We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, affordable and superbly located in Manhatten” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel to your Saves list
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Aberdeenshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable, affordable and superbly located in Manhatten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is not as large as lots of the big named ones in New York, having only 8 floors. The staff were very attentive and went out of their way to offer advice & assistance. It is located across the road from Grand Central Station which is extremely handy for subway and trains. A 10 min walk down from hotel, you were at the United Nations building, and a 20 min walk the other way, was Times Square. We did not eat in at hotel so cannot comment on their food, there was a tremendous variety of food venues in the area to choose from. Room was large with nice comfy bed, however we did feel bathroom was on small side due to no-where large enough to store toiletries, however not a deal breaker! Would highly recommend and would stay there again if visiting New York.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Twinnie-two,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    426
    104
    46
    17
See reviews for
145
634
70
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N Ireland
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Near Grand Central Station this hotel is in a good location to see the sights. Walked most places from here. Coffee etc in room with water and a fridge to keep it in. Staff very helpful. Lots of places about for breakfast. Just off Lexicon Ave, there of course is city noises. Would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear HMoo
Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We visited on 12th to 16th June. On arrival we were allocated a room on the 2nd Floor front which we found really noisy and there was no fridge. We requested to be moved to a higher floor with a fridge (to keep our drinking water cool as it was so hot) and were advised no rooms available that day, but we could move the following day which we agreed to do. On our first evening, we visited the Wheeltappers pub which is attached to the hotel. The bar was busy and the decor is very nice, but the prices for both food and alcohol were very expensive...just outside the hotel are more reasonable, but just as nice, places to eat and drink. The next day we moved to floor 9 which was so much quieter, but unfortunately we still didn't get the fridge! The rooms are very clean and the bed was soooo comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the hotel charges to use wifi so we used the Starbucks at the bottom of the street, no more than two minutes away, and that's free. The location of this hotel couldn't have been better, very central and extremely close to Grand Central Terminal, which itself is a sight to behold and also to our surprise had a food court, very reasonably priced and we took advantage of the 'beer cart' which charged $2.55 for a pint bottle of very cold lager!!! Tip - do buy a $30 7 day metro card pass, which allows hop on/off access to all MTA busses and the subway - which is the quickest way to travel in NY. We felt extremely safe everywhere we visited at all times...the city is saturated with police (very friendly and helpful). We bought a City Pass which gives access to numerous tourist attractions at a fraction of the cost of paying at the door and avoids having to wait in the standard queue. The Fitzpatrick hotel is within easy walking distance to 5th Avenue, Empire State building, Chrysler building (just outside the front door!) and so much more. We would recommend this lovely hotel to anyone visiting NY and if we do return, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Higher floors at the back of the hotel will be quieter. Try to get a room with a fridge to keep your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear hreeKings-13

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in the future.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 7 a.m. in the morning but was quickly allocated a room, which I was very grateful for, after a 12 hour flight. The room was very large, with 2 double beds and a huge bathroom with walk in shower. Breakfast was served in the adjoining Irish pub (don't bother eating there in the evening) and was a decent continental breakfast. It's a 2 minute walk from grand central so very convenient for commuting around manhattan

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear andrew-jerusalem,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here on a family holiday and were not disappointed. The concierge and reception staff were extremely helpful, there was a lovely atmosphere about the hotel and the rooms were well designed to suit our needs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear E B,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that your family enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel may 2013, from start to finish, all the staff were really friendly and helpful and couldnt do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Bed was so comfortable my husband usually suffers with his back when we are away on holidays so this was a big plus for us. Very clean and comfy hotel. Great location we walked everywhere, highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Caroline T,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Convenient location... you can just walk across the street and be at Grand Central to take the subway to any NYC destination or even to trains headed north. Can't understand why wifi is not free... you have to buy it from AT&T for $13.95 for 24 hours. This is really annoying. Good restaurant for breakfast at the Wheel House restaurant pub attached to the Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for turn down service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear pajpai,

Thank you for being a repeat geust of the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received. Regarding the WIFI, we are currently looking at other options that will provide the current security and bandwidth but at a better value.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#45 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#63 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#152 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central location and attentive service distinguish the Fitzpatrick Grand Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.