We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised! Great Find!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ameritania Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 452 hotels in New York City
New Orleans
1 review
“Pleasantly Surprised! Great Find!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We used a third party to book this hotel and were pleaslantly surprised. The hotel is very chic, clean, and modern. Fantastic location!!!! The room and beds were fantastic. We had one issue with our room and it was taken care of without any hassle. The staff was attentive and helpful. Three people stood out during our visit, Crystal, Mourad, and Paul, the Manager. Thank you for making our girls weekend exceptional. We will be back.

The bar was just what we needed. Wish it was open a little earlier but the prices, happy hour special, and choices were excellent. We were able to book a car, limousine in fact, at an extremely reasonable price. This is a great hotel option in NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to Broadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Lewli69, You were very sweet to say those kind words about our staff. We couldn't agree more. It was nice to hear that your son felt comfortable as well. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
With the best.
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    821
    668
    157
    40
    21
See reviews for
408
625
62
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location, turn right and you get to Times Square. Turn left and you arrive in Central Park. Hotel is very clean, room is not ultra large and bed is quite small but all very comfortable. Very good free wifi in the room. To top it off Mario at the reception provided exceptional service.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear esc881: Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It means a lot to us and we will share your positive feedback with our staff. Again, may we wish you safe travels !! Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

we have just returned to Denmark after a nice week i NY, which included 3 nights at Ameritania. It was a very pleasant stay with great service from Sharon and Crystal at the frontdesk among others - actually all the staff made a very good impression! The hotel is very near to Times Square, Central Park and other great places. It's a really nice hotel with very good value for money!! :-)

Mr. & Mrs.Wiborg from Denmark

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear wiborg2013,

It is so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was our first time to New York and it was amazing! Our hotel was nice from an ascetic standpoint, but what made this hotel worth it was the staff! They were all incredibly kind and helpful especially Mourad. He went above and beyond to make sure we had a great experience in New York. If you want to stay close to Time Square and are looking for a hotel with a GREAT staff, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: For a great view be sure to request the side facing Broadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear JustenQ,

We are so glad to know that your experience with us was outstanding! Thank you so much for your kind comments. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here 6 nights for a vacation trip to NYC. The hotel and rooms were nicely decorated with a modern style. Our room was not large but it was comfortable and all the space we needed. The hotel was very clean. The sheets and towels were always clean and smelled good! The hotel maid service everyday was exceptional. The front desk staff was so kind and always helpful. They printed out ticket reservations for us and gave us recommendations on great places to eat. The front door man Mourad went above and beyond with his level of cusotmer service. He was very helpful and went the extra mile to ensure our stay was excellent. Would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room if you are wanting more space. The rooms vary in size. Also our room was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear, Crys6408,

We are so glad to know that your experience with us was outstanding! Thank you so much for your kind comments. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I spent one night here in this hotel. The rooms were very nice and modern (including a rain shower head). Wasn't crazy about the half glass shower door that doesn't move - the floor got pretty wet. The beds were doubles not queens and were not very comfortable - they look more comfortable than they are. No support I woke up feeling very achy and not refreshed. Usually the rooms in NYC are sound proof. Not the case here. I heard all of the goings on into the night. The location is right outside of Times Square (around the corner from the David Letterman studio) - which explains the priceyness of the hotel. All in all I probably wouldn't stay here again for the money I paid for the one night. The bar in the lobby is very small and does not carry domestic beers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear mrar1072,
Thank you for your candid feedback. We are sorry that the hotel didn't meet your expectations. We would have been happy to move you and your family to a different room while you were here if we would have known how upset you were. Please let us know the next time you travel t as we would like to ensure that you have a better time than you did on your first visit.

Regard
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Myself and sister booked a trip to new York for 5 nights and I choose this hotel to stay in. It was a excellent stay with all the things that we would need from a hotel room. Firstly as a girl a decent hairdryer, huge mirror and great shower.
It even had a ipod dock station and free unlimited wifi, which was perfect for us as we liked to keep in touch with our partners.
Further as it was my sisters birthday we had a huge cupcake waiting from crumbs bakery ( which is one to try) and they also upgraded us to a bigger bed which was fab.
The staff were fab and really went out of their way to help.
The location is good and right on times square and the subway is nearby too.
You have to try evergreens for breakfast and dallas bbq on 8th avenue for food it was amazing.
Further definitely go see a comedy show it was hilarious and we even went to Madison square gardens and watched a live boxing match which was a really good experience.
I am normally one of those people that finds at least one thing wrong with the hotel but I can't find a single thing to complain about and I would stay here again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Leedskizza: Thank you for the five-star rating!! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and you were happy with our Front Desk staff. Look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
#89 Family Hotel in New York City
#125 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameritania Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.