We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly helpful staff, perfect for site seeing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manhattan Club

Save Saved
You added The Manhattan Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manhattan Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #180 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly helpful staff, perfect for site seeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Really lovely hotel, room was comfortable, although the pull out bed wasn't the best! Staff were really nice, Joel was a great help. Good location, not too far to anywhere, right by Central Park, we walk to most places.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
It was so great to learn how friendly you found our staff and that our location in midtown was appreciated by you. Thank you very much for your kind review of The Manhattan Club. We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    295
    74
    42
    49
See reviews for
239
241
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Top notch! Wonderful stay, only down side is it is incredibly hard to get in, need to make reservation light years in advance but well worth the wait! Clean, spacious, glorious. Most glamorous time share we have stayed in ever!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Wow what a truly great review, thank you. We are elated that you chose to stay at The Manhattan Club and enjoyed the cleanliness and spaciousness of our rooms. We hope that you will allow us the honor of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InTheory
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I had an opportunity to stay for free at this hotel and found the room to be excellent. I'm resisting the urge to insert "By Manhattan standards" before going much further, but let me just say that the room size was more than adequate for three people. We had a room on the 14th floor with a view of Carnegie Hall--street noise was somewhat noticeable, which is why you should never travel to NYC without ear plugs. What really sold it for me was how comfortable even the sofa bed turned out to be, for a poor sleeper such as myself. They use some type of Tempurpedic mattress and even though it looked worryingly thing, it was surprisingly comfortable. Both bathrooms were just fine as well and everything was very clean and seemed in good condition. One thing we noticed was closing the window shade and drapes made a bit difference in keeping in the heat.

I'm reserving one star from this rating due to the somewhat lackluster breakfast. I would have hoped that in such a food-focused area such as NYC, that the offerings could have been more interesting than Eggo waffles and bagels, but I suppose the $14.95 price is a factor. Since we were in a rush most mornings, the buffet breakfast worked out okay, but I would skip and walk up the street to Eric Kayser or Landmarc for breakfast next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
We were thrilled to read your review and learn that your experience at The Manhattan Club was so positive. Our hotel is located in midtown and within close proximity to many of NYC's top attractions. Thank you for letting us know how comfortable you were in your room. Our suites are appointed and equipped with many furnishings and amenities, like our pillow-top mattresses and soft linens, to make your stay the best it can be. The next time you are visiting NYC we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We exchanged through Registry Collection and enjoyed a week long stay. Two couples - probably not great for everyone, because one couple must share a queen sized hideabed, but we were comfortable because there are two bathrooms, both large. Terry robes were provided for all of us.The kitchenette did not allow for cooking, but you could enjoy Starbucks coffee supplied and reheat takeout food in the microwave. There is even a mini dishwasher in the suite. It was nice to pick up a bottle of wine and appies and enjoy them in our suite before going out in the evenings. King sized bed in master was very comfy, with turndown service and chocolates! Flat screen TVs in lvg rm and bedroom. When door between lvg rm and bedrm was closed there was privacy for both couples. We used the large and comfy hospitality room on the 26 floor a couple of times for afternoon coffee, but preferred our own suite. Gym on 26th floor was well equipped and clean. Staff were very helpful. Other guests/owners were friendly. Elevators are only slow at peak times, but no terribly long waits - they're small, but people were great at squeezing together. ("Penthouse" means the top four floors 27-30.) great walking distance for Central Park, Columbus Circle, Carnegie Hall, MOMA, Broadway, etc. close to subway stops too. Would recommend this exchange property if you get a chance. Would make a great "girlfriend" getaway too.

Room Tip: No room tips, we weren't offered a choice, but were happy with what was assigned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Your review and recommendation for The Manhattan Club is greatly appreciated, thank you. It is always wonderful to hear from our guests to learn about their impressions and experiences. We're delighted that you had such a nice week and we are so glad that you enjoyed the spaciousness of your room, the amenities we offer and our midtown location. Please visit us again soon as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Arrival and check in were uneventful and handled well by competent staff. Room was quite small but well appointed except for chirping smoke detector in the room. Maintenance responded quickly but had to install a new smoke detector to quite the annoying chirping. Out of four lobby elevators only two serve the Manhattan Club, one was broken when we arrived and the other quickly went down. Luckily we were out of the building most of the time the elevators were broken, having to share the freight and service elevators was not a good experience. Concierge service was often closed during the week but was staffed until 7PM on Friday evening. Location is the big plus for this hotel. We happened to be there during the "transition season", i.e. the heat had already been turned off which left us with two very chilly evenings. Overall the stay was a pleasant one but I would have been very disappointed had I been paying $500 night as one gentlemen relayed to me during a trip in the service elevator. Owners lounge on 26th floor is very nice with continental breakfast for $14, free coffee in the afternoon and fruit in the morning and 15% gratuity automatically added to your bar bill! Room charges of $30/day are added for housekeeping, towels, etc. probably not "excessive" for Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Manhattan Club for your recent stay in NYC. While we are glad that you enjoyed our location and that overall your stay was pleasant, we truly regret the difficulties you encountered. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences. We hope that next time you are visiting the area you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back and that you will let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very happy with this hotel for a NYC mid-town stay. Room was big, although the fold out bed for our kids was smaller than a full bed and a little tight. Location is great. Easy walk to Times Square, Central Park, Rock Center, etc. Multiple subway lines within a block of the hotel. Valet parking a bargain at $28 per day. Room was quiet, clean, and a decent view from the 22nd floor. Microwave, sink, fridge and d/w in the room would have been good if we were staying longer. Staff was friendly and helpful. Not pushy about the timeshare aspect of the hotel with RCI. Skipped the continental breakfast for $14 per person - lots of casual breakfast options around the corner on 7th Avenue. This will likely be our go-to place for staying in Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We are delighted to learn that The Manhattan Club will now be your go-to-place when staying in Manhattan. Thank you so much for sharing your comments and letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel is, as you mentioned, conveniently located within walking distance of many NYC attractions such as Times Square. Please visit us again soon as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Some members graciously allowed us to stay here two nights. We have zero complaints. Big suite with double doors between the rooms. Two full bathrooms (one walk-in shower, one tub with shower), sink on the kitchen island, microwave, refrigerator, dinette table and chairs, large stuffed convertible couch, king bed, two TVs, and two closets. Couldn't ask for more. We requested a room away from traffic so we were placed on the 14th floor over the "courtyard." We couldn't see the courtyard below, only a facing wall with rooms to either side. The exhaust HVAC fans were somewhere in that space and they were loud, but it was a consistent sound, like you would get from white noise machines, only louder. The fans stop sometime after midnight and restart at 5 a.m. We were a little anxious that the noise would affect our sleep, but once we fell asleep, the fans didn't affect us at all. On the 26th floor is an exercise room, the dining room, and offices. Non-members can expect a call from a sales person trying to sell time shares, but if you don't have 90 minutes to receive a tour and sales pitch, you don't have to accept. Compensation for your time may be offered. In our case it was two complementary tickets to a show or vouchers for dining. We didn't have the time, so we declined. The staff and club members were very pleasant and gracious. Some might expect a little pretentiousness from a club, but we never experienced anything like that from anyone. Near checkout time, the elevators can get crowded from people departing from floors above you, but we used the service elevators and never had to wait. The cleaning and support staff were very nice. Check in is at 4 p.m., but if your room is ready before hand you may check in. We received our room around 1 p.m. The bell staff checked our bags for us until our room was available. Check out time is 11 a.m. As many reviewers have stated, the Club is conveniently situated for museums, shows, restaurants, etc. Most everything you would want is within walking distance. Times Square 42d street is 14 short blocks away and we had no problem schlepping our bags from there to the Club. Three subway entrances are nearby, with two being only one block away. We like to go to Williamsburg in Brooklyn for good beer and fun times, and the L train from Times Square takes us there very quickly. Only took us 15 minutes to haul our bags to Herald Square, near Penn Station, from the Club via subway. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, General Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed review of your stay at The Manhattan Club. It was such a pleasure to have you here with us and we were delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your visit. Our hotel is conveniently located in midtown and is within walking distance of many of NYC's exciting attractions. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#135 Family Hotel in New York City
#146 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manhattan Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.