We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Travel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bentley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Bentley Hotel to your Saves list
The Bentley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Exeter
1 review
“Business Travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Pros: Comfortable rooms, bathrooms, friendly and accommodating staff. Good restaurant. Great views. Perfect business travel hotel. European clientele - makes for interesting meet and greets. Con: in room breakfast order did not show up.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Jim S

Thank you for doing a review in Trip Advisor for your stay at The Bentley Hotel. Our staff is committed to providing a comfortable and relaxing experience to all of our guests. It is great to see that our hotel served you perfectly during your business trip. I am sorry if the breakfast you ordered did not show up. I understand that we resolved this matter by offering you complimentary food and drink items at our Cafe Bar that I hope you were able to enjoy. If you should ever need assistance here at The Bentley, do not hesitate to reach me via email at jdestreza@bentleyhotelnyc.com. Thank you for the review and we hope to hear from you soon.

Regards,

JP Destreza
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    556
    267
    97
    69
See reviews for
375
511
101
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

For our annual shopping trip to the Big Apple, my friend and I stay in various hotels in different parts of Manhattan. This was our first time on the upper east side. The hotel itself was well appointed and the staff, very friendly and accommodating. The only drawback was the fact that the closest subway was 6 long blocks away, and being close to the bridge, was not very close to many stores or restaurants.

The beds were very comfortable, the furniture a little dated, and the bathroom very small. That said, there was a lovely patio out front on which you can enjoy a morning coffee and all the staff we encountered made us feel quite welcome.

There was quite a bit of construction outside and the first morning, we could hear the workers talking to each other at 5:30 am. On the other mornings, the cranes and machinery were quite loud.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Lori B,

Thank you for your review of The Bentley Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and that the service of the hotel met your expectations. I am glad to know that you took advantage of our lovely patio feature during your morning coffee.

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bentley the next time you travel to New York.

Regards,


JP Destreza
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I booked this hotel, having never stayed on the upper east side before (I'm a lower east side fan), because of a great rate and the good reviews here on TripAdvisor - and I wasn't disappointed. The incredibly friendly staff who checked me in were nice as can be, and when I told them I was a sensitive sleeper they put me in a fantastic corner room, high up with a view of the bridge and away from the elevators and ice machines. The room itself was gorgeous - surprisingly large, compared to most of the hotel rooms I've stayed in over the years in NYC - even the bathroom had some room to move. The bed was very comfortable, and the decor was very fresh and modern.

I would most certainly stay here again, and will check it first the next time I plan a trip to NYC.

Room Tip: The corner room facing the bridge gave me an amazing view of a rainbow after a storm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Muse0Fire,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. It is great to see that you enjoyed your hotel experience with us and that we were able to accommodate your special request. At The Bentley Hotel we are fortunate to have humble and genuine people all committed to providing quality, personal and flexible guest service. In addition, most of our rooms offer some of the most unique views in Manhattan. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Regards,


JP Destreza
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed at the Bentley from 16th - 19th May 2014. A lovely hotel just off the beaten track but accessible to all the sights of New York either by walking/subway/buses or taxi!
On arrival we were upgraded to a junior suite which was most kind of the hotel. The suite consisted of a lounge, a bedroom and bathroom all of which were large and airy. If there was a complaint to be made it was that you had to pay for coffee,tea amd water ($8!) in the room. C'mon Bentley this does not happen in the 21st Century! Wine beer and lots of nibbles available but again very pricey! WIFI very pricey and again should be available free of charge.
The bed was large and comfortable with plenty of channels on the large screen to to view and also good views all around if you left the blinds open with the lights off!
As the saying goes - the city that doesn't sleep is an accurate description as the traffic goes past the hotel 24 hours a day and a lot of the drivers have one of their hands on the horn! You get used to it and it provides a distraction while you wait for your partner to get ready!!!
There are a lot of improvements being made to the hotel and the general area but this didn't bother us at all. All the staff were attentive and helpful with directions to where we wanted to go.
We ate breakfast each day at Ritz Diner on corner of 1st and East 62nd street and had a few drinks at Baker Street bar on corner of 1st and East 63rd street both recommended, especially the drinks at the end of the day!
Overall we had a great time in this manic city and would certainly stay at the Bentley again and we recommend it both to all our friends and to anybody that is thinking of staying there!

Room Tip: Higher the better and the south side is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP D, Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear tonyb43,


Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled you and your group had a great experience and that we were able to accommodate you in a more spacious room during your stay. We took note of your comments regarding the wi-fi/coffee and will review with the executive team. If you ever need a contact at The Bentley, kindly reach me via email at jdestreza@bentleyhotelnyc.com. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Regards,


JP Destreza
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had a mini suite at this hotel for a weekend. The room was pretty small but not too small, but certainly not a suite, mini or otherwise. The closet was tiny and filled by the bathrobe, ironing board, iron and safe - but at least it had those things. The bed was very comfortable and the room and bathroom were very clean and everything worked, except the TV got poor reception. We had great views of the city and the cable car to Roosevelt Island but we also had the view and noise from traffic going on and off the 59th Street Bridge. there are 3 elevators, but it seemed like only one was working at any given time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Steven M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review from your recent stay The Bentley Hotel on Trip Advisor. We welcome all guest feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve the product and service we offer. I am glad you enjoyed the service of our team and the location of the hotel and view from your room. If you should ever need assistance at The Bentley, please contact me directly at gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I booked a ten day stay in this hotel due to its proximity to the hospital on 70th st. My mother has Multiple Esclerosis and needs a lot of rest. She has not been very well and that it why she has flown all the way from Nicaragua to receive medical attention. 8 days into her stay her key gets deactivated. she goes down to the lobby and the people on the front desk say she hasnt payed for the hotel, that her reservation has concluded and that she is not allowed in her room (they kicked her out on tuesday, and she had not only reserved but paid in full for thursday) . I happen to live in NYC and had to leave work to deal with the issue. They had my mom waiting in the lobby for two hours. she wasnt feeling well and needed to rest. after two hours of her waiting, when i arrived they confirmed we had paid everything and finally let her in the room. This is unacceptable. If a sick costumer is saying that she paid, the hotel must do everything to find this information, instead of having her look for proof of payment. so, if you want to be denied access to the room you paid for, i suggest you stay here. this is unacceptable if you are paying 500 dollars a night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

During April this year our family from Australia made the trek to visit with us here in New York. We wanted to have them close by as our one bedroom apartment could not accommodate them. Of course the Bentley was on the top of our list as we are neighbors. After securing a very good rate for a weeks accommodation over the holiday period we sauntered over to ask a few questions of the staff. They were so very helpful, and eager to assist us. The family arrived and all their needs were met by the friendly staff. We couldn't have asked for a better situation. It was excellent.
When the beloved teddy was left behind the helpful staff had it all ready and waiting for its collection - thank you thank you thank you !!!!
But...
On our last night a dinner at the roof top restaurant - PRIME - was eagerly anticipated as the views are indeed spectacular despite the construction going on all around. Unfortunately this was not as expected. The quality of the restaurant service was poor and I am being generous. As resident new yorkers we will be reluctant to recommend it due to the wait staff inattention, lackadaisical attitude and overall feeling of being a nuisance to them. Our reservation was early, there were not many patrons in the restaurant yet and we did not expect to linger long … the food was the redeeming feature, though way over priced. What a disappointment and it left a sour taste about the experience at the Bentley.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Maureen M,

Thank you for the great comments from your family's experience at The Bentley Hotel. Our staff is committed to providing a comfortable and relaxing experience to all of our guests. It is great to see that our hotel was convenient and an extension of your home. I will be sure to share your review with the team. I am sorry for your experience at Prime. I will forward your feedback to their management team as well. Although managed and operated separately , the team at Prime is equally committed to quality and service. It was a pleasure to host your family during their visit with you in New York. If you should ever need assistance here at The Bentley, do not hesitate to reach me via email. Thank you for the review and we hope to hear from you soon.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#123 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
#186 Family Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side - Hotel features panoramic views of Manhattan skyline, East River and the renowned, 59th St Bridge Be sure to have dinner and/or a cocktail in Prime at The Bentley restaurant. The kosher, continental menu features many great dishes that will not disappoint! Open Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 10:30pm and Saturday, after sun-down, until 12:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Hotel Bentley New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bentley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.