We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for business trips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Times Square to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel for business trips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

While I wouldn't call it a luxury hotel, it's definitely very nice. Comfy beds, spacious rooms, nice clean bathrooms with granite countertops. The rooms are always clean (I stay here once a month). The view varies from terrible to great, depending on the floor you're on and the side of the building you're on. I wish they'd use better lighting in the rooms, but this is a minor detail. The only drawback I've experienced is that you can hear the subway go by every few minutes if you're on the 6th floor or lower. I haven't heard it when staying on higher floors. I got used to that pretty quickly though, and it wasn't a bother. This is definitely one of my favorite hotels in New york. The staff is very friendly as well, and the restaurant Pigalle is very nice also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,625
    1,485
    241
    65
    30
See reviews for
1,256
1,595
233
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (880)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the night at the end of April. The people at the front desk were super nice and very friendly. The room was beautiful and clean and the bed was amazing. We had a king sized and it was so comfortable. I had no trouble sleeping. We were on the 14th floor and heard no noise what so ever. The microwave and fridge were an added bonus. Would stay here again and again and again! I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone going to NYC.

We will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The hotel staff went above and beyond to ensure we were cared for. This location is perfect - close to subway stations, close to theaters, and to Times Square. Our room was immaculate and the bed was comfortable. Wireless internet service worked well. Nice to have a little fridge and microwave in the room.
Recommend asking to stay in a room with a view of the park (Firefighter's Memorial Park); it is quiet and pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the park; it is quiet and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

It was fantastic.

When we go to NYC again, we will certainly stay there. It is great that there is a fridge and a microwave in the room, room was clean, location outstanding, housekeeping second to none. We have gone to four shows in three days and after each event, coming to our room was like coming home. Pigalle was also great. The breakfast coupons came in very handy, the wide selection at the breakfast buffet kept us going all day.

Keep up the good work. I can’t think of anything that can be improved.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, IL
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed three nights here on HHonors points and had a wonderful stay. My 92 year old Mom was with me. It was easy to go to the theater and to the Hop On Hop Off bus. Mom was able to walk the short distances to these places. The staff was very accommodating, always checking to see that we were taken care of. We ate breakfast in the restaurant each day since full breakfast buffet is complimentary to their diamond members.

Room was very nice and very clean. We were facing 8th Avenue so a little noisy at times, but not too bad. Could hear the subway, but it was similar to an airplane noise so did not keep us awake.

Would stay here again due to the wonderful staff and the great location.

Room Tip: Away from 8th Avenue would be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My daughter stayed in this hotel for 13 nights. We left on 18th May. The hotel is in a great location. Close by are all the theatres and Time Square. We had a convenience store next door and every type of eatery you could want.

We checked in late about 7 Sat night. Room was on the 6th floor at the back of the building. Quiet but rather bleak outlook out the window. The hotel is basically quiet but you can occasionally hear noise from adjacent rooms. Unfortunately we had some really noisy guys who woke us up at 3 in the morning. Have to say I was not impressed. I rang security and they came pretty quickly and told them to keep quiet. Thank you guys.

The next day we requested a room change to a higher floor and on the front of the building. There was a lot more street noise but we quickly got used to that and it was great to have more sunlight in the room.

The beds and pillows are super comfy. The rooms, although a little tired, they were clean and well kept. The staff were friendly and helpful. Free wireless was a bonus and a easily accessible business centre made printing a breeze. The room had two double beds. Not big but big enough considering its New York.

Very happy with our choice and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

This hotel is within easy access to many NYC highlights - the theatre district, the Museum of Natural History, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Museum of Crafts, Central Park, Trump Towers, etc., AND rooms are spacious, clean and quiet - even when you're facing the street, the staff is helpful and friendly and to top it off, prices are reasonable. I had a great stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
#38 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.