We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ameritania Hotel to your Saves list
Ameritania Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 464 Hotels in New York City
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good city hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We got a discounted rate and it was well worth it. Decent size rooms and bathrooms. No city or building noise, but we were in the back, this was worth it. Friendly. Great location. Will go back. Rooms were comfortable.

Room Tip: Keep to the back, nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear,CLEAG
Thank you for sharing this review with potential guests of Ameritania Hotel., I am pleased to know that our staff was helpful throughout your stay and helped to make it a memorable guest experience. I certainly look forward to welcoming you back sooner rather than later!

Warm regards,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    970
    225
    58
    32
See reviews for
572
954
109
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Brilliant hotel. Me and my daughter got a free upgrade as soon as we got there which was a lovely surprise. Nothing bad to say . Only problem was the beds were just too comfortable. So good we almost didn't want to get out of them :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear, Evai01
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. You are very kind and your review made us all feel as though we accomplished what our mission is - to exceed guest’s expectations. Thank you for mentioning the service that our staff provided. Once again, it was great meeting you and we look forward to seeing you again when you return to NYC!

Kind regards
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a great boutique hotel in a great location, close to a multitude of restaurants, theater district, etc.! I was pleasantly surprised, since I never heard of it prior to visit. I must say, I was very skeptical & they exceeded my expectations. From the moment I walked through the glass doors & walked into the contemporary & spacious reception area, I was impressed! We were welcomed with a smile from the door man to reception. Our room was ready upon check-in & were escorted to our room right away. There was a wonderful looking bar & restaurant. The room & bathroom were small, what do you expect, it is NY! The room was clean & comfortable. I stayed her with my husband & 9 year old twins. I would highly recommend this hotel & I would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear, Lisa C
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service to be helpful, We pride ourselves in being able to provide the best service that, not only meets, but exceeds our guests’ expectations, so thank you once again. We hope that you will not stay away too long and return to visit us soon!

Kindly,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Cheap, clean, elegant, central, amzing view, quiet, charming. This is how we can describe this hotel. We booked a room from February 21st to February 26th and we think we made the best choice ever! It is really close to MoMs, Times Square, 5th ave, Central Park and Rockfeller Center! If we will come back in Ny we will staybat Ameritania Hotel for sure!!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear, Karim R
Thank you for letting us know about your stay! Our associates are very passionate about providing our guests with the best experiences while on property, so the positive feedback is always appreciated - I will share it with our team. Looking forward to seeing you in the fall.

Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was my first stay at Ameritania and I stayed 2 nights. The staff are incredibly nice and very helpful. I know NYC well so I didn't need the tourist information, but they went the extra mile to make sure my stay was comfortable. The rooms are clean, comfortable and a great value for NYC. The hotel is weak in amenities so if you are expecting a lot of extras you may be disappointed. The TV is local cable without the ability to rent movies or games. The gym is small and the room service menu is very limited. And yes they do charge for Wifi per day. However, if you are looking for a nice and affordable place to stay while you are seeing the sights of NYC, this is definitely the place to stay. I will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear, Kady G
Thank you for sharing this review with potential guests of Ameritania Hotel., I am pleased to know that our staff was helpful throughout your stay and helped to make it a memorable guest experience. I certainly look forward to welcoming you back sooner rather than later!

Warm regards,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the Ameritania with a group of 3 other girls for 4 day vacation and this hotel was a perfect pick. The location was unbeatable. With Broadway around the corner it was an easy walk to the middle of Times Square, Rockefeller Centre, etc. And Central Park was just several blocks away in the other direction. The subway line we wanted to get us to SoHo and other areas was just also just a block away.
The room and hotel itself was definitely more than expected. Past reviews said rooms were small, but we found our room with two double beds to be spacious enough for the four of us and all of our luggage. The bathroom was very clean and had a great shower, the beds were very comfy, and housekeeping was very efficient. The lobby, bar, and rooms were stylishly decorated and unlike any "standard" hotel I have stayed in. The staff were very kind and helpful, and when our room key wouldn't work when we first arrived maintenance immediately came to fix the door. On our last day (after checking out), we were able to put our luggage aside as we did last minute shopping. Staff member Jeff offered to arrange a car for us to take us to the airport (for a cheaper flat rate than a cab would have offered us). Jeff definitely worked his magic for us because we ended up taking a limo to the airport!
Kudos to Jeff and this hotel. It was affordable and enjoyable, and I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Madelyn P,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay with us. You’re comments are so flattering and very much appreciated by our entire team.
I do hope that you will stay with us again the next time you visit New York City and we thank you for your recommendations to others. Please feel free to contact us directly for assistance with any future reservations.

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently stayed at the Ameritania because we were going to see Jersey Boys ( lots of fun) and even though we live about an hour outside of NYC we made a weekend of it. Checking in ( and checking out) was a breeze, very nice front desk who informed me that the price of the room on Saturday was actually less than what was quoted when I originally booked so I would be paying less, nice of them to point that out and not charge me more, this alone will get them my undying loyalty. :-) We got a double room on the 4th floor facing Broadway, it can be a bit noisy ( there is construction across the street but that's not their fault and hopefully it will done soon) so if you are a light sleeper ask for an interior room. The room was cozy and clean. We had a drink at the bar, the bartender Javier was very friendly and nice and the drinks are strong, they run various specials and on Friday night it was buy two drink for the price of one and it can't be beat. Everyone was helpful and friendly and said hello anytime you came in or out. Highly recommend the place. We ate at the Afghan Kebob House one night and then the Iguana the next night both good.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper try to get a higher room and an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear RosannaCarl,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with fellow travelers. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our customer service and I thank you for mentioning how great our location is. We look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Best regards,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in New York City
#98 Business Hotel in New York City
#114 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameritania Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.