We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manhattan Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Manhattan Club to your Saves list
The Manhattan Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Victoria, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I were in town for an extended weekend and we exchanged in through Bluegreen (our timeshare) and were so lucky we did. The place is great! The first night we stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. It had a king sized bed in the bedroom and two great bathrooms; how nice to get ready at the same time in the morning - one in each bathroom! The second night we were in a smaller 1 bedroom and it had a queen sized bed in it and only one bathroom, which was fine for the two of us. (I should note that the reason we were in different rooms each night was because I booked it late and these were cancellations and all that was available - we had no issue with switching rooms).

Each room had free wi-fi capabilities and we really appreciated that.

We would recommend The Manhattan Club in a heartbeat! It's close to Central Park and plenty of restaurants. The front desk staff was courteous and amiable.

One thing I would tell anyone staying at TMC is to be aware that the breakfast available in the Lounge is not free. It's $14.99 and charged to your room account. If you don't want to spend that $$, it's not a big issue when there are plenty of restaurants in the area that you can get breakfast for less at.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
We feel fortunate to have had you stay with us! Thank you so much for the wonderful recommendation. We are delighted to learn that you and your husband enjoyed your accommodations and convenient location to many of the wonderful midtown Manhattan attractions. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again the next time you visit NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    309
    80
    45
    50
See reviews for
255
256
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This was my first trip to New York and used our RCI exchange for a room here - 4 night stay. We had the studio and plenty of room and very quiet!!! The bed was so comfortable I found myself missing it when I got home! Our room was clean, the staff was pleasant and helpful. Loved the complimentary coffee and cookies in the afternoon! It was helpful having the fridge and microwave in our room so we could have yogurt, fruit, cereal for breakfast (small grocer near by). Also loved the location - Central Park and Columbus Circle only 3 blocks - Time Square, Theaters, Rockefeller Center were a nice walk. Easy to get a cab and very close to the subway. Wish I could go back tomorrow. Thanks to the staff and everyone who was so friendly and helped make our vacation so amazing!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
You made our day that much brighter with such glowing compliments of your experience at the Manhattan Club! The centric location in the heart of midtown Manhattan makes it a great place to explore the city and have a home away from home right in the city. We wish you could back tomorrow also! It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again on your next visit to NYC. Thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

A very convenient location for Times Square and all Midtown destinations and less than one block away from the subway. We had a one bedroom suite which was just right for our family of four. The walls however seemed quite thin (or we just happened to have very loud neighbours) as we could clearly hear what was being said next door on a couple of occasions. Yes, there was a $25 a day hospitality charge, however there was free Internet, coffee, tea and popcorn was replenished daily and if you were around, free hot drinks and cookies in the member's lounge in the afternoon. Before arriving we received at least four invitations to the RCI presentation which we duly ignored. On site we received one written invitation and one call about this. We declined and were left to enjoy the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
We’re delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and the convenient midtown location. Please don’t hesitate to let us know should you experience any noise disruptions of another guest, as we hope to create a pleasant and enjoyable stay for everyone. We hope you have another opportunity to visit the Manhattan Club again during your next visit to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed here for a family weekend. The shower didn't work, the air conditioning was very noisy, the walls were paper-thin. The elevators were super slow. Only two of the 4 seemed to be working most of the time. The pull out couch was incredibly uncomfortable. It is my understanding that some of the rooms had been redone. Apparently on the 12th floor, this was not done. Location was great, walked everywhere, took in a show - Book of Mormon - fabulous!!!

There are so many other choices of places to stay in NYC, go elsewhere.







the

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
While we were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time in NYC, we couldn’t be more disappointed than learning the difficulties you encountered with your accommodations. Should you consider another stay, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our staff so that we can get you back on track to enjoying your stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope you’ll give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stayed at the Manhattan Club for a girls' weekend. We went for shopping and theatre, and this place is a great stay for both. It's within walking distance of Central Park, theatres, and 5th Avenue. It was surprisingly quiet, the suites were spacious, and 5 women were surprisingly comfortable in a one-bedroom suite. I even found the other residents friendly and helpful. Nice bar/restaurant on a top floor.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
New York City is a wonderful destination for a girl’s weekend and it’s great that all 5 of you were comfortable in your suite at the Manhattan Club! Our midtown Manhattan location has so much to offer with the best in dining, shopping and attractions just steps away. We’re glad that everyone had a good time and we hope you’ll think of us the next time you need a getaway in NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We also took advantage of the Living Social deal, which, if you add up the regular cost of the room and the gift card we received, saved us about $160. Yes, the tax wasn't included but it was a relatively minor inconvenience.

Ours was the opposite experience of the previous poster. We were able to check in at 12:30, our executive junior suite (22nd floor) was quite nice and we had no problems with staff or the whole timeshare element. When making the actual reservation (both Living Social and Manhattan Club do have you jumping through a few hoops), we specified that we weren't interested in the timeshare chat and were weren't bothered once.

I have heard that the Metropolitan Suites on the second floor were less impressive.

The location was perfect for our needs...within a few blocks of the Central Park Zoo and MOMA...and the N & R subway line was a block up, as was a delicious dinner at Trattoria Dell'Arte.

Room Tip: Check for specials and specificy no interest in timeshare, unless that actually floats your boat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
The time taken to share your positive experience at the Manhattan Club is sincerely appreciated. Being in the heart of midtown Manhattan is one of greatest features as this location offers the best of NYC just steps away. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I booked this thru living social vacations and what a mistake. The folks were very unhelpful and they hide additional charges till after the fact! The service was rotten the people unfriendly and way to many solicitations for purchases of time share when you are having a rotten time. The rooms are barely adequate based on the descriptions and they didn't let us check in before 4pm though the no view room we stayed in had message lights from 2 days before. Somehow I think they just didn't want to be bothered. You are much better off with a hotel than this place

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
It’s difficult to understand if the issues encountered were primarily from the 3rd party booking site or with the hotel itself, however it is clear that neither experience were what you had expected. Our guest’s experience is very important to us and your feedback helps us gauge our success. Your comments will be forwarded to the appropriate department for further review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and for the chance to improve your impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Family Hotel in New York City
#144 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manhattan Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.