We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in New York” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manhattan Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Manhattan Club to your Saves list
The Manhattan Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 463 Hotels in New York City
sherwood park
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in New York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very good location , close to Central Park , nice walk to time square with lots of places to eat along the way. Staff was very helpful in any questions we had as was first time in New York Room was large, very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
A first trip to New York City, how exciting! We thrilled that your stay at the Manhattan Club was part of your new experience. Our convenient Midtown location makes getting around the city and seeing the sites a breeze and we are happy to learn how much you enjoyed it. Your review is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    337
    83
    46
    51
See reviews for
280
276
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

So we had an exchange through my timeshare program, which made this property very affordable. We were staying in a room though, that the general public has access to as well if they are paying a nightly rate.

Firstly, we were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. We were in what was called a junior suite. The room had a small kitchenette (including a sink, dishwasher, microwave and fridge) which we put to good use as breakfast at the hotel was quite pricey. Much easier to walk a block to the nearest supermarket and buy some cereal etc.

The bed was comfortable, however, the mattress on the pullout had seen it's last legs and needed to be replaced. We ended up using the cushions from the lounge as that was more comfortable.

We didn't use the concierge, but the doorman and bell staff were excellent.

The only issue we had was with housekeeping, who didn't know the meaning of "wait until you hear an answer" - I swear there was about a nanosecond between them knocking and entering the room every day. You'd think they get the message after us having a go at them the second time in the one morning. If there hadn't been two of us in the room, they probably would have walked in on us in the bathroom.

Room Tip: No room really has a view, but don't go smaller than a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are always delighted to welcome guests to The Manhattan Club! Our suite accommodations are designed to provide the best of comforts and amenities and we couldn't be happier to learn how much you enjoyed your stay. Excellent service is of utmost importance and we apologize if our housekeeping associates caused any inconvenience. Your review is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Yes, the decor is tired and the rooms can use a facelift. But the rooms are huge by New York standards (at least the one we got). This is not a hotel but a time share facility so the amenities are slightly different. It feels like a hotel, with bell men, security, front desk staff and a concierge. But expect the usual phone call offering a time share presentation, with both spouses present, of course. The sales staff was not pushy when we politely declined. The lobby feels secure, and the staff is pleasant. The sofa bed in our room was comfortable. There was a small refrigerator, coffee maker, sink. WiFi was spotty. The location on West 56th is excellent with Broadway and off Broadway within walking distance, and close to major subway lines E (to the WTC) and C (Soho, downtown). If you get a good deal through Living Social or Groupon or other travel sites, you can't beat the price for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Located at 200 West 56th Street between Broadway and Seventh Avenue in one of New York City's most desirable locations, The Manhattan Club is within walking distance to many of the city's major attractions. We're delighted our location worked out so well for you and that you enjoyed spaciousness of your accommodations. Thank you for your compliments of our hotel and staff, they are sincerely appreciated. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Connecticut
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here with our two adult children for one night. The room was clean and the check-in and out was easy. Valet parking was very convenient. Location was great for the places we wanted to visit. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, General Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Manhattan Club! We are located right in the heart of Manhattan making it convenient for visiting so many of NYC's major attractions. We hope you will return soon for another visit as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back and hopefully for a little bit longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My Husband and I use to live 10 blocks away. We bought this timeshare years before we moved to Manhattan. WE LOVE NYC ! We have traded it in the past as no need to use it in the city.
It was a great week! We stayed in a renovated Jr. Suite. The pullout was comfy for my daughter and son in law.
The crib supplied for my grand daughter was perfect size. Yes, we are a cozy family. Who sits around a hotel room anyway! We used the lounge for cocktails before dinner when friends came to visit.
We shared one bathroom and it all worked out. We had breakfast in the room most mornings. We used the frig, microwave and dishwasher. My son in law had a business meeting early in the AM one day. He tiptoed out and showered in the gym as to not wake us all up. He said it was terrific. My daughter used the business center.
All bath and bedding first rate. The Staff were all pleasant. The only negative was trash night. It was quite noisy....but not the fault of MC. The location is PRIME. We walked to all except to our favorite restaurant in Tribeca. The #1 line is really close. It was great to be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We love NYC too! Thank you for writing such a lovely review for The Manhattan Club. It is always rewarding to learn about our guests and owners experiences and impressions. We're so happy that your entire family has enjoyed the accommodations and location of our hotel and we hope to see you back again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I recently visited this hotel accompanied by my daughter and daughter in law for a girls trip to NYC. The location can't be beat. There are multiple restaurants surrounding the hotel so we did not use the kitchen much at all. Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance or a short subway or cab ride. Having checked into a suite that was not renovated, I found the accomodations suitable, however, the mattress on the hide a bed was not acceptable. I went to the front desk to ask what we could do and we were moved to a renovated suite with a new memory foam hide a bed. Thanks to the front desk staff for making this offer! Having two bathrooms was also a great bonus for our group.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with 3 adults, would recommend a renovated suite with a newer hide a bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We're delighted that your girls' trip to NYC included a stay at The Manhattan Club. It was our pleasure to move your party to another suite to ensure everyone had the best experience possible and a great night's sleep. Our midtown location puts visitors right in the heart of NYC where so many of the major attractions are just steps away from our front door. We hope that you will return again for another stay as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We booked this as a rental through RCI. It was our first hotel suite experience with kids so it was nice to have a separate room. Their sofa-bed was not the most comfortable (typical for pull-outs). It was nice to have a kitchenette for breakfast foods and keeping our things cold. We came back to clean dishes each evening. There's a supermarket around the corner. The suite was quiet, the view was minimal as our room was on the inside looking onto another wall. The location was ideal -- within walking distance of most of midtown's attractions. Flatfare cab from JFK under $60. As a rental it was a great experience and good value.

Room Tip: Beware of timeshare sales. I ran into several owners who said they are frustrated with the increasi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Manhattan Club and greatly appreciate the many compliments you have given us. Each of our suites are elegantly appointed and equipped with an outstanding selection of in-room amenities to make you feel comfortable and at home. We are also, as you mentioned, within walking distance of so many of New York City's major attractions. The next time you are in the area we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#118 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#162 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manhattan Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.