful time, the hotel was great , clean spacious ,staff very helpful and seemed to be happy in there work. We were just a block away from Times Square its self so well within walking distance. Loved it thank you Hilton.


,

Room Tip: We were in 1414 and1416 great rooms but the air con outside room was a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear altens,
It was our pleasure to make your stay a memorable one. I can assure that our entire team takes a great pride in what they do to provide an excellent guest service. I am happy that our hard work created an exceptional experience for you and I hope that we will get a chance to welcome you back real soon.
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We stopped over in New York for 3 days on our way to Vegas and were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room - there were 3 of us and the room was big enough for all 3 with our huge suitcases (not a given in New York). Great location - not as manic as Times Square but just around the corner. The staff was super friendly . We'd definitely come back if we wanted to stay this side again

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear TK100,
Thank you so much for a wonderful review, I am so happy that our hotel did not disappoint your expectations. I have to agree that rooms in our hotel are larger than most hotel rooms in the theater district. It’s great to know that you enjoyed our location and the staff was willing to help during your stay. I hope that you had a great time in Vegas and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hilton Garden Inn is the place to stay, its one block away from time square walking distance to many locations/sites. I will return to this hotel the staff are welcoming with a smile, and always willing to assist you, the room exactly what I needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estela L, Guest Experience Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so excited that on your recent trip to the Big Apple you were able to stay at our property and thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our hotel. The team at the HGI Times Square work very hard to provide our guests with exceptional service I am glad that you were able to experience some of their warm smiles and willingness to assist.

We look forward for the opportunity to welcome you back to our property and provide you with another exceptional stay!

Warm Regards,
Estela Lopez
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. With SO many hotels in New York to choose from we are very happy with our selection. These are some of the reasons why: a) location - if you want to be near Times Square and Broadway Theaters, this hotel has an excellent location. It is also very close to all subway lines for visiting other areas. We were just a few minute walk from all Broadway shows, Ed Sullivan Theatre, Rockefeller Center, 5th Avenue shops, numerous restaurants (especially between eighth and ninth avenues) and Times Square. It is about 10 short blocks from Central Park and Columbus Circle. As per other reviews, the diner across the street is an excellent choice if you are looking for a very quick, inexpensive ($7 for bacon, eggs, hashbrowns, juice and coffee) and well prepared breakfast - however there is NO atmosphere and the servers are not very friendly. For more atmosphere check out some of the places on 49th between 8th and 9th avenue - but you will pay more. Eight avenue is noisy so we asked for a room in the back and noise was not a problem - just know that your "view" is another building! There are only 16 floors in this hotel so do not expect a room with much of a view even if you are in the front. b) The room - Queen Size beds in a double room - and the mattress was very comfortable! - most of the hotels that we were considering, including the Westin and the Sheraton only had double beds. This was a deal breaker for my husband. The room also had a decent sized bathroom (for New York) with at least a counter around the sink to put your toiletries - many bathrooms I saw only had a pedestal sink. The room also has a refrigerator which most higher end hotels do not. We made good use of this for snacks and breakfast items. c) Free Starbucks coffee in the lobby every morning. This was a very nice added touch. d) Free internet in the room - not common for New York hotels. All in all a great stay! Thanks Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Good Day LeoW154954,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square. We are committed to providing all of our guests with exceptional experiences and I am glad that we were able to fulfill that goal during your time with us. I am pleased to know that not only did you find the room comfortable but you also were able to utilize the amenities offered. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to NYC.

Warmest Regards,
Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel was clean, spacious, and nicely decorated. The hotel staff was friendly and went above and beyond to meet our needs. Charles that worked at the hotel made this trip a special one. He was friendly and informative and brought a special touch to the hotel. The location was great and parking was a breeze. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Good Day Carol H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I am so glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. I will be sure to share your comments with the team, especially Charles. We strive to ensure that each guest has a memorable experience and it is always rewarding to know when we hit the mark.

We look forward to welcoming you upon your next visit to NYC!!!!

Warmest Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#28 Business Hotel in New York City
#32 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.