We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"This is the Place for us"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Times Square to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% this summer!
Ranked #86 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Almond
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"This is the Place for us"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My family of 5, including 3 boys ages 11,12,13 had a marvelous experience at the Hilton Garden Inn T.S. We had two rooms both of which had comfortable beds---we are thinking of buying a queen 'suite dreams' bed for home now! The service was superb-great help when checking in, getting bags upstairs, etc. Always willing to answer questions with patience. We are especially pleased with the service from housekeeping and Indira. We left a phone charger there, but didn't realize it until a few days later. I phoned, they checked and it was in lost and found. Indira worked hard to make sure it was ours and they shipped it free of charge to us. Traveling with a family of five is exhilarating, but exasperating when trying to find lodging--H.G.T.S. is the place for us!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,874
    1,691
    295
    75
    47
See reviews for
1,416
1,764
265
586
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,014)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was my 2nd time at the Hilton Garden Inn. I stayed there last year for 2 nights with my daughter to see a Broadway show and had a great time. Unfortunately, this time was okay. We selected the Deluxe Double room and requested an early check-in as well as a room on a higher floor. Arrived in NYC at 11:00 am and immediately had a room even though the lobby was filled with guests waiting for a room. Unfortunately, we were given a room on the 6th floor, which was the same floor we stayed at last year in the "standard room". As an FYI, the street noise, subway noise, fire station noise, can be heard 24-7 (loud and clear) if you have a room on the lower floors. When I asked if they had any rooms available on a higher floor, I was told "no", even though 2 guests ahead of us were placed in rooms on the 11th and 14th floors. Since I had 2 tired teenagers in tow, I didn't have the energy to argue. The room was clean but the bathroom had mold on the walls in the shower and wallpaper peeling from the walls. We stayed there for 2 nights and wanted to add a 3rd night since we were having such a great time in NYC, but I just couldn't do it. We checked out and stayed for 1 night at another hotel on Times Square. All in all, the location for this hotel cannot be beat but I think twice was enough for me.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole_Cermele, Guest Experience Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Dear calidreamer067,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for our service falling below your expectations. I can assure you that we do our very best to make sure that each and every one of our guests are extremely satisfied with their stays. I am happy to know that we were able to check you into a room upon your arrival to our hotel. I know how exhausting traveling can be and it is always nice to be able to settle in once you arrive. I do apologize that the room was not to your liking. The sixth floor of our hotel is the starting floor for deluxe rooms so it may be possible that you recieved a complimentary upgrade during your first stay with us. I will bring the issue of the bathroom walls to the attention of my housekeeping and engineering staff so that any issues may be resolved. I do hope that you are willing to stay with us again. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that I can personally ensure that your 3rd time is the charm!

Warm Regards,

Nicole Cermele
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Our trip was for my granddaughter's 21stt birthday. We had requested an early check in as we had matinee tickets for a Broadway play. I called the hotel because we were running late due to transportation. When we arrived, Stanley was waiting for us and stated that he had talked with me on the phone and he had everything ready. Stanley checked us in immediately and made sure our room was just what we wanted. The hotel is walking distance to all sites. Our room was very clean and a great view of NYC. Our weekend stay was lovely and I would recommend calling the hotel directly for any special needs. We were provided with maps, tour books, etc. We thank Stanley for helping make our trip so very special.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole_Cermele, Guest Experience Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Dear lazyday_11,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square. Your opinion is important to us.

It’s great to know you enjoyed our hotel and its wonderful location. We are indeed just a number of steps from some of the greatest sights New York has to offer.

I am pleased to hear that Stanley helped make your stay perfect! Our staff is constantly working to exceed our guest’s expectiations.

We very much look forward to having you again. If you have any questions or requests pertaining to your next visit please feel free to directly contact me.

Warm Regards,
Jared Miners
Guest Experience Manager
(212) 581-7000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The hotel is very close to the Times Square and all the main attractions. Easy to walk to the shops, theatres and the Central Park. Room: basic but clean, the bathroom was a little bit small. Service: Very good. Food: the restaurant next door has nice food in reasonable prices.Free wi fi in the room. Overall is good value for money.

Room Tip: rooms at low floor suffer from noice from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

The perfect hotel in NYC. My wife and I spent a weekend in NYC and we could not have asked for a better location and hotel overall. Room was spacious and extremely comfortable.
Easy access to the subway, Penn Station, Times Square, Broadway, Central Park, The Met, Rockefeller Center, food, fun and shopping. Excellent customer service and experience throughout! We even had a security guard help us with directions and suggestions on what to see and do.
When we return to NYC, we will definitely stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole_Cermele, Guest Experience Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Dear HeidiKaneshiro,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square. Every bit of feedback is greatly valued.

I am so glad to know our hotel exceeded your overall expectations! Our entire staff goes above and beyond each day to do so.

As for our location, it really can’t be beat. Like you mentioned, we are conveniently located within steps of public transportation, and within walking distance of some of the greatest attractions this city has to offer!

We very much look forward to your return. If you have any questions or comments pertaining to your next stay please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.

Warm Regards,
Jared Miners
Guest Experience Manager
(212) 581-7000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinderhook, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I was contacted by the hotel a week before arrival with a survey. I indicated it was our anniversary. When we arrived we were presented with a bottle of champagne for the special occasion. The staff could not have been more attentive.
The breakfast is first class all the way. They also offer dinner and the hotel is very close to all the theaters. Great place, great people!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I've stayed at many hotels throughout the us for business and pleasure. The staff at the Hilton garden was very accommodating. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.