We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opera Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Jefferson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Jefferson Hotel to your Saves list
Washington Jefferson Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   318 West 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
*Long Term Commitment*
Ranked #254 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Ithaca
1 review
“Opera Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

A convenient walk to Lincoln Center and Restaurants. Excellent service at the Hotel, friendly, helpful staff. I highly recommend this hotel for its location in the hub of the theater district and closeness to Lincoln Center. Easy to get to from the George Washington Bridge. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    434
    182
    74
    47
See reviews for
109
362
135
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cresskill
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great location. The room is basic. Bathroom is very good with a whirlpool bath. I love that I can open the windows for fresh air. Ordering ice was fairly quick but I would have preferred self service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I was so impressed with this hotel. The staff were so welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The decor is beautiful. Cleanliness is superb. LOVED that they offer a free luggage check both before your checkin time and after you check out!!! I definitely didn't want to be toting my bags all over the city during the day. They gave me a free upgrade to a room with a king bed and jacuzzi bathtub when I checked in. No idea why, but it was awesome. Normally I would never soak in a hotel tub but this tub was sparkling clean. The toiletries smell really nice, lavender and peppermint. And the location cannot be better. It is one block from the subway and two blocks from Broadway. I was able to easily walk to the shows I went to, didn't need to worry about trying to get a cab after. Easy walking distance to Times Square, too. I recommend everything about this hotel and will always stay here from now on when coming to the city. It could not be better. I booked through Priceline.com which linked to booking.com and my room was only about $125 a night before taxes. Don't know if summer prices will increase a lot, but I was expecting to pay a LOT more for a nice hotel in New York. Super pleased with the whole experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed for 3 weeks in WJ. It was first time in NYC and was looking for hotels near Times Square which was near to my work location and in the range of $120 - $150. I stumbled upon WJ and booked for a week stay going by trip advisor ratings. In couple of days I made up my mind to continue here all 3 weeks. Overall stay was good, hotel staff is very humble and helpful 24X7. Rooms are adequately small, standard rooms are better (specifically *34 series, I stayed in 634 for 2 weeks). Location is another advantage. Very close to subway C&E. Some more at couple of block distance. Timesquare is 2-3 blocks. All dining places on 9th street just a block away. Within a mile you can reach almost 40-50% of locations to visit in Manhattan.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bountiful, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I loved this place. The Plaza or Waldorf it wasn't but then I didn't have to pay $1000's for my stay either. It was just a clean comfortable room with a hot shower in the morning before my days adventures and a nice place to lay my head at night. Walking distance to everything Broadway and close to subway stations for adventures uptown or downtown. All at an extremely reasonable "Manhattan" price. Thanks to WJ Hotel staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great last-minute price and location could not be better! We booked because our flight was moved and the staff was understanding and very helpful. We will definitely be back to this hotel the next time we're in NYC

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was my third trip to NYC and my second to WJH. We came deliberately for the Super Bowl weekend and were not disappointed. The hotel was just as I remembered it to be and both my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Jefferson Hotel

Address: 318 West 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#152 Business Hotel in New York City
#228 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Jefferson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone has a New York story. What will be yours?The Washington Jefferson Hotel beckons with comfortable, unpretentious accommodations, a warm staff and an exceptional, customer-oriented experience. Stay in one of our 135 rooms and suites equipped with complimentary wireless Internet access, Frette linens and towels, iPod docking stations, a daily copy of The New York Times, luxury bathroom amenities and flat-screen HDTVs.Discover an NYC boutique hotel that is both pleasantly tucked away and yet right in the middle of the action. The WJ is one of the most conveniently located hotels near Times Square, just steps from the best of Broadway shows and musicals, as well as Restaurant Row, Central Park, Rockefeller Center and various other attractions. Whether you are here to make big business deals or gaze upon the city’s legendary sights, the WJ Hotel is here to help write your ideal New York story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Washington Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Jefferson
Washington Jefferson Hotel New York
Washington Jefferson New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Jefferson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.