We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ameritania Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My friend and I stayed here one night while we were in town to see Jersey Boys. The hotel was very nice and the room was bigger than expected for NYC. The location was great for us. We walked to Times Square [my first time :)] then took a cab to Momofuku in the East Village [highly recommend]. After our show we walked a couple of blocks to a bar called Lincoln Park. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    692
    161
    41
    21
See reviews for
419
650
64
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is fantastic, a few minutes from Times square. The rooms are big enought and the beds are queen or king size. NYC hotels are expensive but this one is a deal for the price!!. Nice stuff. I will come back for sure :).

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Super hotel, very friendly staff (especially the door man Jeff). Close to all the best in New York, Close to time Square, Central Park, shopping. Very good rooms and breakfast. Will warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caussade
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The concierge Mourab gives very good advices and his very helpfull. He speaks french so it's a must when we are not sure of our understanding.
Javier (barman) very kind.
A lot of noice in rooms due to A/C

Room Tip: Higher floors have A/C unit noise (very embarrassing)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear 125marie82,

Thank you for your very kind review! We are happy that you chose the Ameritania as your "home away from home" here in New York. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Judson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room was spacious with good views of Broadway. The room was extremely clean and the bathroom was beautiful. The shower was amazing. Arrived at noon on Saturday and the room was available for checkin. Small hotel with great service.

Room Tip: Use the nearby Icon parking garage on 54 st REMEMBER to print coupon in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear grandecpa,

Thank you for your very kind review! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed our beautiful rooms.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly, or call the hotel for your next booking. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Judson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had 5 nights at the Ameritania and we're not disappointed, helpfull and pleasant staff, fantastic room and great location. Only let down was breakfast, not due to content but having to use paper plates/dishes/plastic knifes and forks. For $13.99 would have expected proper plates/cutlery.

Would definitely stay here again if revisit New York.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Jackie M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the hospitality of our wonderful staff! I apologize if our breakfast service wasn't to your liking. We use plastic dishes and cutlery as it is much more cost efficient for us as we do not operate a full-scale restaurant. By keeping the cost of breakfast down, we are able to keep the price for our guests down to a reasonable $11.95.

I do hope you will come back and stay with us in the near future. Please feel free to reach out to me personally to arrange your next booking. jtrapnell@ameritanianyc.com

Best Regards,

Judson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere warm!
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Being former New Yorkers, we were prepared for major disappointment on a weekend trip back to the city. Manhattan hotels are notoriously tiny and old at any price point, and I wasn't expecting too much from a that I got through Priceline that was 3 star-rated hotel on their site. At the Priceline price, we were pleasantly surprised. This is not to say that this hotel was perfect--out of our 3 night stay, housekeeping only serviced our room once (and not because we asked them to stay away). The window is tiny and contributed to our room being very dark. The bathroom had some dingy corners, and outlets were awkwardly placed so that our phones had to be placed on the floor for charging. Also, though there was a thermostat on the wall, it didn't seem to control anything and we relied on an old window unit during a heat wave.

However, the location is great for getting around the city--you are a few blocks from pretty much any subway line, and a short walk to most touristy sites. We were kindly upgraded to a deluxe room so we had a decent amount of space for Manhattan. I also do appreciate the fact that the interiors have obviously been redone and are tastefully modern. And event though we faced Broadway, we didn't have problems with street noise, likely due to both a black out shade and curtain (and the window unit).

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear travelbug199,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor! We delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Judson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Family Hotel in New York City
#94 Business Hotel in New York City
#129 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameritania Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.