We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Bait and Switch” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Manhattan Club

Save Saved
You added The Manhattan Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manhattan Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #181 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beware of Bait and Switch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We booked a room at the Manhattan Club and they put us at the Park Central, a cheaper and lower rated hotel. when I complained, the manager just told me "that's just what we do." In fact, shetoldmethat they might have put us at the Wellington, another lower rated hotel. so, beware. we. Based onthe reviews, we didn't want the Park Central, but that's what we got, only we paid the higher price of the Manhattan Club.

Room Tip: Beware of bait and switch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
It is truly disappointing that your visit was not as you had anticipated. Although addressing specific details are difficult on a review forum; the experience you have described is not the normal practices of our hotel. Please know that our management team is always available should a situation additional attention. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    295
    74
    42
    49
See reviews for
239
241
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Booking a hotel for a short break is always nerve wracking - will it be close enough to all attractions, will it be clean, will we get value for money?? Well our stay in the Manhatten Club Suites ticked all the right boxes. The location was excellent. Broadway and Times Square were only 10 mins walk. The subway was literally on our doorstep. The room was spotless and so quiet. Also because of the kitchen area we were able to store food for when we got peckish. The staff were extremely friendly and eager to help us with any problems we encountered. The concierge booked trips for us and gave us precise directions to where we would be picked up. The only small problem was 4 adults really filled the apartment - not a major problem but if you travel with someone who likes their own space you might need to look at booking more than the one suite. Two of us slept on the pull out sofa it was really comfortable and the pillows were divine!! All in all a very enjoyable stay and one we would have no problem doing again or recommending to friends. I think it is ideal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your many wonderful comments and review of The Manhattan Club. Our location is, as you mentioned, within easy access to all of the City’s most popular attractions and all forms of public transportation are right outside our doors. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you found our staff to be so helpful. The concierge at The Manhattan Club is available to recommend new dining and theater experiences and to assist in making reservations or any other special arrangements you may desire. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I would like to say excellent but am reserving my opinion to be sure after I see if we can return easily on our new membership or not...hearing good and bad things about that so what to see for myself

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your review of The Manhattan Club. We’re delighted you enjoyed your first visit to our hotel. When you are ready to plan your next stay, we would be happy to assist you in making your reservations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Spent 4 nights here in the middle of November and can hardly wait to go back. I was so surprised how absolutely quiet the rooms were. Beautiful rooms, excellent service from every staff member and so well equiped.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are truly grateful for your many compliments of The Manhattan Club, thank you. Our suites are elegantly appointed and equipped to make our guests feel at home. We’re delighted you enjoyed the rooms, amenities and service offered at our midtown Manhattan hotel. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego,ca
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was my second time at this Hotel in a one bedroom unit that has 2 bathrooms. As I had previously enjoyed room 2401, I asked for it again on the phone in advance, but it was not available upon arrival. However, Jordan at the front desk was most accommodating, and made great effort to help me find a good location. When I entered room 2317 it was well appointed but it was extremely hot- an oven actually. The heat was NOT on. The engineer and maintenance arrived to inform me there was nothing to be done about the temperature as air conditioning was no longer available do to the time of year. (November 7, 2012) Although sympathetic, they could not suggest a cooler location, and commented that several fans had been sent to other rooms. This old building can only do heat or A/C- not both. The living room windows would only open 5 inches, and the bedroom windows would not open at all. We were given floor fans in an effort to stay cool. If you look at the Hotel website, the standard rate for a one bedroom is $514 per night, but they don't offer temperature control? I spoke to the Asst. Front Office manager, Michael Mandel in person who was completely uninterested in this problem. He offered a robotic explanation about the lack of temperature choices, while typing on the computer, never looking me in the eye. I asked Mr. Mandel to have the hotel manager, call me the next day, but it never happened. (Mr. Mandel said his name was Daniel Casanue) The great things about this hotel, are the location, 2 bathrooms in the one bedroom unit, the bellman, and Michael, the bartender, a terrific mixologist on the 26th floor. He is worth the pricey $17.00/tip is included in the bill for the manhattan cocktail. The price of the rooms should be applied to updating the climate control issues of this old building. In the meantime, plan on a fan in your room.

Room Tip: the one bedroom units with 2 bathrooms, 2401 and 2317 are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Although you have shared an appreciation for our hotel’s location and many of the staff, we truly disappointed that you were less satisfied with some other aspects of your stay. As with many larger buildings, in preparation for the cooler weather, the air conditioning system is switched off and the heating system is turned on. We are sorry that the room temperature was not comfortable at the time of your stay and that you were not pleased with the manner in which your concern was addressed. We hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Clean rooms, great view , right around corner from times square, two blocks from central park.....would stay there again .....love NYC . Be sure to ride the double deck site seeing bus....use as your taxi too, u can get on and off at your leisure ....Rosie o Gradies is a wonderful place to eat...Wicked on broadway is worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We love hearing about our guest’s experiences and learning what made their stay enjoyable. The Manhattan Club is within walking distance of the some of the city’s most renowned restaurants, museums, theaters and landmarks. Thank you for providing some great suggestions with regard to getting around NYC and places to visit; we’re sure many others will find them extremely helpful. We hope that you will return soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Through connections with RCI we were lucky to get a week at The Manhattan Club. One bedroom, two bathroom apartment that sleeps four. What a location, and what a wonderful apartment (so good we bought a share in it). Over the road from Carnegie Hall, a short walk to Central Park, Broadway, 5th Avenue and subway stations nearby. Any number of local restaurants to choose from, a supermarket around the corner (there is a kitchen in the apartment) should you wish to eat in.
Downside would be the "smart" elevators that, when loaded to capacity do not stop at your floor. We were on Level 16. Apart from the slow elevators, this residence has everything for a fantastic stay in midtown.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Higher levels are better, but beware the "'smart" elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We’re thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your week at The Manhattan Club. Our midtown location provides our guests with easy access to all of the City’s most popular attractions, restaurants and entertainment. We are sorry that you experienced some delay with the elevator and hope that any inconvenience was minimal. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#135 Family Hotel in New York City
#149 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manhattan Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.