We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel to your Saves list
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 455 Hotels in New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

An excellent hotel situated in Midtown Manhattan, very central for visiting 5th Avenue, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Centre and Times Square. Also very convenient for Grand Central Station, Subway and the Hop-On, Hop Off bus stop. Very clean, good size room with comfortable bed. Daily room service excellent with a lovely, extra touch of bottled water and chocolates left every day. In addition, tea/coffee making facilities available which were replenished daily, however, a fridge would have been an added bonus. Very friendly, helpful staff. Wheeltapper bar adjoining the hotel is convenient for a drink and meal. Overall, an outstanding stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Gail B,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are in an excellent location close the main sightseeing attractions and the very best shopping the city has to offer.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    418
    103
    46
    17
See reviews for
143
625
71
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watervliet, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This privately owned hotel near Grand Central, but out of the frenzy, is a GREAT spot! Rooms are reasonable, very clean, outstanding baths, and a helpful, accommodating staff. The on-site restaurant is also reasonable and convenient, with satisfying menu selections. This is a great alternative to the big chains and within easy walking to Times Square, the theater district, and other attractions. Lexington and Third Avenue buses are also steps from the front door, as are many neighborhood coffee shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Jeff B,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino, Italia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Loved the vibe of this small hotel situated in the heart of Midtown Manhattan and three minutes walk from Grand Central station. Good sized room, very clean, tea/ coffee facilities, friendly and helpful staff. The view from the third floor wasn't great as we were facing a little courtyard surrounded by a brickwall. Unfortunately wi-fi was free only in the lobby. Starbucks in the vicinity of the hotel and Pret a manger just around the corner, full of restaurants in the area .15 minutes walk from NY public Library, Bryant Park, Empire Stare Building, Fifth Av. ,Times Square. The concierge ( Sorry can't remember his name, but he' s from Pennsylvania ) was incredibly helpful. Check-in is a bit late at 3 o'clock especially if you come from a longhaul flt, they should take this aspect into consideration. All in all a positive experience, booked via Booking.com and found a good deal, even if it was around 4th July.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear 381Elena666,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights for my honeymoon in July 2013. First of most if not all European flights arrive into NY early morning time. We arrived around 1 and were shattered and just drying for a shower and a rest, I mean after 8 hours on a plane that's all you want to do. Unfortunately the rooms was not available until after 3 o'clock. The staff were not very friendly at all and just told us to go off and come back but it was 30c outside and we were in jeans and jumpers so we just sat in reflection for 3 hours.
The room was nice and clean and peaceful. I have to say I love a quiet room and i couldn't hear other guests.
The hotel is in a great location it's right across from grand central so it deserves 5 stars for location.
The bar down stairs is a rip off its around 20 dollars for a breakfast. Star bucks is across the road and they have wifi too.
There are defiantly cheaper and more modern hotels for young couples so next time I think I'll try one of them.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have just come back from New York after staying once again in Fitzpatricks Grand Central. This is a great hotel with brilliant staff- I have to give a special mention to Ciara who was so pleasant on reception and who on hearing it was my 60th birthday organised champagne and strawberries as a surprise. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear lkmd,

Congratulations on your 60th birthday and thank you for staying with us, I hope you a great time in the city.

I am very happy to read that Ciara was to make your stay enjoyable.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed here in January on our Honeymoon before our cruise, An Irish guy( Who I'm ashamed I forget his name) was brilliant.. -upgraded us to us a suite and upon coming back from shopping after our first day we came back to find champagne and strawberries in our room- such a nice touch! We were thrilled. Himself and al the staff were so lovely early greeted us by our names as we departed and entered the hotel, concierge were unreal too. Room was spotless. Hotel in general was and a lovely warm, friendly buzz to it. Pub was great too nice mix of American and Irish. Will definitely stay here again and have recommended it to all my friends! Can't say enough! Thank you Fitzpatricks!

Room Tip: Staff are so helpful so im sure you wont be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Orlaith l,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I hope you enjoyed your honeymoon and I am glad to see that we were able to upgrade you.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our Golden Wedding on 4th July.and booked into Fitzpatrick's Grand Central.From the minute we walked I we felt that the Hotel Staff were ready to make our stay memorable
Our room was large, beautifully furnished with very comfortable bed and good sized well fitted bathroom.there was tea/coffee facilities and every modern convenience .
Wifi was free in the lobby and bar area.and outside garden area.Nothing was too much trouble for any member of Staff from in House to Front desk.There was always some one available to assist you , make a call. Arrange taxi, tickets for shows, recommend restaurants.
The Hotel is convenient situated near Grand Central Station .I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear teresathebes,

Congratulations on your Golden annivervary, and thank you for staying with us.

I see you were able to enjoy our patio area and I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, congratulations and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#53 Family Hotel in New York City
#63 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#156 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central location and attentive service distinguish the Fitzpatrick Grand Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.