We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manhattan Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Manhattan Club to your Saves list
The Manhattan Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definitely worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I was slightly worried about the standard of The Manhattan Club before I went there as it seemed like a cheap deal for New York but my concerns were unfounded. The accommodation was first class. I was sharing with 4 friends and we had 2 adjoining rooms with 3 bathrooms between them which was invaluable with 5 females. The location was very good for our needs although the tube was definitely the quickest way to get around as traffic was mostly at a standstill. The only down side was the weather which would put me off returning at the same time of year (beginning of December).

Room Tip: We were on 19th floor and unlike many hotels heard nothing either from the corridors or through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We are thrilled that you and your friends enjoyed staying at The Manhattan Club. Our hotel, conveniently located in midtown, makes a great base camp for guests wishing to explore all the fun and exciting things to see and do in the city. We’re delighted that everyone was comfortable in our rooms and hope that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    309
    80
    45
    49
See reviews for
253
256
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Interval time share which allows you to split up your week we generally go to city 4 days in summer and 3 days at xmas. Very hi quality and conveniently located opposite carnegie hall we have been using manhattan club for 10 years

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your experience with us through the years. We are delighted to learn how much you have enjoyed the accommodations and location of The Manhattan Club. All of us here are looking forward to welcoming you back this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The Manahttan Club is essentially a timeshare hotel.

THE GOOD

Location- 3 blocks south of Central Park and Columbus Circle, 11 blocks north of Times Square, 7 blocks from Rockefeller Centre, 5 blocks from Radio City, 3 blocks from 5th Ave and right across the street from Carnegie Hall and around the corner from the subway.

Suites- Relatively large by New York Standards and have fridges and microwaves

Staff- Very helpful and courteous

THE NOT SO GOOD

Room Climate-Even though weather was below freezing we had to turn the heat off and open the windows to keep suite at reasonably low temperature.

Maintenence-Request to repair broken bed leg went unanswered and had to put a book under one leg to keep from sliding out one side.

Elevators- 2 small elevators for 15 floors of at least 20 suites each is a significant shortage in requirements and can results in waits of 5-10 minutes at peak times.

The view- At least 1/2 the suites face interior open air "atrium" which results in one looking at their neighbor.

Hint- If you don't want to go out for breakfast go one block north to 57th Street and 7th Ave to Cafe Metro for takeout. Very good value for money and very fresh. Works for a light lunch or dinner also. If you venture out for breakfast try the Applejack Diner around the corner at Broadway and 56th.

Summary- Location and staff overcome the shortfalls

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor allow you to use stairs rather than a long wait for elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
It's always nice when a guest review mentions how friendly and helpful our staff was throughout a stay. It is terrific that our convenient location to the city’s many attractions and restaurants worked out so well for your visit. Our hotel welcomes all feedback, positive and otherwise, and thank you for sharing your comments. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the issue you encountered with the bed; your review will be shared with the appropriate management team. The next time you are visiting NYC, we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The location is great! We had an easy walk to Radio city music hall, Rockefeller Center, 5th Ave shopping including FAO Schwartz, Central Park and more. It was only $25 cab ride to go to 911 memorial which the concierge helped us get tickets in advance ( which was a must that day). Lounge on 26th floor was large, warm and modern with lots of comfy chairs and also tables. Happy hour was good. Room was nice and modern. But the room was very hot because it was unseasonably warm. Made it hard to sleep. Bed was not very comfortable but this seems to be consistent with all Bluegreen properties. Nice bathroom but the shower was as loud as a train!!!!! Parking was cheap for NY. I would go back.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
It is just great to hear that The Manhattan Club’s location made it convenient for you to walk to the many shops and attractions in the city. We were pleased you found our accommodations to be comfortable and modern and we were delighted to learn that our concierge was able to help you obtain visitor passes for the 9/11 Memorial. Thank you so much for your feedback. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were called to stay at The Manhattan Club for a discounted price after we were asked to attend their 90 minute sales presentation. All in all, the salesmen were extremely nice and professional however that was the best part of the trip. When we arrived at our room, it was ice cold and the lights were off, not very inviting at all. The room itself was as big as a closet and it was dirty and completely outdated. They want us to become property owners yet they stick us in a hole in the wall. The reservation staff kindly changed our room to a one bedroom, two bathroom which seemed like a better deal until we actually realized this room had no heat. The heater unit was making all kinds of noises so my husband decided to check the filter, it was crushed and covered in what seemed like 20 years of dirt and dust. The bathroom light over the outdated tub was not working and there was some kind of greenish moldy substance on the bottom of it. We checked into that room at 5:00pm and then checked out at 10:00pm and went back home, that's how bad our experience was. The staff was very nice and professional but the rooms are outdated and dirty.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
It is always disappointing to learn when a valued guest leaves our hotel feeling dissatisfied with their experience. We carefully read through reviews, such as yours, so we can identify the specific areas that need improving. Although we are happy to learn that you found our staff to be so pleasant and professional, it is certainly disheartening to learn that we did not make a better impression. Thank you for your feedback, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an experience that surpasses all your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My husband and I just got back for a five night stay at the Manhattan Club in New York City. We have found our new favourite place to stay! There just isn't one negative thing to say about it. Staff, super! Rooms cozy, and comfortable, just an overall nice feeling when entering.....like coming home! Excellent sleeps in the bed. Loved it, loved it, loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of The Manhattan Club. It is always our hope that our guests have a fabulous time and enjoy every aspect of their stay. We are thrilled that you and your husband were comfortable, felt welcomed, and overall had a great experience. All of us here look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have just returned from a long weekend in NYC with some friends and we stayed at the Manhattan Club. Right from the start, the service from all the staff was impeccable. The concierge sourced excellent tickets for the Radio City Christmas Show at very little notice. Everyone did their utmost to help and make our stay enjoyable. The suite was beautifully renovated, comfortable and so practical with 2 bathrooms for 4 ladies! It was quite hot but we were able to open the windows a little which solved that tiny little niggle. The location was perfect for shopping and sightseeing with excellent restaurants in all directions. I absolutely recommend it 100% and look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: I believe a majority of the rooms have now been renovated, but ask for one just in case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We cannot thank you enough for your wonderful review and recommendation for The Manhattan Club. Our associates always strive to provide exceptional service to our guests and accommodate their requests whenever possible. We are delighted that our concierge was able to get such great tickets for you to see the amazing Radio City Christmas Spectacular. All of us here are looking forward to welcoming you back when you return to NYC again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Family Hotel in New York City
#148 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manhattan Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.