We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Times Square to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Bourton-on-the-Water, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ideal Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was our first visit to New York and we could not have been better situated to walk to the main locations in Central Manhatton. Just a block away from Times Square, and very close to all the theatres. The hotel is clean and modern, the rooms spacious and well equiped. One of the best hotel beds we have ever slept in. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is an excellent restaurant (The Pigalle) right next door.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,625
    1,485
    241
    65
    30
See reviews for
1,256
1,595
233
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (880)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southeast
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Right around the corner from all the theaters, near great shopping, next to a charming French cafe and across from a classic NYC diner, helpful staff and spacious rooms. In a really nice NYC neighborhood where people actually say hello and hold doors open. What more could you ask for? I'll be back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We loved this hotel. Location is excellent. Subway stations are very close, and it takes only a couple of minutes to walk to the Times Square. There are multiple very good restaurants close to the hotel. Our room was very nice. We loved having a free wifi. The parking garage is right next to the hotel, and everything worked very well. Driving in Manhattan is quite an experience, and it takes some patience to drive through the tunnels. We suggest taking the Lincoln tunnel. We loved the experience and we'd love to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estela L, Guest Experience Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Terot

Driving in New York City is an adventure on its own and we are glad you made it safely. The parking garage next door is a great option for those guests’s who are taking road trips into our great city.

I hope that you were able to try some of New York City’s unique and amazing restaurants just blocks from our property. New York City is so diverse that you are able to find different ethnic cuisines all within block proximity.

The complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel is a great amenity; especially in our current technological days; I am happy to know you found it beneficial.

I am glad that our team was able to create a memorable experience for you and you are thinking of returning. Please be sure to reach out to me so I make sure you have another grand time.

Warm Regards,

Estela Lopez
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was in NYC for the first time and chose this hotel based on its location. We were not disappointed. It was an easy walk to all of the theaters, Central Park, shopping, and tons of restaurants. The hotel itself was clean and modern. The staff was very friendly and willing to answer questions. Most importantly to me, the hotel was very quiet inside. The restaurant attached to the hotel also offered a decent brunch on the weekends at a moderate price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I loved this hotel from the moment I stepped in, the lobby was really clean and the reception staff were very nice! This hotel is all you need for a great stay in new york city, Duane Reade is just across the road and time square was just a 5 minute walk away. The wifi was great, incredibly fast/ free and easy to connect to. There was also a great food emporium a quick 3 minute walk away which was very convenient!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

For the price we paid, and the experience received, this hotel was excellent. We were in NYC during Superstorm Sandy, but if you didn't leave the hotel you would never have known! The hotel was well run, very clean and generally pleasant to stay in.

Great location for tourists. Very close to a number of subway stations and you can walk to a lot of key places. Heaps of theatres around, if that's your thing. As getting around was difficult when we were there, we ate predominately at restaurants we could walk to, and using Yelp we found some real gems nearby.

We had a King room, which was large by NYC standards. Good, comfy bed too. We were on the 14th floor, but you could open the window, which I loved in terms of getting fresh air in. Windows were double glazed also, so the traffic noise wasn't an issue (as it cain be in NY)!

Would definitely recommend and return.

Room Tip: As you're in NY, the higher floors are better to combat street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I picked this hotel for my first NYC trip. I had so many things planned and coming from a warm place (sun 365 days a year) I wanted to be central, but also get a good deal for my money.
The rooms are just what you need. Not too big, not too small. Even though the room I was in the bed was completely worn through on the right side and caused back problems. I ended up sleeping diagonal in the bed. I was in room 1120, management should put a bed board under the mattress or at least check that room.
Rooms come with a fridge, a microwave and a coffee maker which gets replenished on a daily basis.
I had brought some tea with me to drink at night to keep warm, but did not need so as the room was comfortable warm enough and the hot steamy shower kicked out the cold of walking around the city all day.
Security measures are taken as they ask you to show a room key when you come in from outside to prevent strangers from walking through hallways.
Upon check in I was offered either breakfast for two or 750 extra Hilton Honors points. As it was just me travelling, I asked if I could get breakfast for one person and half of the points. The very nice Front Desk Agent told me he'll give me both, which he did.
Very nice. Staff is very friendly and working in a hotel myself, I do pay attention to people's attitude.
Breakfast buffet is all you need to get started for a busy day. The waiters are sometimes overwhelmed and seem a bit annoyed.
I was surprised to see employees walk around non-Hilton-Standard like with earrings working in F&B; but it didn't put a damper on my trip.
One bad thing about the restaurant: too many tables: I'd rather wait another 15- 20 minutes than be stuck behind a table on a long bench from where I cannot move.
I had to push tables together to get out from behind the table to go to the buffet. Not a problem when the tables next to you are empty. A bigger problem but later during the course of my breakfast as the tables next to me where occupied. I was stuck on the couch. Couldn't move. Terrible. We had to move three different tables for me to get out. That was the only bad thing, hence just a very good and not excellent.
For my future NYC trip, I would definitely choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: - bring earplugs. The noise of the city (for any non-city sleeper) will keep you up at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMaldonado, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Jules S,

Thank you so much for taking time to leave feedback on your recent stay. I am very happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay and we were able to meet your expectations. I would like to truly apologize for the inconvenience with the bed and assure you that our housekeeping will take action to fix the problem. I am sorry to hear that you weren’t fully satisfied with your experience in the restaurant. Since Pigalle is not affiliated with our hotel I will bring your concerns and suggestions to their management’s attention.

We strive to deliver exceptional service and make sure that our guests are fully satisfied with their stay, so if you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me.

I hope that we will get a chance to welcome you back to our property in the future.

With kind regards,

Laura Maldonado
Director of Guest Experience
212-581-7000
laura.maldonado@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
#38 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.