We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off for Special Rate
Ranked #36 of 451 hotels in New York City
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice location, nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square. It's in a nice location just blocks from Times Square and Broadway. It is surrounded by restaurants and lots to do. The rooms are standard hotel size -- larger than many NYC properties -- with all the amenities you expect from a Hilton. The employees were friendly and helpful. We will effeminately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,394
    1,323
    207
    54
    29
See reviews for
1126
1436
218
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've stayed at this Hilton Garden Inn location often for business travel, and recently decided to stay for a personal trip as well. The location is great because it is easy to walk to Broadway shows and great restaurants, and it is a good central point for time spent in the midtown area of the city. The front desk staff and the bellmen consistently greet me with smiles and offer their help with anything I might need. The standard room is a comfortable size for 2 people, and the beds are comfortable. Free wi-fi is a draw for me to stay here as well. All in all, a great quality hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were at the hotel from 11/10-11/13 and had a wonderful experience. The staff was very helpful and eager to please. The room was very clean and faced the river, which was an added bonus. Easy access to Time Square, theaters, subway and Rockefeller Center. We were given a choice of Hilton Honor points or complimentary breakfast. We chose the complimentary breakfast. The restaurant was connected to the hotel which made it very convenient and breakfast was very good. Lots of selections including a hot breakfast bar. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: As for rooms on floors 14 or 15 facing West, you get a view of the river from these floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Although I thought the hotel was a little pricey, I also thought that the staff was as friendly as any that i have ever encountered. Everyone from the front desk to the bellmen were very helpful and friendly. Location is very good, with an easy walk to the theatres, Times Square, and Radio City Music Hall, etc. Plenty of restaurant choices close by as well, although the restaurnat in (beside) the hotel was way overpriced. Found the rooms to be a bit small, but very quiet. Overall, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here from 11/8 to 11/13 and had a great experience. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff were helpful. The cost (for NY) was reasonable. We had a fridge and microwave. A huge Food Emporium is a block away. We walked to Broadway shows (Book of Morman and The Heiress) and Times Square. The restaurant in the hotel is a fabulous French restaurant. We had breakfasts andcother meals there. We have stayed in many hotels. This was one of the best experiences we have ever had!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger. We were in 831 with a view of 48th Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just returned from a family holiday in NYC and stayed here for 6 nights. Chose this hotel based purely on TripAdvisor reviews and must say we were not disappointed.
After a long flight and scary taxi ride we were welcomed by the friendly Carlton on reception who made the check in process a pleasure. My wife had requested a room over 8th Ave and had mentioned it was my birthday during the stay. We were allocated a room on the 9th floor (908) and we found a birthday card and cakes had been left. The room was big enough for the four of us, was very clean and the microwave, coffee machine and fridge were a bonus. Bathroom was spotless and always had plenty of hot water.
Hotel offers free wifi in rooms, free business facilities including printing and free Starbucks coffee on a morning. little touches, but they go a long way to making the stay a pleasure.
Through out the stay the staff went out of their way to make the stay enjoyable. We fancied pizza when we arrived and asked one of the doormen if Johns pizzaria was any good. He said it was, and also gave us a card for 15% off.
There was always help on hand for any questions etc in the lobby, the best advice was provided byJoanna. When asked what time we should arrange a taxi for the trip to JFK she convinced us to take the subway and airtrain giving us detailed advice where and how. The journey was a breeze, much cheaper than a taxi and saved us from a scary ride through rush hour at the hands of a suicidal taxi driver.
The Trip Advisor reviews and ratings are spot on and deserved. Thanks for adding to a great holiday.

Room Tip: High floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights mid week. Nice clean property, rooms are good sized for NY, by that I mean not huge but not small either. Room had a desk, sitting chair with lamp, microwave and frig, nice sized TV. We had 2 people in a King room and were happy. Had breakfast coupons for the buffet at the attached restaurant and was satisfied - eggs, bacon, pancakes, breads, etc. Service was a bit slow there but overall no complaints.

I'm am Hilton Diamond member and received an email prior to arrival asking about our preferences or requests. I said this was our wedding anniversary and got a free bottle of champagne in the room! Don't know if they do that for everyone but a very nice touch. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: it's NYC so get a high room to minimize the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#27 Business Hotel in New York City
#32 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;