We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure why this rates so well” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Times Square to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% this summer!
Ranked #90 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not sure why this rates so well”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We chose this hotel because of all the great reviews it has been given, but honestly I can’t understand why. After checking in we were immediately accosted by a staff member in the lobby trying to sell us timeshare. We hadn’t even been to our room yet! That was a very unpleasant way to start. Upon arrival at our room we were presented with a bottle of champagne and wished a happy anniversary, which was a bit odd as we were there to get married. They also spelt our name wrong on the card. But we thought the champagne was a nice touch so we said nothing. However, they put us in a room that was right next to the elevator shafts, with a view of a brick wall. This was pretty disappointing. They knew we were there for a special occasion, but we were given the least romantic room (the sound of elevators all night isn’t exactly pleasant). Further to this, I dropped a pen under the bed and was horrified when I looked under there to get it. Old peanuts, wrappers, loads of dust, etc – it obviously hadn’t been vacuumed in quite some time. During our stay the on-demand movies stopped working, which happens. But when I rang to enquire about it I was told by a frustrated staff member that “it’s broken, I have no idea when it’ll be fixed” before they hung up on me. On our wedding day, my wife left dressed in her wedding gown and was stopped by several guests to congratulate her, but not a word was said by any members of staff. Upon returning together we were again stopped by several people in the street and hotel lobby to congratulate us, but not a word by the hotel staff. I realise they don’t have to say anything, but it just didn’t make us feel very welcome. At checkout I mentioned that our stay was pretty average and the reply was simply “we hope you’ll stay with us again soon” as though they weren’t even listening. If I can say anything good about this place it’s that the location is pretty good and the Pigalle restaurant adjoining was really nice. Other than that, we stayed at the Novotel on 52nd the year before with Time Square views and really nice, attentive staff and we wished we’d stayed there this time instead. It’s a shame this was our wedding hotel as we’d liked to have had fonder memories of it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMaldonado, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear THG74,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your overall experience during your recent visit to the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square. I want to first take a moment to congratulate you both on your marriage and wish you lots of happiness!

I want to personally apologize for your experience with us. I noticed after reading your review that we did not exceed your expectation and you left very disappointed. Our goal is 100% satisfaction. I do believe that given the opportunity we can make things right by you. Would you give us a chance?

Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience. I am excited to be able to assist you and show you our true passion for service.

With warm regards,

Laura Maldonado
Director of Guest Experience
212-581-7000
laura.maldonado@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,887
    1,693
    296
    77
    48
See reviews for
1,424
1,770
265
586
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,019)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Its clean, as close as it can get to times square. Sleak and good fashioned. Breakfast was good. Got control for mattress to control firmness. Descent toiletries. Range of Free and premium content on TV. Concierge was quiet helpful.

Room Tip: Facing main road i.e 8th Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

It's such a awesome experience to stay in this hotel. The minute we arrive I already felt the warm welcome of the staff at the front desk. Thanks to stephanie, she is such a sweet and very professional person. The room was clean and very homey, it's like the feeling of coming home from work and relaxing after a tiring day. And thanks to Noel (PBX services)for working an extra mile to make sure we are in total satisfaction while staying in this hotel. Some hotels in Beverly Hills that I know does not do this kind of gesture that's why I truly admire staying in the Hilton Family and this one is my favorite.This Hotel will be highly recommended to my friends and family in BH California. Again, thank you.Pedro 424 278 1807

wonderful hospitality!!!!, Pedro C. (424) 278-1807

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Can't say enough good things about this hotel! Location is great, rooms are great and staff is great. Have been to NYC 3 times previously and this is the best place we have stayed by far. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berskhire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

walking distance from times square and 5th ave. book of mormon musical is around the corner!! there is a supermarket next door which was very convenient. room was a bit small for 3 girls who came to new york for shopping, but the room came with two double bed, instead of a double and pull up bed which most other hotels were offering. beds were comfy, shower was nice but the rest of the room was quite basic. free starbucks coffee in the morning was a bonus though. we had a few problems with the phone in the room. my friends relatives could not ring into our room so the hotel told her to ring them. when they tried to charge her for the calls we had to explain the problem... manager didn't charge us for the calls and gave us free breakfast in the restaurant next door the day we left. dont bother paying for the breakfast.. its not nice! taxi to the airport was $51 and $20ish to downtown/finance district/piers. really recommend the liberty helicopter tours!! if you are planning on going to woodbury commons the coach tours depart just 2 mins from the hotel. would definitely recommend this hotel if you get a good price. times square is very busy though but if you are coming to new york for musicals and shopping this place is perfect. can't wait to visit NYC again! enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, IN
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Enjoyed the location and cleanliness of this hotel. Nice people too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
181 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

HGI is located within walkongndistance of Times Square and Broadway theaters. Within a block is a firehouse with a memorial in front recognizing members lost in the 9/11 attack. the subway is close..as evidenced. by the intermottant rumbling sounds heard throughout the hotel. The hotel has very comfortable beds,pillows, and updated decor. Thenstaff was knowledgable and efficient. The only negative was street noise can be heard as well as subway trains. But, NY is Mew York and city noises are part of the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.