We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - not what we expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bentley Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bentley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bentley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 451 hotels in New York City
Utuado, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OK - not what we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel advertises views of the East River and 59th Street Bridge ... it may have had the views at one time but no longer. The rooms are very small with only the bare necessities. We brought our own luggage both up to and down from the room - not a big deal but the front desk had told us they would do it. The hotel was clean but disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Virginia C,

Thank you for you for your recent posting on trip advisor, we definitely do appreciate your feedback as it always helps us to improve our standards as well as our level of service. I do apologize that the view of the room did not meet your expectations. It always depends on the room type that was booked. Unfortunately not all of our room types are facing the bridge and river and if this is your preferred view I would recommend booking a Deluxe King or a Junior Suite if you would ever be so kind and join us again.
In regards to the room size kindly note that our average room size is about 250 sq. ft to 300 sq. ft which is quite spacious comparing to a usual New York sized room which is about 150 sq. ft. at other hotels.

Again I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your visit to New York.

Please do not hesitate to contact me next time your travels bring you to NYC so I can personally make sure that you are reserved for a room according to your needs.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    403
    435
    194
    84
    63
See reviews for
259
372
72
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chillicothe, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Wonderful hotel! Most comfortable bed and linens. Esmee and Azzy were particularly helpful in teaching us how to navigate the subway system, providing maps and detailed directions. We did not dine in the hotel's restaurant, as it was kosher, but the menu seemed impressive. The drinks at the bar were wonderful. Staff did everything they could to meet our needs - bringing up ice in the ice bucket, and silverware! We are going to stay here again during our next visit to NYC

One word of caution - and not about the hotel. Don't take the bicycle driven taxi rides. They are a HUGE rip off!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Junior Suite. The view was amazing, and it was spacious compaired to other hotels we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear JMarie681,

Thank you so much for your great review on trip advisor. I am so delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time at our property and moreover that my team was able to assist you with all your needs. Such great feedback is always very refreshing and I will definitely share your great experience with my colleagues. I look forward to welcoming you next time your travels bring you to NYC, please do not hesitate to reach out to me for future assistance.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Given the sumptuous photographs and self-aggrandizing found on their website, the Bentley Hotel bills itself as a luxury experience, but only somewhat delivers. Touting a location that is practically in the East River is questionable at best, but a little (well, a lot) of walking is not unusual in these parts. Still, it remains a decent trek to get to the nearest subway, or a semi-decent restaurant for that matter. (The one on premises, based on breakfast alone, was not worth the flyer advertising it. If it’s impossible to discern a difference between the bacon and the sausage in taste and consistency, something is not being done correctly.) But this is not a restaurant review (luckily for them).

The hotel itself is a non-descript square of a building, announcing itself only in the large silver-hued ‘500’ sign to designate the address. It’s a bad sign when the cab driver asks if I’m sure there’s a hotel in that location, but just before we drive into the river it comes into view. On this muggy day, the lobby has not yet turned the AC to high, and I swat away a mosquito (that eventually follows us into the elevator).

Check-in staff is polite and friendly, especially with each other, and that’s always good to see. For an early Friday afternoon, it is remarkably quiet, and my Mom and I are the only ones checking in it seems. We are issued a room, and the three of us ride up to the 16th floor (myself, my Mom, and the mosquito) to be greeted by a single King bed. I’m pretty sure I didn’t reserve a King bed when planning this trip with my mother (we’re close, but not that close), so we return to the front desk to see if they have a room with two doubles. After making sure that I knew I had reserved a single King bed, the agent says she will try to find a room with two doubles which, miraculously (given the bustling, empty lobby), she immediately does.

Whether retaliatory or not, the room is adequate and pretty to look at, but comes with a few minor flaws. Given that we’d already gone down to the front desk once, I wasn’t going to make a big deal about it then. I will now. The air conditioning unit is one of the loudest I have heard. When it kicks on in the night, you are going to be awakened. The loud drilling from a room next door (betrayed by the noise, and the long industrial extension cord snaking through the hallway) goes on until we depart for the afternoon. A leak from the sink or shower slinks its way around the floor after running the water for a while (necessitating quick showers). A spoke from the sink faucet comes off in my hand (but is easily fixed by screwing it back into place). The room layout is tight as well, and a desk is placed so that it is impossible to reach the drawstring to the curtain without excessive reaching and bending over (bad for a bad back, good for causing one).

These are minor quibbles, it’s true, and none rose to the level that I felt we needed to complain. I note them here as they were part of our stay, and taken together, a lot of little things can add up to a less-than-stellar experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Alan I,

Thank you for your feedback and comments about your recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear that my team was able to accommodate you according to your needs, it is always very refreshing to hear that. Your reservation might have been made through a 3rd party which does not always guarantee the bed type but depends on the hotel's availability.
I do apologize that you had Maintenance issues which inconvenienced your stay. Kindly note that we have an Engineer available 24/7 who could have assisted you. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me next time your travels bring you to the city, so I can reserve the right room for you according to your needs. I look forward to welcoming you.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Dear Alan I,

Thank you for your feedback and comments about your recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear that my team was able to accommodate you according to your needs, it is always very refreshing to hear that. Your reservation might have been made through a 3rd party which does not always guarantee the bed type but depends on the hotel's availability.
I do apologize that you had Maintenance issues which inconvenienced your stay. Kindly note that we have an Engineer available 24/7 who could have assisted you. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me next time your travels bring you to the city, so I can reserve the right room for you according to your needs. I look forward to welcoming you.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the Bentley by indication of friends. Actually the only different thing it has is the nice view of Queensboro bridge. The rooms are small,the quality of the materias in the rooms is not good and I personally prefer other regions of NYC to stay. For the same price, there are many interesting options to stay.

Room Tip: Check other options before booking here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Good Morning Cquieroz,

Thank you for the recent posting on TripAdvisor, we do appreciate your feedback as it assists us in improving the level of service and product that we provide to our guests. I would like to apologize that the square footage in your guest room, did not meet your expectations.

Our traditional room types range from 250 sq. ft to 300 sq. ft. If one was to compare this to New York City hotels, this is actually on the larger side of hotel rooms in New York. Many hotels in New York have guest rooms that are closer to 150 sq. ft. so here at The Bentley, we pride ourselves on being able to provide guests a reasonable size space while staying with us.

As it relates to the quality of the guest room, our last full guest room renovation was in 2007. We maintain the guest rooms to the best of our ability from a maintenance and cleanliness stand point., on an ongoing basis.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it.

John Sinclair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Bentley Hotel. Although the location is somewhat far from many of the tourist areas, I found that it was very easy to find inexpensive ways to get to where I wanted to go. The room was incredible. The hotel staff was great, especially Roopesh, who made my stay exceptionally welcoming! My only recommendation is to avoid the expensive breakfast. The wait staff and the view are wonderful, but the price is just not worth it. Go to the diner up the street!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Kar000,

Thank you for your wonderful trip advisor feedback about your recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear that my team members went above and beyond to satisfy all your needs while enjoying you time here. We definitely appreciate your comments in regards to the breakfast. I have forwarded review to our executive team and who will have a look into that. I look forward to welcoming you next time your travels bring you to NYC, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here during a consult at Memorial Sloan-Kettering. We chose the Bentley because of it's close proximity to the hospital. It is just a short walk of a few blocks to the hospital. The rooms are small but very nice. The elevators took forever but that is my only complaint.

We appreciated the table and chairs as an extra seating area. Our room on the 20th floor was quiet and clean. The bedding was nice and beds were comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Susan T,

I am so happy to hear that you felt comfortable throughout your recent stay. I understand circumstances are not always enjoyable however I am so glad that we were able to make it easier for you along the way. Thank you for your valuable and honest feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back next time, please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you be needing assistance.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the Bentley Hotel on a long weekend trip to New York..Although the rates were very reasonable by New York standards, the hotel was just average, and needed some basic maintenance. Unless you are taking a cab everywhere the location is a little out of the way, for both walking, and the nearest subway. The front desk staff, bellmen, and management were all very accommodating and professional. We checked in and asked for an upgrade to a room with a view, as featured on the website. The front desk staff gave us a nice room, with a beautiful view on the 18th floor, facing the Queensborough Bridge, and East River. When we arrived at the room, the heat was stifling. Granted it was 95 degrees that day, but the antiquated cooling system was no match for all the heat coming off all the glass. The maintenance crew did their best to get the room cool, but after a second day of heat, we asked to be moved, and were re-accommodated by the front desk to a suite facing north..The new suite was much better, and much more comfortable. The Bentley Hotel would have the potential to be a great place to stay, but some basic building and cooling improvements need to be made first.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south and southwest, may be very hot, in the summer, due to intense midday sun exposure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear warner50,

Thank you for your valuable and honest feedback. I am very sorry that you faced some maintenance issues during your stay however it is great to hear that my team was able to assist you with the problems. I am very happy that you enjoyed the views of our property. Please contact me the next time you are travelling to the city so I can personally take care of your future bookings and requests. I look forward to welcoming you.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
#121 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#189 Family Hotel in New York City
#250 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side - Hotel features panoramic views of Manhattan skyline, East River and the renowned, 59th St Bridge Be sure to have dinner and/or a cocktail in Prime at The Bentley restaurant. The kosher, continental menu features many great dishes that will not disappoint! Open Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 10:30pm and Saturday, after sun-down, until 12:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Hotel Bentley New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bentley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.