We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Boutique Hotel in Quiet Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bentley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Bentley Hotel to your Saves list
The Bentley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #212 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Boutique Hotel in Quiet Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This upper east side hotel was not in the best location, but the views from the room were fabulous though. The accommodations were quite comfortable. I wished there had been room service though after a very long day. There is a restaurant on site, but it did not open until 9:30 pm on a Saturday night. The lobby bar only offered very limited prepaid deli sandwiches & not a lot really close to pick something up. I think during business days the restaurant opened much earlier. I booked through a discount site and was very pleased with the value. The front desk staff could have been friendlier. While I thought the hotel was comfortable overall, I probably wouldn't stay there again because the location wasn't convenient for me.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear SCGirl14,

Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review from your recent stay The Bentley Hotel on Trip Advisor. We welcome all guest feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve the product and service we offer. I appreciate all of the helpful information and am sure other travelers will find your review useful. Our hotel is a comfortable, clean and convenient place with friendly and fun people all dedicated to providing quality guest service. If you ever need assistance at our hotel, please contact me directly at gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com.
I hope we have a chance to welcome you back the next time you come to New York.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    511
    243
    92
    66
See reviews for
337
471
92
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Nice hotel, staff friendly, helpful, able to check in early. Request a view room. Shower is not great, leaks. Beds - doubles seemed short, but linens and mattress were nice. Walk to subway 6 blocks. Restaurants easy walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear John F,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review from your recent stay The Bentley Hotel on Trip Advisor. We welcome all guest feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve the product and service we offer. I am glad you enjoyed the service of our team and the location of the hotel and view from your room. If you should ever need assistance at The Bentley, please contact me directly at gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you and your family will return the next time you travel to New York.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Awesome hotel...great location...very friendly and helpful manager.
Will stay in the bentley each time we visit NYC...
Everything we needed was resolved by the staff immediately..great in house restaurant and bar

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear sok72,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at The Bentley Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your experience and had a chance to visit our Lobby Bar. It is the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail before or after an evening in our great city. At The Bentley Hotel our amenities and outlets are all designed for the comfort and convenience of our guests. In addition, many of our rooms offer a phenomenal view of the 59th Street Bridge and East River. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Bentley the next time you visit New York.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimac, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a great hotel! We booked ahead of time but were upgraded to a suite upon arrival, and we had a special price reservation. Great location near subway and 2 blocks from great restaurants. Excellent!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Julia S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review from your most recent stay at The Bentley Hotel. It is awesome to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and that our front office team had a positive impact on your experience. We are lucky to have a staff of genuine and humble people all committed to providing quality guest service. We are here 24 hours a day to assist with any request. Thank you for the great comments and we hope to have an opportunity o welcome you and your family back to The Bentley the next time your travels bring you to New York.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel was very nice. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff that we interacted with were very helpful and polite. Nothing negative to say about our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear janice g,

Thank you for the great feedback on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled you enjoyed your experience and the service of our team met your expectations. Our Housekeeping staff works hard to provide a clean and comfortable environment for our guests. It is refreshing to hear recognition for their efforts. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Bentley Hotel.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Nice, small hotel, great service. Pleasant, comfortable corner room with lovely view of East River and bridge. Great location for that upper east side area. Only small deficit is access to food inside hotel. We hope to make this our NY home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Burton A. M,

Thank you for the review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel. We are just a few blocks away from Central Park and have some great local restaurants and shopping nearby as well. Our rooms are a perfect comfortable retreat after a busy day exploring NYC. If you ever need assistance at our hotel, please contact me directly at gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com. We also hope that The Bentley is now your home away from home in New York!

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel was overall good except the Front Desk was rude, disrespectful, and inefficient. I was shocked at how I was treated. The remainder of the hotel was good, but from my experience with the Front Desk, I would not return here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Mark,Mr S,

Thank you for posting a review and also responding to our guest survey. We use feedback to improve the product and service we offer. I would like to apologize for your initial experience. This is very unusual and not in-line with our service standards. I have sent you a private message via Trip Advisor and email to discuss your experience further.

Our team is committed to providing flexible and genuine service. This is not a typical experience for our guests and we would like to address accordingly.


Thank you for your patience and understanding and I look forward to your reply

Sincerely.

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#113 Business Hotel in New York City
#125 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Family Hotel in New York City
#208 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side - Hotel features panoramic views of Manhattan skyline, East River and the renowned, 59th St Bridge Be sure to have dinner and/or a cocktail in Prime at The Bentley restaurant. The kosher, continental menu features many great dishes that will not disappoint! Open Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 10:30pm and Saturday, after sun-down, until 12:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Hotel Bentley New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bentley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.