We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on near Times Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Times Square to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location on near Times Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

2 blocks from Times Square. As others report, this hotel is clean and neat. Bedding comfortable and linens are crisp. Room size is comparable if not slightly larger than most NYC guest rooms. Free WiFi. Hotel price is comensurate with anything else in the Times Square area. Great little restaurant across the street has much more to offer than the Pigalle restaurant attached to the hotel. Complimentary Starbucks coffee in the lobby - but if you wan the real thing - look to your left or right out the front door. There's two barista's locate 2 minutes from the front door in either direction. USed this hotel for a large tour group. Motorcoaches found parking elsewhere but within a $5 cab ride for the drivers. Radio City, Rock Center, and all of Midtown within easy walk. Near subway. Entrance on 8th Ave is between 47th and 48th streets.

Room Tip: All rooms have typical NY views. Typical NY noise. Fire stations in every direction. It's New...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,630
    1,493
    247
    66
    30
See reviews for
1,258
1,599
237
517
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (888)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great location for midtown, 5 mins from Times Square and 10 mins walk from central park, 15 min walk from Penn Station. Hotel was clean and staff were friendly, check in and out was very quick and hassle free. Room on second floor was clean and a reasonable size, there was a coffee machine in the bedroom but no kettle so making a cup of tea was an art! The only real issue with the hotel was the very noisy heating/ aircon unit in the bedroom and the nois from the subway ( I assume it runs under or very close to the hotel), not an issue for us as we were tired out after all the sight seeing! But may be an issue for light sleepers.

Room Tip: Rooms Higher up the hotel maybe quieter, give the attached restaurant a miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

If your coming for a short stay to see NYC this is a good hotel,, 1 or 2 blocks and you're in times square. 10 mins walk to central park 15 mins to empire state building. Friendly staff, free Wi-Fi (using right now to write the review). I just think its a tiny bit over priced, but it's New York,, I'd recomend it for all.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We chose to stay at the Hilton Garden inn figuring the brand reputation would ensure we had a comfortable stay while in New York for a weekend away. There were a lot of things that were fine: staff was pleasant, overall cleanliness was good and the location was very central. Our biggest issue was the comfort of the beds. We had a king size and it was like sleeping on a park bench. We'd wake up with the sides of our body numb from the discomfort. The sheets were also bizarrely over starched - they were rough and 'hard' and noisy! Very strange. The purpose of our trip was to have a nice, kids free weekend, so getting to sleep in and enjoy that aspect of our trip wasn't fulfilled unfortunately. If you can sleep anywhere, this hotel is probably fine for you. If you value comfort in a bed, I would think again. I don't think we'll be staying here the next time we're in NYC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our family chose this hotel because it had queen beds -travelling with two teenagers- and a convenient location. Excellent staff provided help with subway, restaurants, museums, and made us feel very welcome. Comfy beds, clean rooms, much quieter than expected being so close to Times Square. We took advantage of fresh tea and coffee in the mornings and complementary cookies in the afternoon. We live in a small town of 15 000 in Western Canada and felt the people of New York City, and especially the hotel staff, were very friendly and helpful everywhere we went. Hope to come back a 2nd time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Kentucky, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Excellent hotel to stay at when visiting NYC. My group of 38 had easy and safe access to the action on Times Square. Very sweet surprise in my room when the hotel had cupcakes and a nice card for my birthday. Comfortable beds and a hot shower every time. All employees were friendly and welcoming to all in my party. Big shout out to Charles and all his help while my group was there. Highly recommended hotel during a visit to the Big Apple.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great location: next to Ambassador theater and Times Square
Rooms: are clean, tiny but very comfortable
Staff: super friendly and very helpful

Overall: enjoyed my stay very much! thank you Hilton Garden Inn

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
#43 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.