We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Hotel, Fine Price, Outstanding Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Times Square to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 457 Hotels in New York City
2 reviews
“Fine Hotel, Fine Price, Outstanding Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I led a group of 29 students on a three day tour of NYC and we stayed at this Hilton property. Don't let the lack luster lobby get you down, this hotel is very, very, good.

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the manager took the time to greet me and thank us for choosing the hotel during our stay in New York.

The location was outstanding. Close to the theaters, and close to Times Square and close to the subway.

For breakfast, walk across and over to Donna Bells Bake Shop located at 301 W. 49th St. and ask for the ham and egg sandwich served on the most delectable biscuit you have ever had...

I would bring my family of four back to this property in a "New York minute".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,625
    1,485
    241
    65
    30
See reviews for
1,256
1,595
233
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (880)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This really is a great hotel. Two families for 5 nights, first time in New York, could not have been better. Great staff, rooms clean and well maintained and the location is perfect, within walking distance of lots of the "must see" sights. Added bonus was the luggage storage on our last day which meant we could make the most of our late flight. Would definitely go back and recommend to anyone looking for a nice, comfortable base for a stay in New York.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

What a great hotel, great location and great staff! Everyone went out of our way to make the stay special and that of the German foreign exchange student traveling with us. They had a NY gift and bag of snack in the room with a card welcoming her to NY. Jules at the bell stand was amazing! What a great person!! Very accommodating and patient with new to New Yorkers, The rooms were very nice, clean and spacious for NY. We had everything we needed and in a very convenient location. Thanks for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room, street side for great people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and had a great time. They were very accommodating for our early check in. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to so many great places nearby. It is very easy to get in and out of the city from this location if you are nervous about driving in the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

we spent six nights at this hotel. Everyone from the front desk,management,door man,were extremely helpful.Charles our door man always made us feel at home.Would stay here again and again and again Rooms were clean and good size for New York. Great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Friendly staff, fantastic location. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly. Slow service at breakfast on Sunday morning but that was ok since it was a buffet. Had tickets to see The Book of Mormon and we were literally right around the corner. Plus there was a great store right across the street to buy prepared foods, groceries and snacks. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

It was a first trip to New York for both of us, and the location of your hotel was such a huge asset. To say the location was great is an understatement !! The crown jewel to it all was your staff, and their professionalism and extreme helpfullness. While all the staff were great, there were two individuals that were standouts to us. We want to say a Big "TEXAS" Thank you to Joanna and Charles ! We give the staff and the facility both a big thumbs up, and would recommend your motel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estela L, Guest Experience Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Jill A,

Centrally located in New York City’s Theater District and just a block away from Times Square; location is a great asset to our property. I am glad that you were able to take full advantage of it when touring our great city!

“The Crown Jewel to it all was your staff”, what beautiful words about our team. We are beyond excited that we were able to welcome you with exceptional hospitality and Charles along with Joanna were able to standout during your trip.

We hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Estela Lopez
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
Estela.Lopez@hilton.com /www.timessquare.stayhgi.com
We Speak Success. ®
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
#38 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.