We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bentley Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bentley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bentley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 452 hotels in New York City
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Very good facilities excellent the only thing I put a but is this a little retired but is justified with good attention Miss Su is a professional and does a job excellent makes you feel good when you arrive

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Ezequiel M,

Thank you for your great comment about your recent stay at the Bentley Hotel. It is great to hear that my team was able to make you feel comfortable and even went above and beyond for you. I am very happy that you enjoyed the facilities as well. Let us know if you need any assist assistance for your future reservations, I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    418
    426
    198
    84
    63
See reviews for
284
389
75
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SouthGa
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I found The Bentley Hotel on Hotwire and got a pretty great rate - $150 a night on the Upper East Side on Tony Awards Weekend - so I was a bit anxious. Hotwire rated it a four star, though, and it didn't disappoint. Nicer than the average Hilton or Crown Plaza - nice, relatively large rooms with up-to-date, even funky decor, nice bath products, mini-bar inthe room, etc. The check-in staff was friendly and helpful, and the only "problem" I had - a non-working iron - was addressed quickly with a working one delivered to the room within a few minutes. The location offers river views from some rooms, and my room was quiet at night. The only downside - the hotel is just a bit out of the way being about a block from the East River, it's a bit of a hike to the nearest subway station, but if you're a walker in pretty good shape, the wonderful shops and restaurants of the Upper East Side are just a few minutes walk away. If not, the friendly door man is happy to help you grab a cab. Overall, a very good choice, especially if you get a "deal" like I did. I've paid substantially more for an adequate Holiday Inn in Manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear SouthGATravelGuy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review on trip advisor. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed while staying with us. It is always wonderful to hear that our guests are having a great experience, which is also very motivating. I look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels bring you to the city.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I booked my room on Hotels.com to accommodate a last minute stay due to a flight cancellation so this may explain why I got what had to be one of the worst rooms - 2nd floor right next to the stairwell and no view. The room was clean but poorly lit and dark decor so it was fine for sleeping, but I was more than ready to vacate my room and booked an earlier flight to be able to do so the next morning. Hotels.com has this listed as a 4-star hotel for some reason when in fact it is only a 3-star hotel by most standards. The room was big which was nice and the water pressure in the shower was fantastic and the bed was comfortable so I got the basics which is all I needed. But this hotel is not close to anything and in a terrible location if you want to be able to walk somewhere to enjoy the city. Road noise from the expressway ramp is unpleasant as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear L0vett,

Thank you for your honest and valuable feedback on trip advisor. I am so sorry to hear that you were not as comfortable as you should have been while staying with us. We always try to improve our standards and level of customer service therefore we definitely appreciate your feedback. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly next time your travels bring you to New York, so that I personally can set you up for a nice room overlooking the East River for you to enjoy our great views. I look forward to welcoming you.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a great option for budge travelers! Was a great location for the price - only a 10 minute walk until your in the thick of it all! Also a great diner just up the block and a Starbucks.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Fridge and hairdryer also provided!

All in all a great place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear maree1093,

Thank you for your kind feedback about your recent stay. I am happy to hear that you had a great time while staying with us and I hope to be welcoming you back soon when your travels bring you to the city.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Great deal. Our stay was perfect just watch for additional charges which when questioned were taken off. Try "the smith for breakfast 2nd ave @51 st fabulous go early or
Call to get a table. I diner up the street was terrible and dirty

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Dlm711,

Thank you for your kind review on trip advisor. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you next time your travels bring you to the city.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I stay 2 nights at the Bentley and it was fantastic. The check-in staff was so sweet and accommodating to not just us, but even the grumpy people in front of me. On the first night, the front desk called a near-by restaurant and asked them to stay open a little later so that we could have dinner there. We also had a few drinks downstairs and the bartender was very generous with his pours. Our room was very nice. We had a great view on the northwest side of the building. We were a little disappointed that there was no room service and because the on-site restaurant was kosher, they did not have breakfast on Saturday (even though it is advertised in the room). The restaurant has fantastic views, but is pretty pricey and we just got drinks. Other good restaurants can be found a block or so away. Overall, I'd recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Higher up the better, but bridge views let in a lot of sun and may be hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Ecknight88,

I am so happy to hear that your recent visit was pleasant and you had a wonderful time staying with us. Thank you for your kind words, I am delighted that everybody was able to assist your needs and made you feel comfortable. I am glad you also found great restaurants and bars nearby, we truly are in a great neighborhood surrounded by culinary gems. I look forward to welcoming you next time your travels bring you to the city, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Bentley hotel was clean and well furnished. The staff not very efficient during our stay toilet got blocked the second night and it took two requests and 1 and 1/2 hours before someone came to look at it. The second issue was the light bulb needed to be changed in the bathroom and once again it took two requests before someone came to fix it. We were at the front of the building and even though we were on the twelve floor you could still hear road traffic.
Overall the room was good the service and efficiency definitely needs some work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear sandra s,

Thank you for your valuable and honest feedback about you recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your requests were not fulfilled in time and that you didn't feel as comfortable as you should have while staying with us. I definitely appreciate your comments as we are always trying to improve our level of customer service. Next time your travels bring you to the city please do not hesitate to reach out to me so I can personally take care of you. I look forward to welcoming you.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#129 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#131 Business Hotel in New York City
#209 Family Hotel in New York City
#233 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side - Hotel features panoramic views of Manhattan skyline, East River and the renowned, 59th St Bridge Be sure to have dinner and/or a cocktail in Prime at The Bentley restaurant. The kosher, continental menu features many great dishes that will not disappoint! Open Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 10:30pm and Saturday, after sun-down, until 12:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Reservation Counter and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Hotel Bentley New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bentley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.