We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ameritania Hotel to your Saves list
Ameritania Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 459 Hotels in New York City
llandudno north wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Location and Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the Ameritania for 5 nights 8-13th January. It was our first trip to New York and the location was brilliant. It is minutes walk away from Time Square and from Central Park. The room was clean and comfortable but the best thing about this hotel are the staff!
They really could not have been nicer to us. When we arrived at the jfk airport, we found that our cases had never left Heathrow!! Whilst this had nothing to do with the hotel, when they saw that we had nothing to check in, they immediately offered us free wifi for the whole of our stay so that we could track our luggage! They also offered us a complimentary breakfast on the first morning, and when we asked if the had an adaptor so that we could charge our laptop (our was in our case) they gave us a complimentary one. When we were leaving they even printed up our boarding passes for our flights. It was both my husband's and my birthday whilst we were there and they spotted the birthday cards in the room and gave us a bottle of wine and chocolates. The Ameritania gave us the best level of service we have ever received in a hotel, I really can't rate it highly enough.
Sue and Brent Humberstone North Wales UK

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    858
    197
    49
    27
See reviews for
517
818
87
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

In NY for business and stayed at Ameritania for 3 nights. Great little hotel in excellent location around the corner from the Late Show studio and just a few blocks south of Central Park (also close to Time Square). Very comfortable rooms and nice public areas. Room heater wasn't working properly and room was quite hot for stay (also quite noisy) - they tried to fix it, but better warm than cold I guess. Other than that, excellent property.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Ameritania hotel is next to the tonight show theater. There is easy walking access to everything you'll need:Boardway shows, Time Square, Star Dust Diner, and the fresh wonderful food from the deli around the corner. The Hotel was clean, lobby was kept warm with heat and compfy furniture. The door man, Jeff, was awesome.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed in May 2014 for 3 nights whilst seeing the sightrs and bright lights of New York. On arrival there was no welcome, a frosty receptionist with minimal info about the hotel. The room was TINY with one small window in the room. No space to move around the room, it seemed to be filled by a bed and a TV! a damp smell enveloped us, plus not the most comfortable sleep I have had. No Room service or Meals provided. This Hotel is lacking warmth and TLC!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Em23
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a lovely stay at the Ameritania and it was the perfect location for us as tourists. Spacious rooms with great showers and really friendly staff - special thanks to Jeff who looked after us brilliantly on our last day.
Tea & coffee making facilities would have made the stay perfect - but maybe that's because i'm English :)

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear emma_s23,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I hope that you had a great stay with us and I will surely pass on your suggestion about having tea/coffee in the guest rooms for the future. Looking forward to welcome you back soon for another stay!

Best Regards,

Judson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have been here twice now and both times have had good experiences! The staff are generally perfect, the concierge in particular. The hotel rooms are clean, and have everything you want, the mini fridge is a little overstocked but I did manage to get my own bottle of water in it. The Curtains are heavy duty to block out the extra sounds of the city.

They closed the food hall, breakfast wasn't great on my first visit, plain and simple go to a deli!!!! there's one on the corner of the block!

This is really such a good location. The price has been cheaper then most hotels we can generally find around here, for the same rating. You are not a far walk from metro stations, hells kitchen (food), and easy walking distance from Times square.

Don't book up too many rooms, I will be back!

Room Tip: when you get there ask for a room in a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear antonthegreat,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I am delighted to know that you had a great stay and hope you enjoyed the central location. Looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,

Judson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The only thing I didn't like was the fact that there was no coffee/coffee maker, refrigerator to keep your beverages cold and most importantly there was no microwave.

You have to pay $12.00 for a continental breakfast which is way overrated. Cold boiled eggs and a few mini pastries. I thought continental meant FREE.

The concierge, especially Jeff was very nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to submit a review on TripAdvisor! We value your feedback (both good and bad) as it allows us to recognize the achievements of our incredibly hard-working staff, as well as highlight the areas where we have opportunity to improve.

I sincerely hope that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of all that New York City has to offer!

As a small token of our appreciation, visit our website and enter promotion code "thankyou" to receive a repeat guest discount off of your next booking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ameritania.

Best Wishes,

Judson Trapnell
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
#121 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameritania Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.