We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Wellington Hotel to your Saves list
Wellington Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019-3830 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Exclusive 28% OFF!!!
Ranked #324 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We booked a room at the Wellington at the last minute and were. Just thankful to find a place to stay in NYC. The room was $389 for the night + fees. The room was tiny and uncomfortably hot. I don't think the air unit was working in our room, but we we're too tired to say anything about it. All the lights flickered when we turned them on. The location is the only thing that saves this hotel from being a total disaster. And, the front desk was very helpful when we needed them to print something out from our phone.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    1,740
    1,079
    426
    272
See reviews for
912
1,471
222
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
abu dhabi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stayed twice now at this Hotel, once on business and another time with family of 4. This hotel is priced very competitively considering it's location is just minutes away from Times squire and Central Park, although the hotel decor looks tied and good do with a revamp, don't let that put you off. Great location, and great price. Greek restaurant below is also worth a visit if you like Mediterranean food.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clancy, Montana
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stayed here recently as part of a group trip. Our group (a theatre school group from the Western US) was primarily in NYC so that we could experience Broadway, etc. The location of the Wellington was ideal. We also really appreciated that we could have breakfast in our room since the room had a fridge and Electric Kettle. Room size was surprisingly large for NYC. Plenty of elevator space. Shower took a while to warm up but then had great water pressure. Shower liner was too short for our tub so we ended up flooding the floor pretty regularly - oops.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Before setting off for New York I contacted the hotel to see if we could get a room on a higher floor to avoid some of the street noise. Whilst they didn't promise anything when we arrived we found we had a room on the 27th floor! The views from the room were great.
The room was clean and tidy, room service was good although the blind we reported as faulty was never fixed.
The hotelnis in an excellent location, just 10 minutes walk from Times Square in one direction and 5 minutes from Central Park in the other.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

My mom and I stayed at the Wellington for 7 nights, in the oldest part of the hotel. There are stairs that you must use to get to the old elevators. The both elevators had issues, sometimes the door would not open once you were at your floor - we were told to push the alarm button and the floor number button and sure enough the door opened. A lady riding the elevator with us started to panic and because there was not a fan circulating air it was a little warm. An electrical breaker blew in our room because of the blow dryer and a/c on the same circuit - the maintenance fellow was speedy at fixing it and blamed it on old wiring. The walls surrounding electrical outlets were very soft (moisture), plugging in anything caused the outlet to move. The bedding and towels were very clean, the carpet was stained, dust bunnies along the baseboards - could have been cleaner, room smelled old also, sheer curtains were filthy. I don't think I would stay there again as Wifi was not included and we had to upgrade to a king bed from a double for $20.00 per night.

Room Tip: Book the highest floor possible as street noise is constant. We stayed on the 12th floor on the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Having seen a few other comments about noise, we asked for and got a room on the 20th floor. Our room was actually a 2 bedroom 'suite' with 2 bathrooms (a very welcome bonus we hadn't expected). The rooms were very clean and with comfy beds. As someone else mentioned, the hotel is being renovated and work was being done on our floor whilst we were there but we didn't find this intrusive. Our bathrooms were modern-looking so we probably had one of the newly renovated rooms.

Location couldn't be better - one block from Broadway, with a subway outside the door and Central Park 5 minutes walk away it was perfect for getting around. Times Square was a few blocks walk down 7th Ave, near enough to get to the centre of things quickly but far enough away from the noise.

Plenty of places to get breakfast and dinner close by - and the best coffee stand in New York right across the road on the corner of 55th St! We would book again if we go back to New York

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Little dated but that added character to the place was clean and tidy and definitely no construction going none that we could see . Fantastic location very close to Central Park, five minute walk to Times Square Broadway not far either,subways very close too ,an excellent base to stay at due to location being close to many iconic attractions would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019-3830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.