We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Wellington Hotel to your Saves list
Wellington Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive 28% Off
Ranked #334 of 464 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The hotel is within easy access of Central Park as it's only a few minutes walk away. Hotel is quite tired and dated though clean. We had a double aspect room on the corner of the hotel and therefore had good view of New York city life unfolding!
Staff efficient and friendly. We didn't eat in the hotel though did order some drinks which were expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    1,958
    1,222
    464
    299
See reviews for
1,060
1,664
244
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Great location, staff friendly, cheap and nice rooms. Comfortable beds after long days of sightseeing. Diner downstairs attached to the hotel was nice food, a shame about one snotty waitress. Very close to central park and times square.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsdall, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My grandmother and I occasionally take trips together, and we decided to go to New York City. On this trip, we stayed at the Wellington. For the price, you can't beat the location. It's important for me to find a hotel that's centrally located so Nana doesn't have to take a lot of long walks that would exhaust her. This one perfectly suited out needs. The hotel itself is a bit dated, but it has a certain charm about it. They upgraded us to a two bedroom suite, which I thought was nice. The bedrooms and bathroom were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The views were nice as well. We didn't spend much time in the rooms, aside from sleeping, as we were sightseeing. So we never encountered any problems with noise. All in all, I was pleased, and I believe my grandmother was too. We'll definitely consider the Wellington on return visits to NYC.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Hotels are cookie cutter and all look the same, until we went to the Wellington Hotel. It was clear we were stepping back into the early 1930's. The hotel is an obvious combination of hotels that, over the years, have been bought out and converged to be one hotel. It has a few points that may be bothersome to people used to the cookie cutter hotels, like small, slow elevators, aged pieces, and smaller hallways. But this place really had charm. It was clean, well kept, and the staff was super nice. A couple HUGE bonuses were there was a subway entrance right out the side door. If you walk out the front lobby and turn your head to the right...less than a block away is Central Park. You're a five minute walk from Times Square. And this place has charm and will stick in your memory (for good reasons) for years to come.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite separated by a small kitchenette was wonderful. It really was like having two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Close to Times Square and few blocks away from Central Park. The rooms are very small. We checked in early, the receptionist offered to store our luggage. When we came back, the bell man said oUr luggage was in our room, went up to our room and found out that our kuggage is still in their storage. The walls our very thin, I could hear the guest talking at other rooms. Considering it's location, I think the price we paid in staying at this hotel is relatively good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We just had four nights at the Wellington Hotel in NYC. The location was fabulous, the staff were very pleasant and the cost of our one bed suite was a lot less than any other hotel in that area. This hotel has no facilities except a diner below it although there were plenty of other diners across the street.
The suite was very tired. The blinds did not stay down, the air con was too noisy to have on at night and most of the light bulbs did not work. The worst thing was that the kitchenette did not have one single item of cutlery or crockery so actually self catering was impossible, which is one of the reasons we had a suite.
I would recommend this suite based on the location and it's friendly vibe, but be aware of the downsides.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

For the money you can pay for other hotels in this area this is a good option. We stayed two nights to "do" the sights and with two older teenager daughters we did them all from here. Rooms were rather old style but in a characterful way not grotty. Bad points TV remote did not work ( not a big issue) air con unit was sooooo old and loud and loo blocked in one room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.