We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel needs to get with the 21st century” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Wellington Hotel to your Saves list
Wellington Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019-3830 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Exclusive 28% OFF!!!
Ranked #324 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good hotel needs to get with the 21st century”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Had booked standard room and got told at checkin we'd be getting upgraded to Queen room which was roomy enough for NY standards. Room was clean but heating was noisy when on, you couldn't get it to work when you wanted don't know if it was on a timer or we were just unlucky. My main gripe was wifi access... There was no free access in public areas we knew when we booked we'd have to pay to get it in the room but when you do pay it only covers you for one device which I think is quite stingy. Lifts take a while to come too, there's are 3 lifts but not very big and half the time they were full when eventually stopping at our floor. Would get a room on lower floors and use the stairs (we were on 14th in a corner room) good location and subway just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    1,740
    1,079
    427
    272
See reviews for
912
1,471
222
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I actually stayed in this hotel back in May'09. The hotel was booked on a whim, as me & my mum were visiting Boston, MA. The hotel was booked by my sister & as it was only a short (2 days!) visit, it was important we stayed somewhere relatively cheap & very central.
After a horrendous bus journey from Boston to NYC, we were eager to check into our hotel ASAP! After checking into our room, which was on the 10th floor, we were shocked to find a chamber maid sitting & watching a Spanish language soap opera. It was one of the funniest sights & when we tried to ask her if the room was ready, it turned out that she spoke no English & appeared unfazed by the fact that we were there. We returned to the reception & complained that the room given wasn't ready & were immediately given keys for another one on the 30th floor. Our "new" room was in actual fact, two rooms joined together & we had a lovely view of Central Park. All in all, the previous incident in the first room was all forgotten & once we had a bit of a rest, we were pleased to explore our surroundings.
The Wellington is ideally located to many NYC sights. Furthermore, as this was just a short visit, I found that the location of this hotel was spot on. Whilst I didn't have the time to get properly acquainted with the Wellington hotel, due to its location & room comfort, as well as the price, I might consider staying there again.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I traveled to NYC last week for a bachelorette party. There were 11 women, myself included, and we chose the Wellington. The stay was perfect! Check in was a breeze, they upgraded our rooms to newly renovated suites and everyone there was very friendly! The noise level was not bad. The only issue I saw was the elevators were tiny and very slow. Other than that it was great! The location was AMAZING!! When you walk out of the hotel...to the left was Central Park and the right was Times Square. Couldn't have asked for a better location. I will definitely be staying here again!!

Room Tip: At check in ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

You don't want to set your bare foot on the floor of your room in that hotel as it;s very dirty. You're afraid of using the bathroom as you are afraid to get infection that's how dirty it is. You see that it's not right from the moment you enter the hotel, but you see how really bad it is when you enter your room. The condition is so bad that it dos not matter how they try to clean it (if they try at all) -- it can't be cleaned to be clean, as the carpet is very old and everything else is very old and dirty. Stay away from that hotel as far as you can!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Basic hotel but in a great location to explore the sites of the city, Times Square is just a short walk, Central Park is very near, and radio city is also very walkable.
A hotel which is has history but just adds to the interest of the area.
Fantastic value for money especially being so close to everywhere we wanted to go.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Cant fault this hotel at all, first time to New York and is in an ideal place, 2 minutes from Central park and Times square. Subway right at the door. Friendly and helpful staff. We stayed on the 23rd floor, was for my 40th birthday and they upgraded us from a room to a suite and gave me a goody bag with wine, photo frame, keyring and bottle opener, very thoughtful. Had read on here before going about the noise, the heating did come on quite noisy early in the morning, but we were so tired it didn't bother us at all. Didn't need to wait long for the lift and the room was cleaned every day. The Park café was great too, we had breakfast one day and dinner one day, very generous portions with reasonable prices. Had room service the last day. Loved every minute and planning to go back next year. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be in amongst it all and easy access to all the sights and shopping.

Room Tip: My boyfriend emailed the hotel before we went to tell them it was for my birthday and could we have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Moline, IL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I spent the weekend in Manhattan with a friend and was very pleased with the location of this hotel. It is located close to Central Park, next to Carnegie Hall, and on the same avenue as Times Square. We used the Greyline Hop on Hop Off tours that picked up and dropped off nearby. The rooms are small but clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is very small, but I am told that is not unusual for New York City. The staff was very friendly and there is Greek restaurant in the building. There is also a very nice diner in the building where we ate breakfast. The only complaint is a rattle in the bathroom pipes every morning, I didn't need an alarm clock! We will most likely stay at the Wellington on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019-3830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.