We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time in Times Square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manhattan Club

Save Saved
You added The Manhattan Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Manhattan Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Bloomington, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Time in Times Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Clean rooms, great view , right around corner from times square, two blocks from central park.....would stay there again .....love NYC . Be sure to ride the double deck site seeing bus....use as your taxi too, u can get on and off at your leisure ....Rosie o Gradies is a wonderful place to eat...Wicked on broadway is worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We love hearing about our guest’s experiences and learning what made their stay enjoyable. The Manhattan Club is within walking distance of the some of the city’s most renowned restaurants, museums, theaters and landmarks. Thank you for providing some great suggestions with regard to getting around NYC and places to visit; we’re sure many others will find them extremely helpful. We hope that you will return soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    297
    74
    43
    49
See reviews for
240
243
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Campbelltown, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Through connections with RCI we were lucky to get a week at The Manhattan Club. One bedroom, two bathroom apartment that sleeps four. What a location, and what a wonderful apartment (so good we bought a share in it). Over the road from Carnegie Hall, a short walk to Central Park, Broadway, 5th Avenue and subway stations nearby. Any number of local restaurants to choose from, a supermarket around the corner (there is a kitchen in the apartment) should you wish to eat in.
Downside would be the "smart" elevators that, when loaded to capacity do not stop at your floor. We were on Level 16. Apart from the slow elevators, this residence has everything for a fantastic stay in midtown.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Higher levels are better, but beware the "'smart" elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We’re thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your week at The Manhattan Club. Our midtown location provides our guests with easy access to all of the City’s most popular attractions, restaurants and entertainment. We are sorry that you experienced some delay with the elevator and hope that any inconvenience was minimal. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite and it was magnificent.We had 2 bathrooms,separate large bedroom and big sitting room.The bed was very comfortable,the room was serviced daily and it was impeccable,we even had a mini dishwasher if we felt the need,but why every thing was so close by,time sq,central park and all the eating placing a short stroll away.The concierge Moira must be commended on her skills and knowledge,we had 7 wonderful days planned by her,just tell what you want and she helps you plan it.We hope to visit this city again.

Room Tip: Ask for high up as possible,away from ice machine,we were on 15 th floor and didn't here any tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Your many lovely compliments for The Manhattan Club and our staff are greatly appreciated, thank you. We're delighted that we could help to create a holiday of a lifetime for you and hope that you can return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent three nights at the Manhattan Club, getting out of town on Sunday just as Hurricane Sandy descended on NYC. Our thoughts to everyone affected by this devastingly strong hurricane. We were happy with our room, but the bed was awkwardly placed with just a few inches of passage room between the end of the bed and a protusion in the wall. We had to ask to have the A/C turned off in our room as the vent was right over the bed and the thermostat did not alter the temperature. The bathroom was a good size, with nice toiletries. Only one bathrobe provided. The kitchenette is useful and the seating area ample. Staff were helpful but the location is their drawing card !! Close to Lincoln Centre for jazz, Columbus Circle, Central Park, Broadway, Carnegie and fine dining, so much more We even walked The High Line right to Chelsea Market.

Room Tip: Ask for a court side room if street sounds bother you. However, most rooms are high up and the soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of The Manhattan Club. We are very happy that your three night stay in NYC was so enjoyable and that our location worked out perfectly for you. Our hotel neighbors upon Central Park, Carnegie Hall, Rockefeller Center, the Broadway theater district and the worlds' most desired shopping areas, Madison Avenue and Fifth Avenue. We hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I spent one night at the Manhattan Club in October 2012. We had purchased the room at a charity auction back in the spring, and the timing of our stay coincided with our 25th anniversary, so it worked out great. My understanding is that the Manhattan Club is a time share, but we did not go through the sales pitch, nor were we asked to.

We stayed on the 19th floor in a room that appeared to be newly renovated. The carpet and the bathroom tile looked like it had just been installed, very nice. The room included a small sitting room and a bedroom, but there was no door separating the two rooms (not that we needed one). The sitting room had a pull-out couch that was not the most comfortable to sit on.

There was no outside noise at night, which allowed for a very restful night's sleep.

As others have commented, this hotel is centrally located to many New York landmarks. It was an easy walk to the subway at Columbus Circle to get to Times Square (my wife's feet were sore from so much walking so we took the subway). Make sure that you wear comfortable shoes that are broken in if you plan to do a lot of walking in New York.

The service at the hotel was great, we were checked in and out very quickly, and the parking went without a hitch. Just pull up front, and they take your car for you. From what I understand, you have to pay attention to how long you have your car parked, try to keep it under 24 hours if you don't want to pay for an extra day.

All in all, this was a great place to stay if money is no object, but for more that one night, I think that I would try to find a hotel that is less expensive than the $400 that this cost per night.

Room Tip: We were on the 19th floor, and it took the elevators a while to reach us. I'm not sure if the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Manhattan Club. A night in NYC, with its many great places to see and things to do, is a perfect place to celebrate an anniversary. Please come back and see us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I celebrated my 50th birthday with this trip to New York, my 1st trip to New York. We booked 4 days and 3 nights at The Manhattan Club unaware of exactly where we would be located in proximity to everything. It was PERFECT! We walked almost everywhere when we were not taking a tour bus or the subway. We were not disappointed! Times Square, 5th Avenue, Broadway, Central Park are all within walking distance. We loved it and we will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Happy 50th Birthday! A trip to NYC for your special day is a terrific way to celebrate. The Manhattan Club is conveniently located in midtown, putting our guests within walking distance of many of the major attractions. We are thrilled you had such a great time and are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here in September for 4 nights - it was a great experience, as first timers to New York, we weren't sure how close things would really be to the Manhattan Club - well everything was in walking distance! Central Park, Times Square, all of the landmarks you want to see were very close by. The hotel itself was quiet and we had a great view of the street and a spacious apartment. The bathroom was roomy too. We were surprised to have a couple of windows to bring some natural light into the room. Of course we didn't spend much time there, but the kitchen was great and the bed very comfy. We would definitely stay there again if we were to go back to New York in the future (hopefully!).
I would also recommend buying the New York City Pass - was very easy to get into attractions and we saved heaps of money and didn't have to line up nearly as much as others! Also has great information about opening hours etc., which makes it easier to work out your itinerary and what you would like to concentrate on. Make sure you do a harbour cruise!

Room Tip: We had a corner suite which had extra windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We are so excited that you enjoyed your first trip to New York City and your stay at The Manhattan Club. Our hotel is located in midtown Manhattan and, as you mentioned, close to all the major attractions. Thank you for your suggestions for others, we are sure many people will find them helpful. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#143 Family Hotel in New York City
#146 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manhattan Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.