We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ameritania Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ameritania Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 446 hotels in New York City
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Real surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great hotel, we have stayed in 2 other Manhatten hotels and was expecting another small pokey room, we certainly did not get that.

Brilliant large spacious room with 2 of the most comfortable beds have slept in in a hotel. well furnished and finished, good shower and bathroom with full range of the usual toiletries.

The lighting switches take a lil bit of getting used to and the air con was a bit noisy at times but this was not a problem as the weather was cool enough not to need to be used.

Although its listed as 54th st and Broadway and this may seem a walk downtown to Times Square this made for a lot less stress and hassle as could bypass the nightmare and maze that can be Times Square / 42nd St Station, we used 50th St which took us downtown to where we needed

Will definetly stay here again and would recommened to anyone wanting a central Manhatten Hotel without the crowds of Times Square

Room Tip: A higher up room just so that can avoid the usual New York traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Woof72
Thank you so much for your excellent feedback. We pride ourselves in providing exceptional service and I am thrilled to hear we met your expectations. We would be happy to show you the variety of rooms we offer for your next trip. Our location makes the Ameritania an ideal place for anyone visiting New York and hope you return soon. Please feel free to contact us upon your next visit to ensure another excellent experience.

Sincerely
Ameritania Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    703
    555
    119
    30
    20
See reviews for
321
523
50
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Right in the corner of Broadway and 54th! Wooooow what a location! Minutes walk to most theaters and attractions. Hotel sparkling clean and great staff. We got what we paid for . Small but functional rooms. Very chic upgrade has been done in the bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear, Zo P
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us while visiting New York City. I am happy to know that you had a great experience and that you were able to enjoy the convenience of our location. We really are in the heart of midtown Manhattan and have easy access to Broadway, Central Park and main subway stations.
am sorry if the size of your room was not to your liking. We would be happy to show you the variety of rooms we offer for your next trip, with the hopes that you will find something more to your liking. We would love to welcome you back
Best regards
Ameritania Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass Lake, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Coming from the world of "Minnesota Nice", we were welcomed at the Ameritania by the nicest hotel staff I ever encountered in NYC! The folks at the desk were friendly, helpful, and so accomodating. Jeff, at the door, welcomed us like we were old friends and arranged our ride to JFK-cheap as a taxi and convenient, in a nice car! The rooms are clean and attractive, with comfy bedding. The location is fabulous, just steps away from Times Square, theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center and David Lettermen. Try a pizza at Angelos just around the corner. We'll go back-

Room Tip: Ask for a room on other side of construction, if work is going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Vick156633,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. Our entire team has read your review and greatly appreciates your kind feedback concerning their service skills. I look forward to welcoming you back next time to show you once again how much we value you as a guest. Feel free to contact me directly with a reservation request. See you next time!

Most sincerely
Ameritania Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was a girls getaway weekend and I choose this hotel because of the location.
The hotel looked newly remodeled , the staff was great and wonderful location.
You can walk just about everywhere from here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear ryels9,
Thank you very much for you concise and warm feedback. Our staff works tirelessly to ensure the best possible service and I am thrilled you enjoyed your time with us. Please return. Contact us directly to ensure another excellent experience.
Kindest regards
Renaldo Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have stayed at the Ameritania Hotel in NYC twice while on business. This hotel is fantastic, the staff goes above and beyond and are so friendly. I have stayed in several hotels in the city and this one is clean, the rooms are a great size and the bathrooms are big too! This is and always will be my first choice while in NY, it is in a perfect location; minutes to time square, shopping, great food and central park. You won't be sorry for choosing the Ameritania, their team really shows interest in putting their customers needs first. I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear kelliefenton,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay with us. You’re comments are so flattering and very much appreciated by our entire team.
I do hope that you will stay with us again the next time you visit New York City and we thank you for your recommendations to others. Please feel free to contact us directly for assistance with any future reservations.

Most sincerely
Renaldo Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here with my partner for 5 nights during October for our birthdays.
We arrived late one night and were worried we wouldn't be able to check in but we shouldn't have worried.
We were originally on the 4th floor but found the room to be very noisy from the air conditioning unit outside. The room was also very small with nowhere to put our luggage and a bathroom door that kept getting jammed.
The following morning we spoke to the people in reception who without hesitation allowed us to switch rooms and we couldn't have asked for more - a bigger room, nice sized bathroom and a very comfortable bed overlooking Broadway.

The location of this hotel is perfect - close to all the top attractions. It's slightly noisy with all the traffic and local building works taking place but its to be expected -after all it is the city that never sleeps!!

Overall we had an amazing time and would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Try and get a room that overlooks Broadway not one in the centre of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Kelly W.
On behalf of the entire team at the Ameritania Hotel we thank you for taking the time to tell us about your overall experience during your visit. We truly appreciate having an opportunity to improve and become the best hotel possible. I am sorry if the size of your room was not to your liking. We would be happy to show you the variety of rooms we offer for your next trip, with the hopes that you will find something more to your liking. We would love to welcome you back and hope to turn your next review from a 4 star, to a 5 star!
Sincerely, Renaldo Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were a couple of moms going away for a girls' weekend. This is such a great little hotel, I cannot say it enough! A walker's paradise! Right smack in the middle of everything. Excellent walking distance to ALL of the major attractions, food/coffee, shops, subway, and only steps from all of the Broadway shows for easy night time entertainment. The hotel has been newly renovated and was spotless, had a fun and funky main lobby decor, and the rooms were well appointed. The beds were heavenly, perfect after a busy day of walking the city and seeing a show. We were in room 1202, with two doubles. The room was a decent size from what I understand of New York's standards, and had an okay view if you went right up to the window. The bathroom had no tub but a huge walk-in shower, which we prefer anyways. There is only a half glass wall in the shower, and the first time I used it the water went all over the floor, but if you use the handheld and tip the shower head back a little towards the wall, it solves the problem entirely. Jeff the bellman was THE BEST! Thank you Jeff for making our stay even more enjoyable! I arrived very early in the morning and they were very happy to keep my bags until our room was ready and Jeff hounded the front desk to ready the room much earlier than the 3pm check-in because I was dead on my feet. Jeff provided me with transportation on the spot back to the airport when it was time to leave a few days later, what a relief! We had a late flight at the end of our weekend, and once again, they very happily held our bags for us all day. You cannot go wrong with this little gem and I will definitely be recommending it to my friends/family and staying here again myself. Thanks to all of you at The Ameritania for making our first trip to NYC a huge success!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better I think to get away from the night long honking, but I don't thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Jennifer613,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy to read that you were especially pleased with the service from Jeff. He says a big thank you for the compliment! Our aim is to ensure that all our guests are completely satisfied with their stay. We do hope to welcome you back on your next trip to New York City.

Sincerely
Renaldo Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Also Known As:
Ameritania Hotel New York
Ameritania
Ameritania New York
Hotel Ameritania
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in New York City
#102 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameritania Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.