We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Property. Amazing Manager.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ameritania Hotel to your Saves list
Ameritania Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Property. Amazing Manager.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The property is perfectly located at 54th and 8th and is truly incredible, especially for NYC. The rooms are actually quite spacious for NYC and you immediately sense that attention was spent on decor, interior, etc. The linnens are great. The bath products are top notch. The attention to recyling and saving energy is also amazing in a non-intrusive way.

What impressed me most, though, was the manager ---- Paul Schwartz. He does his job well. He gets to know his customers. When he applogizes for a mistake his staff may make he does so sincerely and doesn't try to sugar coat it or make excuses. Instead, he does it in a way where you know he is using that as an opportunity to educate his staff so that it never happens again (even something as minor as waiting for what he deems to be too long for luggage).

In this day and age where difficult employees are hard to find, and where customer service is often ignored --- the Ameritania Hotel is a shinning example of what hotels should be doing in every regard. No hotel is perfect, but the Ameritania Hotel is damn near close.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Pollack S,
Thank you for experimenting and choosing us, we appreciate your business and further appreciate the feedback. Your level of comfort is our utmost goal and we are happy that we achieved that. Our staff is delighted to see your feedback. I agree with you that, every hotel needs a manager like Paul Schwartz. He ensure that every guest leaves with a smile, and wanting to return. It brings me great pleasure to hear that he were able to make this happen during your recent stay. If you ever need any assistance for future reservations, Please feel free to contact us directly for assistance with any future reservations
Best regards,
Renaldo Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,352
    1,095
    267
    65
    42
See reviews for
676
1,081
120
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Like past reviewer Milo, my family and I were very impressed with the level of service that the Ameritania's doorman Jeff provided.Well beyond what his job description entails. I left my camera in the car when departing NYC and Jeff tracked it down for me and returned it to me in Canada; Fedexing it to me in his own time. Imagine having a camera lost in NYC returned to you! Indeed Jeff's attention to customer service seems to be of the culture at The Ameritania in addition to the hotel's great location and exceptional rooms. My family will definitely return to The Ameritania for our next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Jenni M
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I'm delighted that your NYC getaway was an enjoyable one and that members of our staff played such an instrumental role in your stay. We pride ourselves in the standard of service and accommodations our guests have come to expect from the Ameritania Hotel. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to the Big Apple.

Best regards,
Renaldo Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have just stayed at the Ameritania in New York for five nights and would highly recommend the hotel, not just for its convenient location but for its deliciously comfortable beds and wonderful showers. The standard room we stayed in was small but had everything we needed including an ipod dock. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel but instead tried a different diner every morning, all within a block or two of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on Broadway are fun as you can watch everything that is going on on the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Fmcrobetson, Thank you so much for your excellent feedback. We pride ourselves in providing exceptional service and I am thrilled to hear we met your expectations. We would be happy to show you the variety of rooms we offer for your next trip. Our location makes the Ameritania an ideal place for anyone visiting New York and hope you return soon. Please feel free to contact us upon your next visit to ensure another excellent experience.

Sincerely,
Renaldo Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I never write a review. However, I was so taken a back by this property I have to. We manufacture furniture for hotels so we see and stay a many places. I was very impressed with the service at the front desk. They went out of there way to print and scan a document for me happily! The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location is unbeatable from Central Park and Times Square. Best value for New York City hands down!

Room Tip: Any room is awesome here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear, JTNM
Thank you for your review of the Ameritania Hotel. Fantastic reviews such as yours are the reason we strive for perfection. The staff will appreciate your compliments regarding our service and reception. I am pleased that you enjoyed your trip to New York City, and we look forward to welcoming you back to your NYC home away from home.


Sincerely,
Renaldo Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed four days in September at Ameritania Hotel in New York. This is a hotel where they really were thinking about design as it was designed. The hotel is VERY clean everywhere, which we really appreciate when we travel around. The rooms are well-appointed with beautiful furniture and flat screen, but is quite small. However, it was not a problem for the two of us. The hotel has a doorman / consierge named Jeff, for whom service is a concept that should be taken seriously. He rendered a great service from the time we arrived until we departed and there is one thing we will remember your stay at Ameritania for, it is Jeff. He is truly an asset to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear ,Milo-Sydow
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Ameritania Hotel. It is our pleasure to make sure our guests know that we will go above and beyond to meet their expectations. Your review has been acknowledged by all departments and we look forward to accommodating you during your next visit to NYC!


All the best
Renaldo Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Ameritania for 4 nights for a Girl's "weekend" and to celebrate a birthday. Upon arrival the doormen were quick in getting our bags up to our room and check in was a breeze. They even had a Birthday cupcake from Sprinkles waiting for us in the room.

Our room was perfect! The decor was amazing and we had plenty of space. The bathroom could have been a little bigger, but the huge mirror in the main portion of the room made it easy for us to both get ready at the same time. The shower was AMAZING. The beds and linens were very cozy as well.

We had only one issue with our room (the sink was leaking) and it was resolved while we were out sight seeing.

Our first night there we had drinks in the hotel lobby, they were the best martinis we had during our stay. The bar tender was very nice as well.

The people next door to us were pretty loud. We could hear them while passing their room in the hallway, however we could not hear them at all from inside our room which was nice because by the end of the day we were exhausted! The traffic noise inside our room was not bad at all and neither was the construction across the street.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone who wants to be in the middle of the action in midtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Camislander82


Thank you for your review of the Ameritania Hotel. Fantastic reviews such as yours are the reason we strive for perfection. I am pleased that you and your friend enjoyed your trip to New York City, and we look forward to welcoming you back to your NYC home away from home.


Sincerely,
Renaldo Moore :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in New York City. The hotel was beautiful, the room was as well. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly, especially Crystal at the desk. She was so pleasant and accommodating, and always had a smile on her face! The door men were great too! We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Marcla W,
Thank you kindly for your wonderful comments regarding your stay at the Ameritania Hotel. The staff will appreciate your compliments regarding our service and reception, and we will most assuredly pass your review on to them. We look forward to your next stay with us here in New York City.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#103 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#184 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,873 reviews
Midtown
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#217 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#173 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#329 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,014 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#214 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#127 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameritania Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.