We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff and location can't be beat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off for Special Rate
Ranked #44 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Staff and location can't be beat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we were treated as honored guest. The staff kept checking with us to see if everything was all right and made several accomidations to keep us happy. This hotel is close to all the action in midtown (Broadway and shopping) and there is a subway station across the street that can quickly take you uptown or downtown. I won't consider staying anywhere else in the city.

Room Tip: You can hear the subway from the lower floors but it's not awfull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,492
    1,396
    217
    60
    30
See reviews for
1183
1509
224
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Thank you to you and the entire Hilton Garden Inn team, we had a great stay and will certainly try to stay again when visiting NYC. Larry was very helpful as well at the concierge desk, he did a great job handling a couple of requests that we had during our stay. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were in New York for the 2012 Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade and stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn on the recommendation from a firend. It was wonderful! The room was very comfortable, the staff were very friendly and the location was exceptional. We went to Rockerfeller Center, the Empire State building, attended several shows, took a sight seeing ride the water taxi in addition to having Macy's bleacher seating for the parade. The location of the Hotel enabled us to walk to all of our destinations and stop back by in the afternoon each day to freshen up. We will definately stay at the Hilton Garden Inn during our next New York Adventure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I loved the location of this hotel, just off the very beaten path of Times Square. It felt like a quick walk or train ride to just about anywhere we wanted to go in the city. Rooms were clean and sufficiently roomy considering it is NYC. The staff was attentive and helpful. Overall, just an great experience, the staff seemed like they genuinely cared - which is rare in my travel experiences. The only thing that kept me from rating it excellent was the rate I had to pay. We went between Thanksgiving and Christmas so I'm sure the time of the year had to do with the rate increase. IMO, if you can snag this hotel in the $350/night ballpark, then it is a no brainer. I wasn't that lucky.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Booked room for one trip to NYC to see Jimmy V Classic at Madison Square Garden and Christmas Show at Radio City Music Hall. Weather was great so we took a stroll down nearby Broadway and walked one mile to MSG. Radio City Music Hall was only 3 blocks from the hotel and Rockerfeller Center one additional block. Room was small in comparison to most Hilton Garden Inns, but clean,and had a great view onto 8th Avenue. Staff was friendly & efficient on check-in and check-out. Bell man arranged a private car to LGA on departure for $45. I highly recommend this. I used 40,000 Hilton Honors points for my stay , so I am not sure what the rate would have ben for the night.

Room Tip: The higher floors are also better in NYC due to the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We are Hilton Honors Members and just for this reason. This hotel was fantastic experience. From the moment we entered we were so very pleased. From check in to entering the room everything went smoothly. Our room on the 15th floor was spectacular and the views where wonderful. The staff was always friendly and seemed to care about our experiences. We loved the restaurant and the breakfast buffet was so tasty. The location was perfect. You are only blocks away from everything...broadway, time square, central park, Radio City Music Hall, and so much more. If you want to go up or more down Manhattan then the subway is right there also. We loved our stay and would recommend it to anyone that want a beautiful, spacious, friendly hotel with so many amenities. Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Was in NYC for shows and the lights of Christmas, this hotel has it all great staff, location and room comfort. The points or breakfast should be a no brainier, choose breakfast! It was great. Location to subway, Times Square, stores letterman and others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Business Hotel in New York City
#32 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.