We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 449 hotels in New York City
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Service here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Spent 5 nights here in room 724.The room was clean and very comfortable with great room service, nothing too much trouble.Bellboy service was polite and unobtrusive with Charles and others very attentive to our needs.View of street life from our room was really fun. hotel is well placed to reach Times Square,Central Park and other major attractions and shops on foot. 9/11 memorial is easily reached from blue line subway across the street.Nearby are many good restaurants and pubs. I would recommend the Olympic diner across the street for a good look at everyday street life in this part of the city, Murphys Saloon nearby and Mickey Spillanes on 9th Avenue are great bars.Overall enjoyed the trip very much and would certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing 8th Avenue give a good view of street life and are not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,506
    1,388
    216
    57
    29
See reviews for
1109
1421
217
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (745)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I'm in NYC 7 to 8 times a year and always stay at the HGI at Times Square - The beds are comfortable - the location is great - and the staff is AWESOME - in fact it's the main reason I return to HGI. Domingo, Jules, Donald, Charles, et al are friendly and extremely helpful as are all the employees. The front desk people are great as are the managers - truly a first class staff! Also - Floyd the security man is great. I recommend and have recommended this hotel to everyone I know who travels to NYC. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for the west side or (street side) if you want to get cell reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

All in all a great option in NYC. The location is great, walking distance to Times Square, the theaters, Bryant Park, Central Park, etc. The hotel has undergone a recent renovation of the lobby and rooms. I believe most of the renovation has been completed. My room was very nice, clean and comfortable. The street noise was somewhat mitigated - even on the 9th floor - but check the top of the windows...there was a space at the top of both windows that was lettin in noise and damp air. I didn't realize it until day 3 and had to simply push both windows up at the top to shut completely. The amenities were lean..as expected...and limited room service (and no breakfast). Nice that the room had a fridge and a microwave. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel...was marginal. To sum, clean, updated room, friendly staff, and great location. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: The higher the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just stayed for a long weekend. The hotel is right in the centre of the theatre district 2 blocks from Time Square. The price is well worth it. Compared to the others in the area, this was at least $75 cheaper per night. Parking was very reasonable, $32/night. The hotel was clean and rooms were basic but not too small. Staff was very helpful. Basically, if you are going to NYC for a weekend getaway, the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a fantastic time at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square. Location is great - everything we needed. Excellent service, friendly and always on top of everything! The rooms are newly renovated, just wonderful! Not our first time there and for sure not our last time... Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Hilton Garden Inn in Times Square. It was conveniently located to everything we needed.
The staff was A+. Courteous, friendly, informative, genuinely happy and always ready to assist us with our every need.
Parking was just outside the hotel and for $30 a day it was well worth it.
The rooms were very clean, the beds were very comfortable and the amenities were plentiful including the large TV which was great for our late night movie!
The only drawback we had was that we were four adults and the room had the two queen size beds, which were more than adequate, but only one luggage rack and one chair. There was no "sitting" room of any kind. So if you plan on having four adults in a room I would suggest a suite of some kind.
Pigalle restaurant attached to the hotel was okay for breakfast. We did not have dinner there. The staff there was not nearly as courteous and happy with their jobs as the hotel staff. Food was okay. Way too many other choices in town that would be far better.

Room Tip: Four adults - would recommend more than just a room with two queen size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn renovations are awesome - my room is high quality at an excellent price for NYC - location cannot be beat and Alfredo and Carlton have been exceptional - really excellent service. I will be back here very soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in New York City
#27 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.