We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Times Square to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Bel Air, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Recently stayed two nights on Hilton Points. Received messages from the hotel staff ahead of time, asking about my needs and expectations. My requests were satisfied, no problems. Hotel staff were very accommodating. Everything worked in the room. Not total luxury, but very satisfactory, clean, and reasonable size for Manhattan. Hotel is in great location; short walk to Times Square, theatres, a zillion restaurants, subway, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,630
    1,489
    242
    65
    30
See reviews for
1,258
1,596
235
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (883)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Excellent location ... theater, restaurants, shopping, etc. just outside the hotel lobby. Great hotel amenities, including restaurant/bar, snack shop, and gym. Clean rooms and top-notch service. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

All staff was helpfull and very kind. Ms. Lopes contacted me before the arrival and had a gift bag for us in our room. She is one of a kind and made our stay a memorable one. Next to the hotel is a restaurant and the hotel breakfast is served there. They have an excellent selection on the buffet.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The hotel location is perfect and you can acces the metro stations or buses very easy.

I recommend this hotel and praise the personnel that work there.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great location - near Times Square and most of the Broadway venues. Rooms on the smallish side, but we did get upgraded to an upper floor. Very clean, good beds, nice HDTV, and the staff were very courteous and friendly. Within walking distance of Rockefeller Center; we also walked to the Intrepid Museum where the space shuttle is housed, but it's quite a ways for those not used to walking.

TIP: There's a Food Emporium half a block away where we bought muffins and fruit and juice for our breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My boyfriend took me away to New York for a romantic weekend and it was fantastic!
The hotel was great, the staff extremely friendly and it just made for a great weekend.
Now we know where we will stay next time we are in the Big Apple!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Absolutely superb from the moment we walked in the door. We made a quick trip to NYC for our anniversary to see a Broadway show, and chose this hotel for multiple reasons - a recommendation from a friend, the location, and the outstanding deal (40K HHonors points).

We drove in - there is a valet parking garage right next door that is $30 per 24hrs ($45 without hotel validation). It's run separately from the hotel, so the desk won't call your car down for you, so upon our departure there was a slight wait.

I'd put a note on the reservation that this was our anniversary, and we were just overwhelmed by how the hotel staff responded. We were greeted by a doorman as soon as we walked in, and the front desk clerk was extremely friendly, efficient and helpful, wishing us a happy anniversary and making sure we didn't need any extra assistance. A HHonors associate welcomed us again as we walked to the elevator, and a bellman offered help with luggage. The hotel upgraded our room to a corner room on the 14th floor, and when we arrived in the room, we found a gift bag with a card, two champagne flutes, and a bottle of champagne! Now remember, we hadn't paid anything for this room except Hhonors points and parking.

The room itself was nice and on the large side for NYC. Not brand-spanking-new, but perfectly clean and in great shape. The bathroom was spotless. The view out the large windows was typical for the area - we could see a glimpse of the Hudson, but mostly the city. Street noise was apparent but not loud. Lower floors might be louder, but they may have more soundproofing down there as well. It's part of the city.

The previous month, our friends had asked the concierge for a recommendation for an Italian restaurant for a romantic pre-show dinner. That recommendation - La Masseria - was a knockout. It's right around the corner on 48th, and is some of the best authentic Italian we've had outside of Italy (their wine list is equally superb). From the hotel or the restaurant, the Broadway theaters are a 5 minute walk, so 6pm reservations worked great - we left just in time to walk up to will call as the doors opened at 7:30. No waiting in line for the box office, and we were given our tickets and shuttled inside within 30 seconds of walking up to the Majestic!

After the show, we walked Times Square for a while before returning to the hotel. Again, we were greeted cheerfully, and this time, a doorman was stationed at the elevators to check room keys for some level of security.

Our late checkout request (1pm) was granted without difficulty the next morning, allowing us a stroll through the streets (after picking up our complimentary Starbucks coffee in the lobby) to find a bagel maker and do some window shopping before heading out of the city. The housekeeping staff was very pleasant and each one we passed greeted us. Checkout was painless - our bill for $0 was slipped under the door early in the morning, so I called the desk, dropped our keys in the slot on the way out, and walked to the garage. Several staff members greeted us on our way out and asked us to return.

To top it off, the "Customer Experience" manager contacted us a few days later to make sure everything was OK with our stay. We'll definitely be back!

I can't rate the fitness center - we normally use them but this was a quick trip - or the restaurant, as we obviously ate elsewhere. If I was to change anything in the hotel, it would be to work out coordination between the desk and the parking garage, but that really wasn't a big deal at all.

This is my first review on tripadvisor - the over-the-top hospitality and courtesy we experienced drove me to join and comment.

Room Tip: Higher floors always are better in the city - every hotel in NYC is near a fire station, and sirens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We arrived early in the day and our room was ready! Microwave and fridge in room was a nice addition. It's a great location within a block of 3 subway entrances. Nice size room for NYC. There also was a bar across the street called "Social" that had $5 cosmos and $3 beer during happy hour which was until 10:00 pm

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in New York City
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#38 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.