We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel to your Saves list
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 454 Hotels in New York City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just back from our honeymoon in NYC. The hotel was great - so central, clean, great decor, and helpful staff. Greg was so helpful. We were also treated with chocolate strawberries and a bottle of champagne. Will definitely stay here on our next visit to NYC. Emma and Leonard

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Emma M,

Congratulations on your recent wedding and I wish you all the best in the future.

Thank you for your kind comments about Gregg, I am glad to see that he was so helpful.

Once again, congratulations and thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    413
    99
    45
    17
See reviews for
139
611
70
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Nice surprise to go to a hotel that is friendly from start to finish. Great room and good service. The breakfast was just right for the weird traveller!
For location you are a stones throw from grand central!

Room Tip: You will have no problems stopping here - good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Mark H,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Fitzpatrick's Grand Central. We got engaged in NYC and the Hotel kindly gave us a complimentary upgrade to a suite on the Liam Neeson Penthouse floor, with champagne and chocolate strawberries on arrival. The staff are very helpful, friendly and always on hand to recommend a restaurant, cool bar or other entertainment off the beaten tourist track. We would highly recommend a visit and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Aisnich,

Congratulations on your engagement.

I am very to happy to see that the staff were helpful and friendly throughout your stay.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a private visit for two nights. Really liked the room, Wheeltappers pub next door very welcoming. Service and staff attitude was good, and the price was good value. And it is hard to see how one could improve the location, two minutes from Grand Central station, so really handy for all e Midtown attractions and an easy subway ride to Downtown.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Andy J,

It's great to read that you found our location to be first rate. Being so centrally located makes it much easier to get around the city.

Thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

From the minute we were ushered through the front door, to the moment we checked out, the staff of the Fitzpatrick Grand Central were fantastic. The most welcoming I have met in New York and a credit to the hotel. The rooms were average sized for New York, but the beds were brilliant, so comfy that you almost didn't want to get out of them. Great housekeeping service - very regular. We have booked up again for the festive season.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better in NYC! The hotel is quite sheltered from the main traffic though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Eileen S,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for the excellent review.

It's very heartening to read that you found us very welcoming and that the hotel exceeded your expecations.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I look forwward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, LA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel is very nice and the price was great for this location. The rooms were on the small side but was very clean and quiet. The bed was very comfortable too. You are 1 block away from Grand Central Station, 10 minute walk to Times Square and 15 minute walk to the Theater District. My only complaint was that there was no dresser to put your clothes in. So you pretty much have to live out of your suit case which I hated, but my husband didn't have a problem with it. The staff was very friendly and the Wheeltapper Pub had great breakfast. We told my brother about staying here since he was coming to New York in July and he did. It will also be his first time in the City. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear MPTrainor,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Just returned from a week long stay at Fitzpatrick Grand Central. We had a family celebration as the whole family gathered there to celebrate a double birthday celebration with friends. At the start of our stay we had two sickly kids. The hotel couldn't have done more for us in helping any way they could with the kids to make things easier while they recovered. The staff in all sections of the hotel were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotless and the food was excellent. Our double celebration dinner in the board room was intimate and just what we needed. Scott went out of his way to ensure everything was taken care of that night. Kiernan ( our neighbour) was a pleasure to meet at all times during our stay. Patrick seemed to have a word for everyone at all times which is nice .So well done to all. Looking forward to staying again in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear fusciaCork,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central.

I hope your children are feeling better, it was our pleasure to offer any assistance necessary. Kieran and Scott will be most appreciative of your kind comments and I am glad to see that we were able make your family trip one to remember.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#63 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#65 Family Hotel in New York City
#157 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central location and attentive service distinguish the Fitzpatrick Grand Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.