We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manhattan Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Manhattan Club to your Saves list
The Manhattan Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 463 Hotels in New York City
St. Albert, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I recently visited this hotel accompanied by my daughter and daughter in law for a girls trip to NYC. The location can't be beat. There are multiple restaurants surrounding the hotel so we did not use the kitchen much at all. Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance or a short subway or cab ride. Having checked into a suite that was not renovated, I found the accomodations suitable, however, the mattress on the hide a bed was not acceptable. I went to the front desk to ask what we could do and we were moved to a renovated suite with a new memory foam hide a bed. Thanks to the front desk staff for making this offer! Having two bathrooms was also a great bonus for our group.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with 3 adults, would recommend a renovated suite with a newer hide a bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We're delighted that your girls' trip to NYC included a stay at The Manhattan Club. It was our pleasure to move your party to another suite to ensure everyone had the best experience possible and a great night's sleep. Our midtown location puts visitors right in the heart of NYC where so many of the major attractions are just steps away from our front door. We hope that you will return again for another stay as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    336
    83
    46
    51
See reviews for
280
276
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We booked this as a rental through RCI. It was our first hotel suite experience with kids so it was nice to have a separate room. Their sofa-bed was not the most comfortable (typical for pull-outs). It was nice to have a kitchenette for breakfast foods and keeping our things cold. We came back to clean dishes each evening. There's a supermarket around the corner. The suite was quiet, the view was minimal as our room was on the inside looking onto another wall. The location was ideal -- within walking distance of most of midtown's attractions. Flatfare cab from JFK under $60. As a rental it was a great experience and good value.

Room Tip: Beware of timeshare sales. I ran into several owners who said they are frustrated with the increasi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Manhattan Club and greatly appreciate the many compliments you have given us. Each of our suites are elegantly appointed and equipped with an outstanding selection of in-room amenities to make you feel comfortable and at home. We are also, as you mentioned, within walking distance of so many of New York City's major attractions. The next time you are in the area we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great location. Average service. Rooms are fine. Sales people are the problem. Because of its location I would recommend this hotel. You only sleep a few hours when you're in New York so for that purpose the hotel are fine.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your impressions of your recent experience at The Manhattan Club. Although we are thrilled that you found our midtown Manhattan location to be such a benefit, we were disappointed that you were less enthusiastic about other aspects of your stay. We hope that if there was anything that we could have done differently that would have made a difference, you will let us know. The next time you are in NYC we hope you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were lucky enough to have completed a timeshare exchange for a Penthouse Suite inc a kitchenette, which was very well equipped, though coasters and place-mats would have been useful for the glass tables. We had a 1 bedroom suite which could sleep 4, 2 bathrooms (1 had a fantastic huge shower) which we used lots as it was early Aug and very hot and humid.
A previous comment mentioned the lift, we were on the 28th floor so took 1 lift to 26th floor, very quick, then had to wait ages for the lift from 26th to Lobby. The fitness suite, breakfast/drinks bar,etc were on the 26th. Complimentary coffee and cookies between 12 and 2. The Lobby is very well organised with lovely comfortable leather seating, very welcoming after a day out, that and the A/C.
The hotel is on 46th and 7th which is a very convenient location but not too close to all the action! If you do not want to eat out all the time, the kitchenette is very handy and there is a very good grocery store on 47th and Broadway.
If you are worried about getting hassled about timeshare, don't, I received 1 phone call, declined the offer and heard no more. If you are staying in the Penthouse suites you are asked to check-in on 26th floor except there was no-one there so had to go back down to the main reception which was a pain after we had traveled from Cape Cod.
Suite was very modern, very clean and housekeeping was very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us during your NYC trip. Each of our suites at The Manhattan Club are elegantly appointed and equipped to make you feel at home and enjoy your stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced when you had to return to the main lobby to check-in especially after such a long day of travel. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming back again the next time you are visiting New York City. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

If you are lucky enough to get an updated room, it is a great experience. Unfortunately, not many rooms have been updated. It is a very quiet hotel and I have had some of the best sleep@ night in years. Elevators are painfully slow but I have made friends with the stairwell. If I could get the same room year after year, I would buy here! Staff has been friendly and helpful!

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We're delighted that your NYC stay at The Manhattan Club was enjoyed by you and that you were able to get such a great night's sleep while staying with us. All of suites at the hotel are elegantly appointed and equipped to make you feel at home and include pillow-top mattresses to allow our guests to sleep soundly. Thank you for your review and praise for our staff, we hope to welcome you back again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stay at the Manhattan Club every year and it is a very nice place to stay especially when travelling with kids or on a budget. We have stayed in the Penthouse which is lovely and the rooftop seating area and library (with free sparkling water bottles) its great. The hotel does not have a pool (not uncommon in NYC) but the gym is great. The lounge is nice for evening drinks (expect NYC prices or should I say hotel prices). The bartender in the evening is really skilled you would be suprised at what he can create. Karina who works in the lounge is a gem. I must say the coffee their is really good and hot. For a NYC hotel you get a suite with an efficiency kitchen which includes a nice size refrigerator, sink, microwave,dishwasher, plates, glasses and utensils. We stayed New Years, catered from Fairway market, purchased wine/champagne and had our own party. We go to wholefoods and you can purchase food and desserts for a nice lunch or dinner if you don't want to eat out. We go to Starbucks in the morning for breakast, get our own lunch and enjoy the many restaurants in NYC for dinner. I read the other reviews and you must check when exchanging what room you will get. A studio, jr suite, etc. The staff is great, I must agree with the other reviewer that the sales department is lacking in professonalism. The other guy that comes in when you said no, actually said "well don't feel bad that xyz doesn't get a sale". Really? I am not making an on the spot investment, I don't care how much money I have to invest, I am not buying something after spending 30 minutes with someone. The front desk staff at the sales center was not professional at all. Our sales person and his arm twister manager missed out on a serious potential sale with their guilt trip style sarcasm. We loved what we saw but we don't do business with people who lacks good character.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
While we greatly appreciate the many wonderful compliments you have written about The Manhattan Club and our staff, we are terribly sorry if our sales team did not present the same level of professionalism to you. We value all feedback positive or otherwise and will use this opportunity to strengthen our commitment to providing the best in service to each and every guest. On your next trip to NYC we hope you will allow us the pleasure of once again welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was a great place to stay for our family on a recent trip to NYC. I called a couple of weeks ahead & requested a renovated room & was accommodated at check-in. We had a corner unit one bedroom suite with views of Central Park & up 56th St. There was plenty of space, everything was new & clean, and the king bed was wonderful. My 2 sons slept on the pull out sofa, which had a nice memory foam mattress. The refreshments provided in the 26th floor lounge were a nice treat each afternoon when we came in from sightseeing. The elevator was a little slow but it didn't impact our visit or schedule. The staff were all extremely friendly & helpful when we needed assistance. The location was perfect to visit all the things we wanted to see on NYC.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
The Manhattan Club is centrally located in the heart of midtown Manhattan and is within walking distance of so many of New York City's major attractions making it extremely convenient for our guests. We're so glad your NYC trip was enjoyed by your family and your stay at our hotel lived up to your expectations. We hope that you will return to New York and The Manhattan Club soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#117 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#162 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manhattan Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.