We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bentley Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bentley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bentley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 449 hotels in New York City
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice, but not perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Very nice rooms, with comfortable beds and workspaces. Not too many shops or restaurants in the surrounding area, and quite far to the nearest subway. Beautiful view from the rooms, especially higher up. Considerable noise from the traffic outside and from surrounding rooms. Wifi ridiculously overpriced.

Room Tip: Higher is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Henrik S,

Thank you for your valuable and honest feedback. I am glad you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels bring you to the city.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    393
    424
    190
    82
    65
See reviews for
249
371
70
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I travel to NYC at least every 6 weeks, and always stay at the Bentley-which we consider to be our Manhattan home. The service has always been welcoming, warm and attentive...and the view is outstanding. We would recommend The Bentley to everyone and anyone visiting New York.

The Koss Family.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Brigitte A.,

Thank you for your great comments on trip advisor. I am so happy that you always have a great time staying with us. Thank you for making the Bentley Hotel your home away from home. We truly have a great team of employees and I am so proud that you feel the same way. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of assistance for any future inquiries. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Perfect location, friendly and helpful staff and lovely room with a wonderful view of the Queensboro Bridge. We recommend to use the hotels services when you are going to Woodbury Common if you are a group of four. I would definitely go back and stay at the Bentley Hotel when I am going back to New York.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Linda L,

Thank you so much for your great feedback. I am glad that you had a wonderful stay with us on while being in New York. I look forward to welcome you back next time your travels bring you back to the city.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

It's a very pleasent hotel. The Bentley is located on the Upper East Side, nice and safe neighborhood, but a little too far from the metro. The staff were always very helpful. We would like especially to thank Su, who made all the difference during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Jan S,

Thank you very much for your kind words about your recent stay with us. We certainly do appreciate your comments. I am glad you had a good time. We look forward to welcoming next time you are visiting the city, please reach out to me personally for future assistance.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rättvik, Dalarnas Län, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Bentley is a modern hotel, with à really nice restaurant at the 21 nd floor. We were three persons and got a Large room with two twinbeds.
Great view over the river!
Only thing a bit negative was that it is situated to far East on Manhattan.
Otherwise we recommend Bentley warmly!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Jan S,

Thank you very much for your kind words about your recent stay with us. We certainly do appreciate your comments. I am glad you had a good time. We look forward to welcoming next time you are visiting the city, please reach out to me personally for future assistance.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I visit NYC 8 times a year and stay exclusively at the Bentley. Courteous staff and management, clean rooms with some spectacular City and East River views make this a comfortable place to be. I love it's upper east side location which is convenient for getting around. I also appreciate that their rates are always competitive and often lower than comparable hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Tram and get up as high as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Barry W,

Thank you very much for your great trip advisor review about your experience at the Bentley. We feel elated to hear that you always feel special whilst staying with us. Thank you for your refreshing and encouraging feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels bring you to the city to pamper you again.

Best Regards,

Esmee K. and the Bentley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I'm currently sat in room 1805 writing my review of this hotel, I thought I would do it whilst its still fresh in my head.

The staff are excellent, friendly, full of advice and nothing is too much trouble for them. I suspect those who have had problems may be down to personalities. The room we have is small but it's what we expected, still plenty big enough for our needs as we only have luggage for 4 nights.

Regarding the location, it's well within easy reach of of lots of things to do from the hotel lobby we were on 5th Ave in 15 mins, Central Park the same, we only used the subway once as we found the walk more appealing. Last night we walked to Times Square and it took us under 30mins easy. I have read some strange things about the location in some reviews and I can't begin to imagine it would take 30 mins to walk to Central Park unless done backwards.

The only downside to the hotel for us was the restaurant, we were really looking forward to using it but on the two instances we visited, it was closed both times. Perhaps a notice in the Lobby detailing when it was closed for private functions would have been a good idea.

For breakfast we used the Ritz Diner which is about 3 mins walk up the street, good food at great prices and I would recommend it.

Had the hotel Restaurant been available and served good food, I would have probably scored this hotel five stars.

We will use this hotel again next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear QuakerChesterfield,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback about your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you had a great time and were happy with the service that was extended to you. I am glad you enjoyed the location and the facilities as well. Your words are very encouraging and refreshing and I will definitely share your great comments with all my staff members. Even more so I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit at the restaurant and I will definitely bring this to the attention of our executive team. Next time your travels bring you to NYC do reach out to me. We look forward to welcoming you in future, let me know if I can be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#204 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side - Hotel features panoramic views of Manhattan skyline, East River and the renowned, 59th St Bridge Be sure to have dinner and/or a cocktail in Prime at The Bentley restaurant. The kosher, continental menu features many great dishes that will not disappoint! Open Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 10:30pm and Saturday, after sun-down, until 12:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Hotel Bentley New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bentley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.