We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manhattan Club

Save Saved
You added The Manhattan Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Manhattan Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #179 of 452 hotels in New York City
san diego,ca
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed for a week on our RCI points in a full one bedroom (suite 2401) There are 113 one bedroom units on floors 12-25. They range from 500-700 sq. ft. Ours was 622 sq.ft. at the end of a hallway next to a storage room so it was quiet. The windows looked out to the so called courtyard which was a brick building well. Not a problem for me because I didn't come to NYC to sit in the room and look out the window. I was glad I didn't get the 56th street side as it might not have been so quiet. When you take the elevators (2 of them on the smaller size) watch to see if it skips your floor. Housekeeping told us they sometime get "keyed" to skip floors. If so- head around the corner to the service elevator which is never busy. Can't complain about the elevators as other have done. Both elevators are clearly marked- just look for the signs. We arrived on a Friday night from JFK. Before we could get out of the town car ( use Carmel car service- fabulous and $5 less than the taxis) the bellman had removed all of our luggage from the trunk and taken it inside. There was another bellman to great you. We arrived at 6pm- no line-very very nice polite check in. Our bags were promptly delivered to our room. The suite has a bathroom with tub/shower which is quite large and shower only bathroom that is small/medium size. Nice linens on a king bed in master. They will give you a rollaway bed if you don't like the pull out couch bed. My friend didn't mind it. We anticipated the dreaded bar found on most pull out couches, but it wasn't there. Maid service was wonderful. On the first night when we returned to the room at midnight we couldn't figure out how to shut the windows we had opened and initially thought there was no air conditioning. We called for assistance. With 2 minutes a maintenance man was there to show 2 women how to close the windows and an engineer to show us how to turn on the air conditioner. (Can't ask for better service than that) They have express check out and handled our bags beautifully. We had a Manhattan cocktail (thought it appropriate on our first night) at the bar on the 26th floor. It was $14 but it was perfectly made. There was a bowl of nibble snacks with the drink. Owner services (the Ambassador Club/sales office) called me a few weeks before my arrival and told me to call the front desk 2 weeks in advance if I wanted to make any special requests. The 1 bedroom suite is good for 2-4 people. More would be too cozy. We went to the business center on the 26th floor to quickly send postcards(check out the Manhattan Club website- they have really cool on line postcards to send) and to run boarding passes. A lot of people hogged the 6 computers and looked like they were working, rather than doing quick checks. It was ridiculous because they have free internet access in the room- just bring your laptop with you if you need to spend that much time on a computer. I will definitely return to the Manhattan Club. I am a very particular person and often RCI properties are not to my standard. This was not the case here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, May 21, 2010
When we read that we’ve met expectations of those sharing their time with us, it gives us all a proud feeling! Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay and the experiences you had with us at the Manhattan Club. We’ve shared your review with the managers and staff so they can learn of your acknowledgment of their service. The online postcards available through the site have been a big hit, we’re glad you liked them. Hope you visit with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    291
    74
    42
    47
See reviews for
234
236
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Vt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We had a wonderful stay, close to everything and the concierge was so helpful. The unit was clean and had all the necessities. Location made our stay wonderful and woke up to look out the window at Central Park. Would be happy to go again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, May 13, 2010
It’s a real treat for us to read of your experience here at the Manhattan Club!! We have to agree that waking up to see Central Park outside the window makes for a wonderful morning! Thank you for the review and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

After witnessing how poor service was previously at this property, I was pleasantly surprised at how nice and efficient the staff has become since our first visit. A special “shout out” to Christina at the front desk, even after a long night shift, she was professional, pleasant and helpful with our early check-in! Much different than what we experienced in the past.

The housekeeping staff was on top of things all week. Our two JR. Executive suites were in good condition. The head of housekeeping was really concerned about a spot on the carpet. He made sure it was taken care of before we checked in one of our rooms.

This unit is the 1 bath unit. There is plenty of room a for a couple. The mini fridge, microwave, dishes and dishwasher are all you need in Manhattan. We were on the 21st floor, so street noise was not an issue for us. FREE Wi-Fi!

The gym is really nice and well equipped… along with the penthouse bar / lounge. The many complaints about the “slow” elevators can be avoided by using the elevators to the left of the front desk when possible. A non-issue for us.

The location is as good as it gets in Manhattan. Close to Central Park, Times Square and more importantly… multiple SUBWAY stations!

As far as the t/s presentations… though one of the managers and I disagreed on a few things… the salesman was a pro. Since we are in sales, high pressure is not a problem for us, but he was not that way at all. If we could justify the maintenance fees… we’d be owners. For now, we’ll have to settle on trading or renting there.

That said, the property is in good condition and exceeded our expectations. We would stay here every time we visit NYC if possible.

Last, it’s good to see MC management’s on TA. It shows they care what travelers have to say. Ratings: Location 10… Service 9… Unit 8.

We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, May 13, 2010
There is no better perspective for us on how we are doing than to read previous guests experiences about their stay at the Manhattan Club! From your review, it not only allowed us an opportunity to learn where we are doing well, but more importantly where we have improved. We want each and every guest to experience this incredible city, all the Manhattan Club has to offer and inspire a return visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and kind words on our great staff! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, LA
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

As everyone has mentioned, this hotel has a fabulous location. One block from Broadway, the subway, two blocks from great food on 8th avenue, and 2 blocks from a great little grocery/deli on 6th. If you are like us, and you go all day long and will enjoy a meal back in your condo/room, try the Ernst Klein Fine foods. Among other things they had the best chowder I tasted while in NYC.

The rooms are nice sized by NYC standards with two very nice baths in each 1 BR condo. The bedroom is about the size of a normal NYC hotel room, and then you have a living room with a small, yet functional, 4 seat dinette. The partial kitchen has a fridge and a microwave. If you will need one, bring your own bottle opener.

I find that the unit needs some major updating, but when you are in NYC you leave in the morning and go home in the evening. My family probably spends more time in the unit than most, and we enjoyed it.

Several of the people have posted about rude front desk employees. I found the front desk to be great. The concierge was rude, as was the bellman named Jason who actually questioned the amount of the tip I gave him. I should have taken it back, but I didn't. I did speak with the office in Pennsylvania prior to going to NYC. I will say that the people on the phone from the main office were among the rudest people I have ever dealt with at any hotel. They were not onsite, so once you get there you do't have to ask them anything.

Elevators -- not bad at all -- not even once during the week did we have an unacceptable wait time.

On a scale of 1-10 I would have given the Manhattan Club a 9 based primarily on location.. For TA it is a solid 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, May 7, 2010
Being centrally located in midtown Manhattan makes so many attractions, such as renowned restaurants, museums, theaters and landmarks, an easy walk from the Manhattan Club. We’re happy to learn that you were able to enjoy all the city has to offer! Customer service is vital to us, though we are glad to know of your experience with the front desk, the other experiences mentioned are areas we will further review with the managing staff. Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience and we hope you’ll visit with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

We stayed at The Manhattan Club and it was a wonderful experience. The front desk was extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The room was large, clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. Would recommend this to anyone traveling to New York. In addition to a great place to stay the location is great.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Management at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, April 26, 2010
We’re thrilled to learn that you experienced a wonderful time here at the Manhattan Club and in New York! We’ll make sure to share your review with our front desk staff. Thank you for the review and recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Needed 1 bedroom suite which the booking company assured us of. Their "suite" was only a single room unsuitable for a family. The room in no way resembled the misleading picture on their websight. When you book, they charge your credit card and consider it non-cancellable. After taking 1 look at the dingy room, we refused to stay and then spent 4-6 months fighting with them to get the charges cancelled which they refused. Finally, VISA was kind enough to back us up and cancel the charge. Stay away at all cost.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Management at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, April 23, 2010
It is unfortunate that we were not able to accommodate your family’s needs when arriving here. We apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for writing of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Do not stay here if:

1. You want a room like the pictures found on their website online. What you REALLY get is not a suite at all but a small room with a bed in it and a two person sofa that pulls out into the most uncomfortable of "beds". The springs polk through - it hurts when you roll over. The fridge is the size of a cardboard box and it's under a counter. No table, no chairs.

2. You want the air conditioner to work. It was HOT! We had to ask housekeeping for a fan to be able to sleep; and it was April!

3. The elevator to work. It doesn't. Get on your walking shoes! [And your pepper spray] The stairs and hallways are dark and kind of scary.

4. The door to lock. It didn't. We moved the furniture in front of the door for the night to feel more secure.

5. Someone to help you. We asked the front desk to help us with all these things and they basically brushed us off like lint. Not helpful at all.

I never write reviews but had to in this case; I was VERY disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Management at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, April 23, 2010
Our goal is to ensure that your stay at The Manhattan Club is everything you expect and all that you deserve. We are very sorry to read of your disappointment and realize we did not meet this goal during your stay. Please know that our management team is always available to all our guests should any issues arise that cannot be resolved through the staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#122 Family Hotel in New York City
#163 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manhattan Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.