We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 449 hotels in New York City
Woodinville, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for the 2nd time while at an annual trade show in NYC and can't be more pleased with location, cleanliness and service -- for NYC. Free wi-fi's a plus. We look forward to the mini-fridge to store our Carmine's leftovers, sodas and yogurts, fruits for breakfast, etc. in although we usually go downstairs to the restaurant next door for breakfast. We had booked through hotels.com and got our dates mixed up since we were going from Sea to NY to FL to NY to Vegas on business and we had 2 reservations. They were kind enough to combine them and make our keys active for the whole stay instead of having us check out and then check in the same day, like another hotel made us do on this same trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,503
    1,387
    216
    57
    29
See reviews for
1106
1421
217
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here in December, a week before Christmas on an award stay. We have stayed at other Hilton properties in New York before but this one was the best. It is the ideal hotel location, a short walk to Times Square, lots of good restaurants in the area and a very efficient staff. They have a great bar where we ate a couple of appetizers and a couple of drinks before we went to a show. Food and beverages were outstanding and extremely reasonable for NYC. I've read other comments about the noise, we were on the fifth floor overlooking 8th avenue and really didn't notice it. You are in one of the busiest cities in the world. We had the buffet breakfast the next day which was good, food was well prepared, but I was looking forward to an authetic New York bagel with breakfast, but that is a minor complaint. We had a late train back to DC and our luggage was well handled. The concierge is very knowledgeable and friendly. I had two favorite hotels in NYC before but I think I have now found a new favorite. We will definitely be back

Room Tip: Rooms are new york sized which means they are a little on the smallish side but everything is well l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is very convenient for New York being walking distance from Broadway and Central Park. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful, and the attached restaurant for breakfast is excellent. However my supposedly preium room on the eighth floor was small dark and pokey, with two king beds filling most of the floor space.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for one on the upper floors as they are not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estela L, Guest Experience Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear DavidL,

The Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is located near many of New York City’s famous landmarks; I am happy you found the location convenient to your sight-seeing needs. The breakfast at Pigalle has great variation and excellent for your taste buds.

I do apologize you did not find your guest room to be comfortable in relation to size. The Double Queen Deluxe room does have two double queen beds and are on a higher floor. I am glad you found our team to be hospitality; we love our guest’s to enjoy their stay and consider them family when they are here.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Estela Lopez | Guest Experience Manager

Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

790 Eighth Avenue

New York, NY 10019

Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291

Estela.Lopez@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I could not have been happier with this hotel. It is not super luxurious by any means, but New York is not the place you go to and spend all your time in your room.. I have traveled all over the world and stayed at top notch hotels, where the service was not half as good as this Hilton. The staff is excellent, friendly, and were always willing to help. The rooms are average size, but extremely clean, and the location can't be beat. . I highly recommend this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing 8th avenue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very average and below average for other Hilton Garden Inns that I have stayed in. Was supposed to be placed in "deluxe" room on upper floor. Ended up on 7th floor and room seemed dark and very used. Almost fell over backwards leaning back in modern style desk chair (I'm not really heavy ... its just was very worn). Very noisy looking out onto 8th Avenue ... the taxi cab horns aren't the hotels fault, but the sound insultation isnt that great. Bathroom quite small, but clean.

Bell staff was very helpful. Front desk staff just OK. Called hotel direct the day before arrival and ... as I forgot when I placed the reservation to add our corporate acount number ... was told that the hotel was fully booked and therefore they could not add the number. Never had that happen before.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMaldonado, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear RichmondR,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square. The best advice comes from our guests!

I was disappointed to know that your stay was just ok. We strive to deliver exceptional service and we can certainly do better. I will be sure to share your comments with the team and discuss ways to make a bigger impact. In regards to the rooms, we are currently undergoing renovation and I am confident you will love our new rooms, corridors and lobby.

Please give us an opportunity to turn things around. If you ever come back to the "Big Apple", our entire team will be waiting to welcome you and show you our HGI personality!

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Laura Maldonado
Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
p: 212-581-7000
laura.maldonado@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Hills, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had so much fun in NYC and the room was fantastic! Both Joanne and Margarret did an excellent job accommodating my wife and I. They were kind, curtious and I wish all hotels had accommodations and employees of this this high caliber!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for one night (unfortunately).
The location is just outstanding! We have been so many times in NYC already and to stay so close to Time Square is just priceless.
Check in and check out is smooth and very efficient. When we arrived all front desk agents were busy, so the front desk manager came out and helped us.
We asked for a lower floor and we stayed in a room facing 8th Ave, but it was very quiet, and you couldn't hear any noise from the street.
The room had a very, very comfortable king size bed, safe, fridge, free wi-fi and most important, the room was very clean.
Breakfast is served at a restaurant which is attached to the hotel and it was awesome! No need to get out of the hotel for breakfast as there is a doorway from the hotel straight to the restaurant.
We had a great weather, so we managed to walked to Port Authority bus terminal for our Jersey Gardens outlet trip. It's six blocks away (going Downtown) on 8th Ave.
We would be happy to stay in this great hotel on our next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in New York City
#27 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.