We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good locale - Mediocre room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Wellington Hotel to your Saves list
Wellington Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019-3830 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Exclusive 28% OFF!!!
Ranked #324 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good locale - Mediocre room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great location but hotel has seen better days. The lobby gives you the impression you are in a nice, grand hotel but the rooms tell another story. Our room was small, outdated and bed was too bouncy and noisy. No concierge, no night security so anyone could walk in. I went to visit my family at the Hilton a few blocks away and there is something to be said about the chain hotels. Next time --I'll pay a little more to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    1,742
    1,080
    428
    272
See reviews for
916
1,471
223
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a total of 12 nights. The rooms were comfortable but aged and it shows. The staff were in general good, a few exceptional and one in particular was appalling and we left 2 days early and moved to the Sheraton a few blocks down because of how rude, insulting and demeaning he was. The night manager. We tried to calmly reason with this brute on 3 separate occasions but he was so mean it really tarnished our whole trip. In fairness, after 10 days were paid there was a problem with my Mum's credit card. It was difficult to resolve due to the time difference in Australia. This was explained to staff and though the extra nights were actually covered with an authorisation, we were locked out of our room twice and my mother forced to sit in the lobby for a few hours like a naughty child. He spoke to her like a criminal and was very personal in the attacking comments he made to her. He upset my mum and sister so greatly we asked my extremely professional business woman aunt to deal with him on her behalf. He was just as unfeeling and utterly unreasonable with her. This was a small problem and if he handled it with any level of professionalism it could've been dealt with easily, but his arrogance and condescending nature changed it to a really heartbreaking end to what would've been a nice trip. Until he is fired, DON'T STAY HERE is my advice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is well located for sightseeing in New York. It is not a great hotel though. The staff are friendly and the room was clean - the room was small but I suppose that is to be expected in New York.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Canceled flight and needed a place to crash for the night. The location is good, 10 mins north of Times square by foot and close to the subway. Room was dated and smelled musty but could not really complain for the price

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I'm sorry to say I was disappointed in this hotel, although I would give it 10 out 10 for location it was the worst place I have ever stayed in on my 6 trips to the USA. The bedroom was small the bathroom was small the air con made a funny noise. On arrival I was unpacking and about to hang my clothes in the small wardrobe but there was that much dust on the rail I had to go to reception ( with dust on my hand to show ) and complain, she said sorry and she would send a housekeeper to clean it while we were out, this did not happen, I cleaned it myself with a damp tissue and took it to reception to show that I had cleaned it myself and she said "sorry" and then " so it's clean then" . Well I thought let it go,the bed although small was clean and comfy and we weren't going to be in the room that much. All in all we had a great hol and most of the staff in hotel were helpful but I will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our first visit to New York couldn't have been happier with the location and were pleased with the facilities, very basic, not fancy, but as we were busy enjoying the city it didn't matter. Only complaint was the heater didnt work properly and it was very cold.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centereach, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Wellington was great. It wasn't fancy but an excellent bargain. The room was nice and clean. The people were very nice and funny and made you feel at home.The staff were very helpful and very friendly They upgraded us to a king room for free without us even asking,The best thing about the Wellington was the location. It was excellent, a block from Broadway, a few blocks from Times Square, 3 blocks from Central Park and a few blocks from Fifth Avenue and of course...right across from the Famous Carnegie Deli. We look forward to staying there again. Thank you.

Room Tip: Sime bathrooms were updated and a bit nicer. You have to go to lobby for ice so you may want to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019-3830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.